We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic Get Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Cottages

Save Saved
You added Tropical Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Cottages
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   243-61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Marathon
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Get Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I had questioned this place at first but when we got there, we were pleasantly surprised. Cherry greeted and had us checked in immediately. The room was very clean, A/C was cold, and the bathroom was just remodeled. The cottage (#7) was a bit small but that was expected and it was enough room for two adults. The bed was comfortable and everything worked. Outside, Cherry had a nicely stocked (large) Tikki bar with hammocks and outdoor sitting areas. She lights up candles for the mosquitoes to make sure you are comfortable outside. I would definitely stay there again and I plan to. Marathon is in the heart of all the Keys and allows you to travel all over the place. We snorkeled in Key Largo, Para-sailed in Islamorada, and dined in Marathon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    65
    27
    21
    33
See reviews for
27
121
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vienna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a great place for a peaceful vacation in a beautiful surrounding. There is a nice garden, a Tiki Bar, Gas Grill and several hammocks (single, double).

Our cottage (Nr.3) was a “premium” one, i.e. with fully equipped kitchen, A/C, bad/toilet, flat TV, spacey, clean and in nice maritime colors. Btw, the mattress is great (as usual in USA..). However, we spent all the time outside in the garden, enjoying the great weather at the Keys. One thing must be clear: this is NOT a 5* Luxus Beach resort with a 24h room service, but it’s a perfect “city-people-gateway”! Much, much better than a standard (and overpriced !!) hotel room at the Keys. Btw, we spent the week before in Miami Beach at the Grand Beach Hotel. Both places are just perfect, but not comparable by any means.

The staff is great, we felt from the first moment as being among friends, not like “tourists” !! Every morning there is a pot of coffee at the Tiki waiting for you, everybody is really helpful and friendly.

CU you soon, guys !

Tips:

- Beach 1: Sombrero Beach, 5 Minutes away, free of charge, clean, beautiful.
- Beach 2: Bahia Honda State Park, 15 Minutes away. Take the beach on the left hand side from the entrance – not as warm and shallow as on the right hand side.
- Key West: a must! The City is great, we felt like in New Orleans. Try the conch’s and a Key Lime Pie ! :-)
- Scuba Diving: Key Largo, Captain Slate. Take the “Creature Feature” tour - great!

Room Tip: Book a "premium room", as there is full indoor bath and kitchen included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I just spent seven amazing days in Marathon, Florida for our honeymoon. We stayed at Tropical Cottages (Cottage #8) for the entire week, and we know we wouldn’t have had such a wonderful experience if we stayed anywhere else. These Caribbean style cottages provided the perfect getaway from the traditional, busy lifestyle we are used to at home. They are located in the middle of the Keys, right off the main highway, making travel easy; however, you get a feeling of seclusion at Tropical Cottages. While at the cottages, you can lounge in a hammock, fish from the boat dock, or have a few refreshments at the Tiki Bar. The staff at Tropical Cottages are some of the nicest, most knowledgeable we’ve ever met. They made us feel more like part of a family than customers at their cottages. Rich is full of knowledge about all sorts of wildlife, fossils, and fishing, and he was willing to share his knowledge and advice with us from the very first moment we stepped foot on the Tropical Cottages property. Sherry is very friendly, caring, and is willing to help everyone in any way possible. She’s also a great bartender when she’s scheduled to work at the Tiki Hut. Julio and Maria worked very hard to keep our cottage clean and beautiful, and everyone gave us great advice about the best local places to eat, swim, snorkel, and visit. They always steered us in the right direction, ensuring that we would have a great time on our honeymoon. A BIG THANK YOU to everyone at Tropical Cottages and we can’t wait to stay here again next time!

Room Tip: The rooms with outdoor showers are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed at Tropical Cottages on July 3-6, 2012 and had a very enjoyable visit. The manager and staff were very friendly and the environment was very dog friendly (we have two small dogs). The location was excellent for day trips too.
We will be returning later this year for a another fun week.
Thanks, The Dvoraks

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks , Dvoraks for the great review. We enjoyed “pet week”. There seemed to be more pets than people in residence that week, and all gathered and socialized under the tiki! It was a great time had by all. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in Cottage 3 and it was everything we needed an more. It had a stove, a full size fridge and freezer, a microwave and a toaster over. It also had a shower and nice big bed, a tv and a couch. Yes it was a little dated but who cares, it was pretty clean and the AC blew nice clean cold air.

It was a cute little place and really served all our needs. It was a shame that the weather was not nicer, because we could not use any of the other ammenities like the nice chairs in front of the cottage or the little Tiki Bar or the the hanging chairs.

If you are looking for the Ritz this is not the place for you, however if you are looking for a place to rest your head and make a meal this will do you just fine.

The place is easy to find. The people that wrote the bad reviews were probably the same people that like to stay in the Holiday Inn or looking for a bed in breakfast. For us we were just fishing in the Keys looking for a little Ma and Pa place to lay our heads and cook a meal.

We will stay here again!

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in make sure you get a room that is not facing the east, the little windows at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The room we stayed in was marginally clean. The sheets, bedspread and window coverings were so old they were faded and worn. Everything about the place was old. The bed frame was broken, fan not working. Bathroom was a back-in walk-out situation. No water pressure for the shower. The owner of this property was clearly cutting corners to the point of making it a bad experience. We still talk about the place as being one of the worst places we have ever stayed. Save your dollar and go to a better place.

Room Tip: Go someplace else and save your dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us! We advertise ourselves as, and are, a quaint, comfortable, and reasonably priced 1950’s resort. We are constantly working on improving and updating our property and we take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

There were scorpions in the room. We walked in after a long day at the beach in Key West hoping to get some rest. As soon as I opened the door of my shed, I find a HUGE scorpion right next to the bed. I killed it and just thought it was a one time thing. I was wrong! After taking a shower,I go to lay down and I look up at the ceiling and see another scorpion. At this point I'm freaking out and wanting to leave. As I'm trying to get in contact with the after hours emergency number (which is a joke), I see a roach crawling under the bed. It was a nightmare. We had to drive more than an hour to find another hotel and we were exhausted. I called several times, left messages, and even emailed. No response! I text the lady the next morning and she says "we don't have roaches in our rooms, I will be calling you later." she certainly did not deny the scorpions (which will hurt you!). Well, she never called and never emailed me. I had to go through booking.com to get the issue resolved. It's been more than a week now and I'm STILL waiting for my refund. This place is dangerous and I'm very glad I didn't have a child, I would have REALLY been upset.

Room Tip: Just stay away from this place if you don't like sleeping with scorpions and roaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us! We advertise ourselves as, and are, a quaint, comfortable, and reasonably priced 1950’s resort. We are constantly working on improving and updating our property and we take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms.
The amount of insect species living in the Florida Keys is astounding……on occasion, and without our permission, one or two enters a cottage. I assure you we are diligent about spraying for and trying to control the population in and around our property.
And although I do agree…..scorpions are yukky!!!....they are not dangerous, like their counterparts that reside in the desert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Cottages

Address: 243-61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Cottages 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Tropical Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Cottages Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.