We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
12020 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Marathon B&B and Inns
Missouri
1 review
“Friendly and Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Very comfortable, it was great being able to see our boat the whole time in the room, great location on the water. The friendly environment definitely made up for the weather not totally cooperating. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    40
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
57
75
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

If you're looking for a classic Keys motel for your vacation stay, don't pass by the Royal Hawaiian in Marathon. We've been vacationing there for many years. The location can't be beat, especially if you're into fishing or diving. The boat ramp on the premises and dockage just outside your room in a protected canal make it easy to jump and go. Vaca Cut just around the corner provides access to the Atlantic for offshore fishing, and of course Florida Bay is a playground for shallow water fishing and lobstering. You can clean and cook your catch on the newly re-surfaced patio, or visit one of the many restaurants and bars within a few miles of the motel. Every time we stay there we notice upgrades - new appliances, flat screen tv's, beautiful landscaping. The beds are comfortable, rooms are spotless, the pool is immaculate, and the hospitality is second to none. We give the Royal Hawaiian a five star rating all the way around!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

This was our 2nd time to stay at the Royal Hawaiian and it was wonderful! Our boat was docked just outside of our room. We were just a short distance away from an ocean of beauty, fish and lobster! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I have stayed at the Royal Hawaiian in Marathon ~10 times in the past 2 years. This visit was with my 13 y/o daughter and 4 of her friends. The wife & I stayed in an adjoining room while the girls had a room to themselves. I love the hotel because of the quietness, price, and boating features (dockage directly behind the room, no cost ramp & no cost trailer storage, and a nice fish cleaning table right on the water). We all enjoy the clean rooms and beautifully kept and landscaped pool, available BBQ’s and friendly service. The owners go out of their way to accommodate me & my family when we stay there. The downside is that there are only 8 rooms. I prefer one of the larger suites that have a dining area, large fridge, oven, & double sink. You can spend more, but I can’t think of a nicer place to be in the middle keys.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I've stayed at many places in the Keys, but this was the Best Place to stay for Hospitality, Location, Price,Cleanliness and Great Fun. Nick was Great about Fishing Reports, Places to Eat & Drink ( Loved Spanky's on the Water). He knew places to go for Giant Key West Shrimp for $3.00 a dozen, Dollar Beers. Jeannie was Great too, she Cleared out a place in their Large Freezer to put our Lobster in. I WILL go back!
Mike Denny & Son Mike Denny

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed there the 19th, 20th, 21st of Aug. Jeanne and Nick are wonderfull people. It was more like staying with friends than renting a room. Being as we were fishing the Botel aspect was the best,. The dock is right out the back door. Not 10 step's from the room. Parking was right outside the door of the room also. The location is perfect as it's right off Vaca Cut in Marathon. Your 5 min. from the Atlantic and 2 min. from the Gulf. We had a kitchenet. Everything we needed to cook meals was there. Nick sent us to an excelent snapper spot 30 min from the dock. We limited on muttons in just over 2 hour's. We fished from dawn to dusk so the lighted cleaning table was a huge plus for us. As was the pool at the end of the day. The whole compound was immaculate. I don't think I could find a fault with these folks or this place if I tried. Lucy the Pomeranian is a little doll as well. I would recommend this place to everyone. Especially if you have or are renting a boat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We went to the keys looking for a place to stay. When we got to the Royal Hawaiian, Nick walked us through the property. The pool was so spotless. The boat sleve was perfect.

Two weeks later we booked. When we arrived Jeanne greated us. She had assured us our room was ready the a/c was on, the room was very bright, with the sliding doors leading to the dock. After we settled in she took us to the boat ramp to unload the boat. Told us if we needed anything else not to hesitate, to let Nick or her know.

We felt as if we known them for a lifetime. Resureing us if we needed anything or wanted to know our surrounding where to go. We caught the best snapper yet. We will be back again.

Thank you, Jeanne Nick and of course little Lucy! (the botel mascot)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Address: 12020 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are updated annually. We are an Old Keys Hotel with True Keys ambiance. Our only link to modern technology is Wireless Internet. We are small, quiet, peaceful, and truly have the cleanest rooms in the area. Our customers are largely repeat guests who own boats instead of computers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel to your Saves list