We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPA - CHEECA LODGE & SPA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate Mom this May
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“SPA - CHEECA LODGE & SPA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Gorgeous property - prime location - beautiful pristine beach - EXCELLENT spa

The best thing about this vacation - the spa services - exceptional, professional, and attentive service - everything I want in a spa and more

Got a sea mineral wrap & a deep tissue massage - BEST MASSAGE I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE! (have had many) - my massage therapist was DENNIS - be sure to ask for him - he is known as the best - and I promise you he will give you the best massage of your lifetime - making you feel as if you have just reached heaven on earth!

Cannot say ENOUGH good things about Dennis - he is amazing and truly has the magic touch!

Dominique at the spa was so pleasant and helpful - she helped us pick several spa services and even made it possible for me to get the sea mineral wrap no longer on the spa menu - thank you! She matched me with the exact right massage therapist for me - and as a result my spa experience was truly excellent & exceeded my expectations!

Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We cannot wait for you to return! We are absolutely delighted that you found our property so delightful. Thank you so much for the rave review of our wonderful spa; Dennis and Dominique are excellent members of our team and we appreciate your kind words about them. Thank you so much for writing, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    507
    272
    131
    81
See reviews for
547
959
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Passed by the entrance to this place on the way to the Keys and it jarred my memory about how disappointed we were when we stayed here. We unfortunately stayed here when there was Company event and there were quite a few children running around, could not get a restaurant reservation and when we did service was bad.....Even the staff at the desk when we were checking had an attitude and were not very helpful.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. This is not the outcome we were looking for with you or any of our couples, corporate group members or families. We strive to make everyone happy here at Cheeca; we are so sorry we missed the mark with you. We hope you will consider a return visit so we can show you our true colors here in paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in a "premier island view suite", in July. The suite was 1 room, carpets were dirty and the "island view" was of the resort building rooftops, i.e. horrendous. The swimming pool is too small for the number of guests at the resort. Kayak rentals are limited to 45mins, to avoid people kayaking to any reasonable distance for snorkeling. They would rather take you there for $50/head, even though it can be reached quite easily by kayak which are included in the $40/day resort fee.
We dined at their premier restaurant, "Atlantic's Edge" which turned out to be a travesty with everything from the wine to dessert an exhibition of mediocrity. The guava flavored grouper had no guava flavor and the coconut rice was a greenish mush. The seemingly very promising "Valrohna chocolate lava cake" was cold and frozen in the center.
To top it all, most of the personnel seemed disinterested and had an air of brusqueness about them. I would avoid this place like the plague, unless you want to stay there just for the name.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are dismayed that you did not enjoy your stay and we do apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Our premier island view suites are 840 square feet – the largest hotel rooms in the Florida Keys. We are very sorry that you felt our family pool was too crowded and wanted to make sure you knew that we have another large, adults only pool complete with a lap lane, as well as a saltwater snorkeling lagoon for a total of three choices for swimming. Our kayaks (and a wealth of other activities) are included in the resort fee. We do not recommend trying to snorkel off one of our kayaks, they are not set up for that and could easily drift off while you are snorkeling. Guest safety is our number one priority! We are very sorry you did not enjoy your meal in the Atlantic’s Edge and that our staff did not offer you the friendly, professional service we strive for each day. We will use your feedback to improve and enhance the total guest experience here at Cheeca Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Although my husband and I have been to Key West many times (whether a quick drive straight there, by cruise ship or by plane), this was the first time we were going to take our time by exploring all the nooks and crannies along the way. This was definitely our favorite place we stayed on the whole trip. As soon as you drive in, you must go through a gate that takes your name but once you are checked in, you have a card on your dash so you won't be stopped and will be waved through. While my husband was checking in, one of the valet men came over and asked me if I would like a glass of champagne while I waited. I'm not sure how I got this service, since I wasn't noticing them doing it for others although they do offer the champagne when you check in. It's in a cute glass that has their name (Cheeca) on it. We had a king room and you have covered parking right near your room. You can also valet park, but we chose to keep the car near us. The room was very elegant and nicely done and the bed was extremely comfortable. There is a $39 resort fee, that I know has been off putting to some, but it does seem to include a lot, most especially your activities. Since we were only there for one night, it probably wasn't the best deal for us since we used only internet, but hey, that surely wasn't their fault. I do think this is one of the better properties for a stop along the Keys. We also stayed at a resort in Marathon and although that one was very nice as well, this one when doing them back to back, definitely was the premier property. We did not encounter ants or other issues that were mentioned earlier, but in reality, this is the Keys and sadly, it is a way of life. Our room was very clean and was located where the balcony over looked the family pool. Make sure you check out the adult pool as well as the water fall area which is very scenic. I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to enjoy an upscale property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We thank you for your gracious recommendation, and are thankful for your wonderful, glowing review of Cheeca Lodge. It’s nice to know we are your favorite place to stay in the Florida Keys! We are delighted you found your accommodations elegant and comfortable, and discovered the beautiful cascading waterfalls around the spa. It truly is beautiful. Thanks again for your wonderful write-up, and please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Getting here isn't that exciting but as soon as you enter the gated resort all your troubles will melt away. Check in included a glass of champagne and personalized service, the valet greets you by name.... the grounds are BEAUTIFUL! Take advantage of everything that is included in your resort fees because things add up quickly. The restaurants are wonderful and have award winning food. Eat there at least once but if you are on any kind of budget you will want to eat off resort most of the time. They have a shuttle that will drive you and pick you up in the local area so you don't have to drive. They have a snorkel trip from the dock that is a great price and worth it.

The room was really nice! Great for couples since the bathtub has sliding doors that open the entire space up to the main room. Families with kids would like it too because the kids could be in the tub and you can watch them from the main room instead of sitting in the bathroom with them.

My only problem was the cleaning service. The room wasn't cleaned to any kind of standard during our stay, with only one bed being made and no fresh towels (even though they were on the floor like the sign said) and they were just rolled up wet. I had to call the front desk to remediate the problem. They also didn't replace the coffee or tea, which we drank every morning. I would have given 5 stars if the cleaning was better.

** Key West is almost a 2 hour drive away so plan accordingly**

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view when BOOKING if you require one.. If you don't, you will get a "resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We agree with you – Cheeca is indeed the best place in the Keys! Thanks for the wonderful review. We are happy we melted your troubles away with personalized service, beautiful grounds, wonderful restaurants, shuttle service and snorkel trip. That’s fantastic! We are also glad your room exceeded your expectations. We sincerely apologize for your issues with our housekeeping department. We are undergoing staffing and departmental improvements in housekeeping and you will see a marked improvement upon your return. Thank you so much for writing, and we look forward to receiving five stars after your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

So, we booked through Priceline and the resort must give the worst rooms to people who book through third party sites. Even though we paid what the asking price was, no corners cut. I expected Amazing and got left with OMG.
The room was infested with ants, and obviously I'm not the only one to experience this. I read some more reviews on trip advisor, a site I should've visited before spending my money.
The floors were filthy in our room. Just overall nasty. Even the non-existent beach was gross. It was an embankment that you couldn't even get to the water-which, you wouldn't have wanted to. It was covered in seaweed and mud. The "lagoon" the resort boasts about it murky with fish and mud also. There's no way I would even sit around it. It smelt awful.
This place has went down hill. When you pay that much money, someone should be cleaning up the grounds 24/7 and taking care of the waters, so that each and EVERY guest (no matter where you stay on the property) feels like they are at a 4/5 star resort.
Save your money and visit another property. We vacation a lot, but I will spend more money and go to the other resort on the key.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We certainly appreciate your comments and sincerely apologize. We work with our third-party booking partners to match our room types with the rates they choose to offer. These rates and room types are established well in advance of our guests’ arrival dates. We are truly sorry that you found ants in your room, and we certainly hope you called us so we could eliminate them! Unfortunately, ants in this subtropical climate are a rare but unfortunate problem during certain times of the year. We understand your concern about this, and apologize for the inconvenience. Our beach is the longest private beach in the Florida Keys. It is typical of any beach in the Florida Keys, which are a string of tiny islands comprised of ancient coral rock. The only living coral reef in the continental U.S. is located just off our shores. The reef is surrounded by crystal clear waters and creates spectacular fishing, snorkeling and diving adventures, but it also prevents surf-like waves from reaching our shores. The waters off our beach are also extremely shallow, but there is a ladder at the end of our 525’ wooden fishing pier and the water is deep enough to swim in down there.
Our saltwater snorkeling lagoon is fed with continuously circulated ocean waters and filled with a myriad of local fish. This ecosystem directly reflects the conditions of the ocean waters, which vary greatly with the wind and weather. The overall appearance of the lagoon does suffer during these extremely warm summer months; we are so sorry if you were disappointed.
You are correct – our goal is to make every guest, no matter where they stay on the property, to feel like they are staying at an AAA Four Diamond Resort. We will use your feedback to improve and enhance our overall operation. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just returned home from six days at Cheeca Lodge. It is by far THE BEST option in Islamorada. Easy to find, great amenities, beautiful grounds, great service. We loved the pool area and the kayak and paddleboarding. The biggest drawback about Key West is the lack of beaches, but staying at Cheeca totally makes up for it. The fishing pier kept my son happy the entire time. Will definitely stay at Cheeca next time we're in Key West.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for such a glorious write-up! We are absolutely thrilled that you discovered our beach made up for the lack of beaches in the Keys. Terrific! Please come back again soon, we will have a cabana on the beach waiting for you and a fishing rod waiting for your son. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.