We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Couples Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To 25% Off Suites
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Couples Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

If you are looking for an intimate resort to celebrate a birthday, relax with friends or both, Cheeca is the place! Emanuel (Big E), Jesse and Chris provide amazing service at the adult pool and make you feel like royalty. Treat yourself and order a pina colada or two while you are at the pool. Odell, the jovial waiter from Jamaica, will put a smile on your face every morning. You MUST have the lobster grilled cheese - the chef will even make one for breakfast if you ask. Trust Earl's advice when you meet him at the front gate. Excellent service, delicious food and beautiful amenities, Cheeca has it all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Your review was delightful to read, and really inspired all of us. Thank you! It’s so nice to hear our incredible staff put a smile on your face – that’s what it is all about! We appreciate your compliments about Emanuel, Jesse, Chris and Earl. We hope you come back again soon, so we can treat you like royalty once again. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    426
    226
    109
    68
See reviews for
481
810
20
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed one night at the Cheeca Lodge (7/17/14) on our way from Key West to Ft. Lauderdale and had a wonderful time. The staff was excellent and knowledgeable and our room was terrific, especially the screened in balcony overlooking the lagoon. Gorgeous! We had a great time kayaking and the adult pool was a nice, romantic touch as well. Had some great drinks at the outdoor bar (thanks so much Bruce!) and a very enjoyable dinner outside (Sky, thanks for taking good care of us) as well. We loved the flame lit tiki torches in between buildings on our short walk to dinner. The only negative was that we could not stay longer due to our schedule!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room with a great view of the man-made lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our resort! It’s nice to hear that you had such a great time during your all-too-short stay. We wish you could have extended your visit, and we hope you plan another trip soon. We are grateful for your compliments about our staff and our accommodations, and thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed at the Cheeca Lodge this past weekend ( August 3 ) for one night and very much enjoyed my stay. From making my reservation all the way to checking out, I felt very relaxed and excited to be at the Cheeca Lodge. The hotel itself is very beautiful, clean, and calming. My friend and I befriended the paddle board rental shack, and enjoyed 2 hours on the paddle boards which was a blast.
I would 100% Recommend this hotel to anybody and I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We thank you for your 100% recommendation, and we can’t wait to have you back! It is so rewarding to read such a positive review of our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for taking the time to write. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great family resort. Service was excellent. Food on site was surprisingly good. Kids menus at all 3 including the sushi which was nice. A lot of activities included that kept everyone entertained. We had golf course one bedroom suite which was nice but no kitchen. Resort view suite would have a kitchen so will do that next time.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We greatly appreciate your excellent review of our property – thank you! It’s great to hear you and your family enjoyed our restaurants, and that are expansive choice of activities kept everyone entertained. That’s fantastic! Please plan a return visit in the future, and thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Spent 6 nights with my family at Cheeka and overall we had a wonderful time. This resort has a very pretty setting directly on the beach with a good access to swimming in the ocean. There are plenty of activities such as kayaks, fishing, tennis, golf and bike riding. Unfortunately we did have a problem with housekeeping. One day our room was not cleaned until 6:30 pm and the following day they failed to give us towels. Denise the manager was extremely nice and gave us a very generous room credit. Keep in mind the restaurants are very pretty and convenient but extremely expensive especially breakfast at $29.00 for the buffet. Another major problem was that there were not enough towels by the pool. With a resort fee of $39.00 there should be plenty of towels. If I was returning to Islamorada I would definitely stay at this resort again overall it is a lovely hotel with a friendly and polite staff.

Room Tip: Request Main building in order to be close to restaurants and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful write-up and it is nice to hear you would definitely stay here again. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our stunning oceanfront setting and all the exhilarating activities we have to offer. We also appreciate your compliments about our friendly and polite staff. We apologize for the housekeeping and towel issues – please know that we are aware of these problems and are making great strides to fix them. Thank you for writing, and we hope you plan another family vacation here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had high hope for the Lodge since we had stayed here many years ago and remembered the exceptional service. The resort is beautiful but due to service issues it wasn't relaxing. We found that we left the resort the majority of the time. I was looking forward to getting lost in a good book by the pool - either pool - but every seat, including chairs were taken. They were taken all day so I put my items on the floor and took a quick swim. No one cleans up around the pool area. The best time to go is at night. It was beautiful to see the stars and just a few people.
We stayed in a golf course room. It was nice and I liked the location. We too had issues with housecleaning. We would come back from a day trip to clean up and go out to dinner and our room was not made up. It would be 5pm or later. We couldn't watch a movie on the one stormy night because our DVD player was not hooked up. They did fix it the next day. Our shower had only hot water, that too was fixed with a professional plumber in our room from 8 pm to 11:30 pm. I felt like I had more service issues. on vacation than I do at home. To the resorts credit Avraham took good care of us after we had reached our breaking point. Our schedules do not allow for many trips and this one was a disappointment. FYI it is not a swimmable beach, very shallow and full of seaweed. Great for fishing off the pier. You can drive to the Bahia Honda State Park in Marathon and Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park in Key West to swim in deeper water. There are several great restaurants in the area. Don't miss O0-tray, Chef Michael M.E.A.T., Mr. G's ice cream and Bitton Bistro Café. You can't beat the sunset in the keys! I understand there is new management that has just taken over so maybe things will improve.

Room Tip: Golf Course Rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We were very disheartened by your comments, especially coming from a valued return guest like you. Although it was nice to hear that you found Cheeca to be beautiful, we are so very sorry for the service issues you experienced. We feel badly that you could not find a seat around the pool; this is most unfortunate and reflects a situation we are working to fix immediately. We agree, Cheeca is a beautiful property to explore at night, when the scent of jasmine wafts through the air and the tiki torches light up the sky. We are also happy that your accommodations met your expectations. We are working diligently to address our housekeeping issues, and we are glad Avrahm was able to accommodate you. We also apologize that our beach did not meet your expectations – Cheeca’s beach is just like other beaches here in the Keys, which are located in very shallow waters. Just as a note, there is a swim ladder at the end of our 525-ft. fishing pier that you can use to access much deeper water for swimming. We are so sorry you were disappointed with your stay, but we are under new leadership and are confident that the issues you address will meet your expectations upon your return. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wonderful physically appointed. Maintenance of facilities poor.On to different stays refrigerators had to be replaced not working.Getting room made up a task.Getting house keeping impossible dont answer phone.Find general staff not pleasant.This jewel is fading fast.Money not being spent on maintenance and service staff is understaffed and over worked.Have had difficulty long delays in checking in and getting service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We agree with you – the best could be better, and you have our word that we are striving for perfection under new leadership now. We sincerely apologize for the maintenance and housekeeping issues you experienced, and for any delays you encountered. Please know that we are confident that you will find everything up to your standards upon your return. We will soon be the shining jewel you expect! Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Amex, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.