We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bartender should be on the front desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bartender should be on the front desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We spent a week at the resort in late Feb. Had been planning this trip several months and were really looking forward to it. We booked an oceanfront room in the main lodge and as other reviewers have described, it was beautiful. Had this fantastic bowl shaped tub (as seen in the resort's advertising) on the balcony and we were so looking forward to spending time there. Unfortunately, we discovered our first evening as we anticipated a glass of wine and some moonlight, the hot water didn't work. We made the front desk aware on our second day and they said they'd have engineering look into it- same response we got on day 3, day 4 ( different lady working the front desk responded to my complaint with "Oh yeah, I think the people in that room last week said the same thing" ) and finally on day 5 by taking the time to wait at the concierge's desk on someone from engineering to meet me and by staying in the room the 1/2 hour it took to fix, we finally had hot water and could enjoy the tub. No apologies or offers from the management. Just a little thing, but for the price we paid to have the amenities of that room it would have been nice to do more than just look at!!
But, on to the rest of the folks working there. There is clearly a tremendous amount of pride on the part of folks working in other areas of the hotel. I agree with the reviewer who said a lot of new employees and they are still finding their way (only one bad lunch experience with slow service- but no hurry-no worry!) Having said that, I would add that Matty, one of the bartenders, got more done for us in response to observations/comments we had that anyone at the front desk. One shining example, my husband had a dental emergency while we were there and when he asked the concierge for assistance, she printed off a list of dentists in the area and handed him the sheet. We went to lunch and Matty was working the bar- he not only reviewed the list with us, but got on the phone, arranged the appointment, got the transportation covered and did it in less than 10 minutes! What a guy- we hadn't even asked for his help, he just overheard us discussing the issue. The service people went out of their way to be of assistance, from the bartenders, the maitre'd, housekeeping etc., so I'm sure with time and experience (hopefully the front desk will improve) and the resort as a whole will be exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    454
    238
    117
    69
See reviews for
496
865
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

My fiance proposed to me at this resort and it was most AMAZING weekend we could have ever had. We got to enjoy the days by bike riding, kayaking, having delicious food, our own private cabana and some SPA time. The restaurant is a bit pricy but not outrageous and the food was fabulous!! We visit the Florida Keys about 8 times a year and this is by far the most beautiful resort we have been to.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Let me first say that I was recommended to come to Cheeca Lodge by a friend who had been coming here for the last 13 years. Knowing that personality and how critical she could be about hotels, I didn't hesitate to book. But, I also looked on trip advisor to get other people's takes on the hotel. And, it is true. If you had a fabulous time, you are less likely to write it about. If you had a bad experience,you want the world to know. Think about it this way. If 100 people stayed at this hotel, and 5 had a bad experience, you are going to hear from those 5. The other 95% may or may not write, but that's 95%!
Anyway, have to say that this was one of the most beautiful hotels and stays I've had in my life. Everything was perfect. From the Champagne upon check in, to the views, to the hospitality...not a complaint about one thing. I HIGHLY recommend the oceanview room with the balcony bathtub. No details...experience it for yourself. Food is fabulous. Buffet breakfast is delicious. And staff from the concierge to the maid service was impecable. Also, you don't get those petty charges for simple things that other hotels charge, like internet service, recreation, bottles of water.

No, I don't work for the hotel. I think I might when I retire. This place gets a HUGE thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Tried to book a wedding with rooms at this facility. A lady named Matilia is the wedding catering manger. She DOES NOT return phone calls. We have been trying to get in contact with her for 2 weeks to return our calls so we can find out prices and information. I spoke to her once, she promised that she would email me info., Never received it. After a few phone calls to her, we have given up on cheeca. It is a shame because it looks so nice but unfortunate that they have such a bad catering manger. Very unprofessional. Glad we didn't give them a deposit. They lost good business because 6 of our wedding guests are engaged and were also considering having their wedding there.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed here two nights on a recent swing through the Florida Keys and were somewhat apprehensive given some of the reviews we had read on this site. We went anyway because we had great memories from previous visits years before. The property has been almost completely rebuilt following a fire a couple of years ago. The main lodge is beautiful, with updated furnishings. Beware of the rooms in the "golf course" area, however - they are the least expensive choices but reminded us of a Day's Inn. They have been refurnished but not remodeled. We opted to stay in the main lodge and were happy with our room. The service throughout was lacking - it seemed that the staff had the right attitude but simply lacked training. Given the other choices in the area, we would stay here again with the hope that the service level improves.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

I had the feeling that the staff was brand new, from the moment I made the phone reservation. And in fact much of the staff IS new, since the place burned down and has been completely rebuilt. Most of them seem to know what they're doing, but the exceptions are almost laughable -- the inexperienced spa desk clerks, the mish-mash of a fitness schedule, the uninformed young phone reservations clerk, the phenomenally slow waitress we had at breakfast one day when we were trying to get out for a sail. I say overlook this stuff. The facility is gorgeous and you can't beat the site. The staff will surely break in with good management. The prices are silly, however, and they should come down a notch until the service has risen to commensurate level. The champagne at arrival helps, but it can't mask the fact that this is a very raw operation, just getting going again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robesonia, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I'm seeing mixed reviews and we didn't see some of the trouble spots that some reviewers have mentioned. We were greeted with champagne for check in. Sat down at a desk, verified all of the reservation info., slid our credit card and the gentleman that took our car at valet already had our bags out of it and was waiting for our room number to take our things up. We stayed in one of the newly renovated main lodge rooms over looking the ocean. Gorgeous. The rooms were big, comfortably furnished, large plasma TV, sectional, wet bar, king bed, table & chairs, huge bathroom with a huge shower looking straight out over the hot tub and into the ocean. We were there for 8 days and had excellent service from the valets, beach & pool side servers, room service, spa (excellent therapist), house keeping, (turn down service!) and the concierge was helpful and knowledgeable. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast daily and one evening for dinner. The food was very good, my only complaint would be that our waiter for dinner and two of the different breakfast servers were very slow. I don't know if they were short staffed or what, but luckily we weren't in any kind of hurry that it was a real bother. The grounds are lush, colorful, gorgeous and impeccably kept. The pools were clean and heated. Lounge chairs are plentiful all around the resort. The tiki bar is cool and fun. I read another reviewers comment about a glass of $16. wine, but we were drinking Pina Coladas and Margaritas and ours were $8.00 each. Over all, I'd have to say it was one of our favorite resorts that we've stayed at. We are already looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.