We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, terrible service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To 25% Off Suites
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The resort is impressive as you arrive. Check in is quick and a glass of champagne is provided. That is where it ended. The service at the restaurant was extremely slow for both lunch and dinner, however food was good. Our room was not made up until 7pm at night on one of our two day stay. The reason given is that there were too many check outs & check ins during the day. The shower head is so low that my 6 ft husband could not stand under it. Beachfront bungalows are nicely decorated. Experience at spa was good. Beach had a smell and was not cleaned of seaweed. Overall, would not go back to this resort. We felt it did not live up to its rating and rates.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We were very disappointed with your review, especially since you found our resort impressive, the food good, and the bungalows nicely decorated. We are so sorry that you found the service in our restaurants to be slow and we are addressing this issue as we write this. We also apologize for the housekeeping issues. Please know that we are undergoing staffing and departmental improvements in housekeeping that will alleviate such shortcomings. We certainly hope you will consider another visit here, as we are confident you will find everything up to your expectations upon your return. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    421
    223
    107
    68
See reviews for
477
800
19
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Every thing was great, it is a bit pricey but we enjoyed our stay. Rooms were very clean, walk ways and elevators could use a little more attention. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Islamorada.

Room Tip: We like the suites close to the highway, no noise, less congestion, undercover parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for this glowing review of Cheeca! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back with open arms. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I read good and bad reviews before visiting the Cheeca, but went ahead and booked a 3-night stay before heading to Key West. Overall our experience was lovely and I am glad we did it. Being greeting with good champagne definitely sets a great tone. And the resort grounds are phenomenal: wonderful trails wind through lush foliage, a beautiful little golf course and of course a beautiful beach. The best time to walk it all is at night, when the lights render it an exquisite setting. Other than the outstanding beauty of the resort, the best thing was the on-site activities. The boys enjoyed golfing while we did paddle-boarding. Our favorite activity was our snorkel trip, which leaves right from the property. The sites were teeming with beautiful sea life, and Captain Xaviar and his crew were terrific; this trip is highly recommended. I can't forget to mention the spa, which was pricey but quite nice.
Our room was beautiful as well, especially the bathroom. But it was dusty, and housekeeping did not come at all until we called after the 2nd night. And about 1/2 of the staff at various restaurants were not very friendl /customer service oriented, while others were outstanding. Had the staff/service been better I would have rated this outstanding.

Room Tip: Choose a lagoon view; they are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We are delighted you chose to stay here at Cheeca, and we are so happy you had a lovely experience here. It sounds like you enjoyed many of the exciting activities we have to offer, and that you enjoyed exploring our 27 acres of tropical gardens and beach. Thank you for your recommendation of the snorkel trips provided by Cheeca Watersports, and we are glad you found the trip a highlight. We are very pleased with your compliment about our spa. We apologize for the housekeeping and service issues you experienced. We will address them with our staff immediately. Thank you so much for writing, and please come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Wonderful resort on the ocean with some of the most beautiful landscaping I have ever seen. We were in a bungalow, not direct ocean. Loved it. We could see the ocean from our window and it was very quiet and beautifully updated. Bathrooms were nice and large, lots of drawers to put your clothes. The resort fee seemed very high at first, but we realized that it included basically everything (golf, tennis, kayaks, valet parking, beach chairs, etc) so it was worth it !! The room rate we got was reasonable, good value for the money. The spa / adult pool was great and the area behind the spa was so pretty. "Spa Island" with tiki torches, etc. Loved it. The food is fantastic, but pricey. That was the only area where I thought the pricing was high. Definitely a fantastic getaway and a beautiful place.

Room Tip: my bungalow was very quiet. The rooms and suites in the lodge are beautiful, but the other rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We loved your review, and thank you for writing it. We appreciate your praise of our lushly landscaped gardens, and our beach bungalows. Thank you for pointing out that our resort fee really is a great value, packed with many amenities that make a visit to Cheeca truly worthwhile. We are glad you had a fantastic getaway to a beautiful place. Please come back soon and thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spent a week here with friends and family in June and we had three rooms, all identical and very well presented. The grounds are beautiful and there is a lot of attention to detail in terms of keeping everyone occupied. My teenage son loved having access to the gym facilities which were barely in use by other guests. The free dvd rental was another winner for all of us.Sadly, the restaurants were all overpriced and mediocre.We tried all of the restaurants and found them all lacking so decided to try the bar snacks as room service one evening. They were poor. If you stay here, go out to eat. There are many less pretentious restaurants with delicious fresh seafood at a fraction of the cost.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are identical but ask for beachfront or garden room, depending on your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We are honored and delighted you chose Cheeca for your week-long vacation getaway. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations, our grounds, our fitness center and our complimentary DVD rentals. We are very sorry our restaurants did not meet your expectations. We thank you for your feedback about our food quality and value. We will take your comments to heart and use them to improve our menus. Thank you so much for writing and we hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hubby booked us for 3 nights in a suite to get out of town to celebrate my 40th birthday. When we arrived on the property we were greeted with a glass a champagne (yes, please!) after making the 3 hour trek down from Pompano Beach, we needed that! We travel with our 2 year old so we needed to have a kitchen and the room, though not ocean front, did not disappoint. It was quiet, cozy, and had everything we needed, including a very deep bath tub. The bath tub was great but I could never fill it much...I think the stopper was having some difficulty doing its job. But the bathroom was awesome, all bath tub filling aside. The rain shower, bath products, separate toilet, were all great. One thing, though, there were no bathrobes available to use and in a hotel of this rating I would expect some super-luxury bath robes to use..and possibly purchase at the shop.
The grounds were beautiful! We loved the spa lagoon and the fancy coconut palms that formed an 'X' through an entryway...the beach was beautiful...but a keys beach which has a lot of sea grass and very hot water in which to swim..but that didn't bother us. The go-cart that shuttled food and drink was well stocked with a friendly bar man who was working hard to keep everyone's drinks filled!
We didn't visit the lagoon with our little one but it looked well aerated. My husband thought it wasn't very inviting.
We enjoyed the family pool both days. The service was prompt and the drinks were TASTY! However, one thing was I had to wait 30 minutes to get a towel...they were all out. A resort like Cheeca should never have this problem. Also, a couple of the lounge chairs we were using were falling apart..again, not expected at a resort of this caliber.
The spa! It was a wonderful experience and Sherri, my masseuse, did a fantastic job of making me feel relaxed and well taken care of!
The resort is within walking distance to everything and we really enjoyed our stay. We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We read your feedback with great pleasure, and wish you a very happy birthday! We hope you return next year, too. We are delighted you found your suite to be quiet and cozy and our gardens beautiful. Yes, it does get very hot down here in the tropics; we thank you for not minding the heat. It’s great to hear our beachside beverage service helped that situation! We are so sorry there were no robes in your room – that was definitely an inexcusable oversight, as all our rooms should have bathrobes. You are also correct about the lack of pool towels – a resort of Cheeca’s caliber should have plenty on hand. You have our word that we are aware of this problem and working to fix it. We are also replacing the broken lounge chairs. Thank you for your compliment about our spa; we are so glad you enjoyed your massage so much. We appreciate your time writing this review, and we are looking forward to your return visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The trip wasn't without its troubles but no trip is ever perfect.Management at the hotel definitely handled everything excellently. Don't cheat yourself if you eat at the restaurant on the property make sure Sherri Griffin is your server she was excellent.The general manager deanne made sure everything was right. She is a very nice woman.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We greatly appreciate your kind words about our new general manager, Deanne Gabel, and for your compliment about our server Sherri. We are glad to hear that we handled your troubles in an excellent fashion. Thank you for writing, and please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.