We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PRICE AND CLEAN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Save
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT PRICE AND CLEAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed for 7 days last year and going back again this year for another 7 days.
You can't beat the price. A friend of mine in Florida told me about this place and I'm glad she did. Pool is clean, Mangrove Mikes next door to eat and Lorelai down the back pathway.
Stay 7 and one night free also. Front desk great people. Saws lots of igaunas for the first time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for the Great review. The iguanas are still around. We work hard to keep the rooms clean. We are glad you were satisfied. Look foward to seeing you again Thanks for the revew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    25
    13
    12
See reviews for
18
31
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel is inexpensive with very outdated furnishings. It is, however very clean. I wiped down the kitchen & bathroom counters with Clorox (I carry just in case) the rag was very clean, no stains, no dirt. We had a kitchenette with nice cabinet and clean utensils . The refrigerator was spotless. Bed was comfortable and sheets were very clean. Towels were skimpy/too light not good bath towels. We took own shampoo & dryer. They supplied plenty bath soup.
We stayed in room 115 and 123 and both were clean. Staff was nice and eager to help.
Pool was clean but the outer areas of hotel could use cleaning, Raking, sweeping of cigarette butts etc. Quiet 3 nights. Not the Hilton but If on a budget this is the place to come. We will be back. Don't like the pink & blue paint. Rooms need uplifting paint job.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool were quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the review. Clean is what we strive for. I am glad you found both of your rooms to your satisfaction. We are contantly updating and upgrading as time and money permits. in the last year we did new tile floors, updated the kitchenette and bought new curtains. We have plans for doing some more things this fall, money and weather permitting. Please come see up again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my week-plus stay. Friendly management, clean rooms, excellent pool and very importantly, probably the best stay for the money in the Keys. Those seeking all the amenities of a five-star luxury hotel should look elsewhere but for me, this was a perfect base to roam the keys from Largo to West, scuba dive on Largo and do it on an amazing budget as well. Even though the hotel was fully booked during the time I was there it seemed that I almost had the swimming pool to myself on a couple days I decided to be lazy and not travel around the keys. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I liked my room on the Overseas Highway side ground floor because near the vehicle and had a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for the Great review. You are right, we are not 5 star but we do try to be clean and affordable. Come see us again soon and take advantage of our week pricing again of stay 7 night and pay for 6-- get one night free. Thanks again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kure Beach NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Ok, so when we first walked in we had a moment of uh-oh. It is an older hotel. But after 4 nights I can honestly say this place is a gem for the money. Nothing fancy but it is clean, the staff is super helpful and pleasant, beds were amazingly comfortable, air conditioner could freeze you out if you like, the pool is in the back and off the road and there is a great little restaurant next door that serves great breakfasts. Another feature that worked well was Wi-Fi. No issues with that at all. The TV was a bit sketchy (kept turning itself on at 5am) but we were there to dive and sleep so we just unplugged it and I am sure if we asked it would have been handled. The floors are ceramic tile which is great for wet or damp diving equipment. There were 8 of us in three different rooms (two regular and one kitchenette) and everyone was pleasantly surprised. And for the money.....you can't beat it. We will stay here whenever we dive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for the great reveiw. Yes we would have fixed the TV if we had known, sometimes they deside to die and need replacing. please let us know in the future of problems and we will resolve them. We are an older place but are contantly updating and replacing as time and money permits. We are great for Divers and Fishermen as well as people who just want to run around the Keys. We are not a Resort but we are clean and neet. Please come see us again on your next dive trip. Thanks for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What some people fail to realize is that rain in south Florida is mainly composed of salt from our ocean and highly corrosive...and it doesn't normally rain straight down, it rains sideways. This can age a building and things like patio furniture quickly. My husband and I stayed at Sunset for three days earlier this week. We were greeted by Dennis at the front desk, who was more than happy to give us info on the area, good places to eat and things to do. Yes, it is an older building, the room furniture is somewhat dated and eclectic, but why are you on vacation and sitting in your room? The important things are covered - I have stayed at many 'high-end' hotels, and I have to say, some have not been as clean as the Sunset. The mattresses are glorious and the sheets sparkling white without the roughness and bleachy smell you get at most hotels. We stayed in the $85 double kitchenette and it was extremely roomy. The picture window (about 6'X12') looked out on the pool. Although we were too busy to use it, it looked very well maintained. Mangrove Mikes next store is a HUGE perk. I think earlier reviewers have been too hard on this place. It's squeaky clean and the price is right. I would definitely book again at the Sunset next time we wander south.

Room Tip: We stayed in RM 122, the last corner room. Not much street noise as it opens onto the pool. Big an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for the great reveiw. You got the salt in the air right. Things do not last as long here do to the high salt. We are contently upgrading and updating as money and time allows. We are not the Hilton but are not charging those prices either. We work very hard at clean neat rooms.

Thank you again for the nice reveiw. Come see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been staying at Sunset Inn and Blue Fin in Islamorada for over 10 years. It is the best deal in the Florida Keys. The facilities are older but clean and the staff is very friendly. Sunset has a pool and Blue Fin has wifi hook up.

Walking distance is Lorelei which has live music, food and drinks and the best sunset viewing around. There is also Mike's which serves the best breakfast in the Keys.

Next door is the Lobster Trap, a one of a kind souvenir shop--not your run of the mill.

Islamorada is a nice central location to stay at while you see all of the Keys and enjoy your favorite--swimming, fishing, diving, visiting museums, shopping and more. Lot of history to soak up, too.

Room Tip: Big rooms with two double beds and a small refrigerator to keep your drinks cool. Also, lots of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We are contantly trying to upgrade. This year was tile, kitchnettes and curtains. As time and money is available we will do more.
The Lorelei is one of my favorate places. Before moving to the Keys we Vacationed at the Lorelei.
Come see us again soon and thanks for the great revew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Inexpensive, perfectly located, great mattress!

If you want anything more move on.

It was clean, and old, and had a wet bar, not a kitchenette. There are outlets on the wet bar so a crock pot or electric griddle would cut down on going out expenses.

BEST PART? WALKING/STUMBLING distance to Lorelei's on the back road behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Bring Shampoo fore the room, and a towel for the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We have a few kitchenettes also that have a stove, refrig, microwave and pot, pans and dishes. They are not gourmet kitchenettes but very sufficient to save some money on meals. The Lorelei is the BEST and walking distance. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.