We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Days South

Lazy Days South
725 11th Street Ocean, Marathon, FL 33050-2044
305-289-0839
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 77 Restaurants in Marathon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner here. We brought some of our own fish in to have cooked and they did a great job. Large variety of options on the menu. Nice view of the water. Everyone working here was very friend and helpful. Had the yellowtail snapper and it was to die for.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    141
    76
    33
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cooked our catch to perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After a day of fishing, we brought our Yellow tail Snapper to Lazy Days South to be cooked at Lazy Days South. The fish was prepared two ways - blackened and sautéd with Panko breadcrumbs and a tomato/key lime butter sauce. The food was very good and dinner included soup or salad and potato or rice. The tropical bread was really amazing but the service was not great. Our server disappeared after our salads were served and did not return until we ordered dessert. We ate on the patio and watched a beautiful sunset. I wish they did not allow smoking in the dining area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Not Totally Family Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We've been to Lazy Days South numerous times. The food is always delicious, but this time the service was extremely slow. Our server was very friendly and the orders were correct, but the food came out fairly slow for as few tables as were occupied. It also took her a while to check in on us.
I got the scallops dinner, which was delicious, but the presentation leaves a lot to be desired. The scallops were all on a plate much too large, just scattered around with a few specks of dried parsley sprinkled around. The side dish of steamed broccoli could have easily fit on the same plate, which would have added to the presentation. However instead it was placed on a smaller bread plate.
Lastly, this restaurant is described as being family friendly. Sadly though, they do not have any changing stations/tables in the restrooms for families with babies. When I had to change my daughter's diaper, I took her to the restroom only to find this out the hard way. I then had to navigate back through the restaurant to get my car keys and back out again so I could change her diaper in our car.
As we walked through the interior portion of the restaurant during this diaper changing mission I also noticed that the floors in the dining room were filthy. They had small pieces of food and other particles all over. It seemed as if there had been a large group event inside and the room had yet to be cleaned thoroughly before dinner service.
The location is wonderful and the food delicious, but hopefully these other aspects will be improved upon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Bring Your Own Catch! The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hadn't been there in awhile, but, it was so good, we went twice in one week. The first time, we brought in our freshly caught grouper. When asked how we'd like it, we simply requested that the chef prepare his favorite. It was presented beautifully, prepared two ways, Islamorada and Lazy Days Style, both perfect, with the addition of several large scallops. The price is incredible, very reasonable, salad or soup, side, and bread included. A lot of food!
We then returned, with friends, with four lobster tails. Again, we requested the chef's choice, something other than the usual steaming or grilling. They were prepared with shrimp, scallops, mushrooms, cheeses, AMAZING! The delicate flavor of the lobster was not compromised.
We also ordered off the menu, the cracked conch, jalapeño poppers, french onion soup, Greek salad, and carrot cake. All were perfect.
It is best to have reservations, especially if a special occasion. We did not, but we were seating quite promptly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Big portions, average food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Plastic tables and chairs, smoking tables at one end with fans blowing the smoke through. Dirty looking place. Food 'ok' but we left half our food then left. Waste of a great location.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Days South also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Lazy Days South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Days South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.