We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff. Quiet laid back atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Cottages to your Saves list
Tropical Cottages
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   243-61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Marathon
McAlester, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff. Quiet laid back atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Extremely friendly staff. Loved the quiet laid back atmosphere. Nice change of pace when you've been in the chaos of Key West. Great outdoor tiki bar. Room had everything we needed especially since we spent most of our time sight seeing and really only used the room for resting. Would definitely come back

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    66
    30
    23
    36
See reviews for
31
125
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in Cottage #5. I was drawn to this place because of the location and adorable cottages. Sherry was wonderful during check-in and happy hour under the tiki hut. Our cottage had a fridge, coffee maker, and dishes, which was great for leftovers. The decor is nice and the colors of the cottage inside and out were very cute and very keys-style. Unfortunately, the mattress was cheap and horribly uncomfortable, and the A/C unit made all sorts of noises throughout the night. There were dogs in the neighbor's yard right next to the property, and they barked throughout the day (including before 9AM). In addition, we had no hot water and were stuck with cold showers the following morning. When I addressed the problem, Sherry mentioned an issue with the hot water heater but said it had recently been repaired. We also killed a few wasps that somehow managed to get into the cottage, and there were ants in the kitchenette when we left anything out. The price is right if you want an affordable vacation in a central part of the keys, but I won't be returning because of the lack of basics - a relatively quiet, pest-free room, and a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us ladies.

The hot water was an issue, although repaired, it did take 30-45 minutes to reheat the water, unfortunately you were in and out of the shower before that could happen.

Beds are certainly subject to personal preference, some consider them confortable, and some do not. Although I haven't had any other complaints on the bed and air conditioner, I understand that for you, they were a problem.

The amount of insects found in The Florida Keys is astounding, we are diligent in spraying around the property to keep the populations down, but sometimes, and without our permission they enter a cottage. Unfortunately everywhere in The Florida Keys.....there are ants.....and when food is left out....they will come! They certainly are opportunists!

If you have the chance to visit The Keys again....I hope you find a place that is more suitable for you, and if you are in the area, we welcome you for Happy Hour at the Tiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We kept extending our stay and even after we had to leave, due to availability, we came back for the great live music from Jesse Jet. Isn't great to have live music hear most of the nights?! You listen while lounging under the Tiki roof or laying in a hammock? No breakfast, but fresh coffee at the bar. All cottages are different, all charming in its own way. Wi-Fi is not available in all cottages, but you can get access at the bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed in Cottage #5, very clean and quaint. The tiki bar is great, as was Joe Mama's entertainment. Sherry was the perfect hostess and completed a fantastic stay for us. We will be returning, hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

What a great time we had!
My parents owned and operated Tropical Cottages in the late 70s to late 80s.
I finally got back to the keys after 20 years and couldn't wait to see what became of my 'home' where I grew up. I was pleasantly surprised! Ashley was awesome! When we explained who we were she showed us all the open cottages and the 'main house'...wow I was blown away as was my mother how they had kept most of the original look and feel! Cottage 1 was my grandmothers house...and it's still there! The main house was our house..fireplace sunken living room tile all original....most surprising..the sunken bathtub was still there!! We had some great memories and will have more! Thanks so much for your hospitality Ashley...you really made our stay great! Hopefully I'll be back sooner than later!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
How exciting coming back to the place where you spent your childhood....and in The Florida Keys no less! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your return! And we definately agree.......Ashley is Awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed in Cottage #8 for our 25th anniversary. The room was clean and spacious,the kitchenette was fabulous. Absolutely loved the outdoor shower . Nothing like a shower under the stars. All the staff were friendly and helpful especially Sherry . Enjoyed the music at the Tiki Bar and cocktails. We took a 1/2 day fishing trip on Marathon Lady and cooked the fresh catch on the BBQ grill in the outdoor sitting area. We would certainly recommend Tropical Cottages to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed in cottage #10 although I had reserved #9. Was only staying for one night, but was surprised they bumped me to a different room then I had asked for. They said the 2 rooms were both queens. They look totally different, but like I was saying earlier since only staying one night didn't make a big deal out of it. Room was clean and bathroom was spacious with a large shower with a shower head on each side. Bed was fairly comfortable. Kitchenette area with sink, minifridge and microwave. Lady at the front desk when I checked in was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Cottages

Address: 243-61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Cottages Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.