We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great place to just relax...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Antioch, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Great place to just relax...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Cheeca Lodge and Spa live up to all the hype. It had been too long since our last travel holiday (life happens, right?) Anyway, I found the reviews some what of a mixed bag prior to booking here. After looking at several locations along with their reviews, we decided Cheeca was it. During our 6 night stay we never had any bad experiences. There are always simple items that come up on any trip, like forgetting fresh wash clothes but it didn't have to warrant a bad review. I like what someone else posted "Cheeca can be what you want to make it be. It is a very quite property and the suites are beautiful.

Room Tip: The Suites with the "lagoon" view are very nice. Large rooms, full kitchen and a screened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We read your review with open delight. Thank you so much for writing, and for choosing Cheeca Lodge for your much needed holiday. It was nice to hear you found our resort quiet and our suites beautiful. Please don’t wait too long until your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    454
    238
    117
    69
See reviews for
496
868
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Check in took an hour..room was horrible
.wanted to check out before the drive to our room..no parking under the old building.fridge is broken. No bath..ants all over the place..room is full of dust..i want to leave but i pd 210$=300$ after the hotel fees. gross. Wriring on the wall, wallpaper pealing and picture broke..ants in the room..aweful..its thee
Place..i can not wait to go home to 0º.do not stay here..pools are shaded w trees. Cancun jamaica..key west

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are very sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We apologize for the delay at check-in and for the issues you had with your room. We are addressing these issues as we write this response. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We decided to get out of town for the weekend on Friday morning. So glad we went to Cheeca Lodge for the weekend! Relaxing place! Great service and child friendly! We always enjoy our vacations at Cheeca and they always deliver great service!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We were so glad you came back to Cheeca once again for a last minute getaway. It is very rewarding to read that we always deliver great service to you and your family. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you want to pamper your spouse or special other take them to Cheeca Lodge. Romance is in the air along with a salt water breeze.Quiet and secluded, Cheeca can be made into whatever you want it to be. Sun on the beach in quiet. Use the hotels kayaks or fishing tackle for sport, book a fishing or sailing trip, play tennis, eat inside or our, or just relax at the spa. That special dinner can be had at one of the two fine dining restaurants. Its all for the asking.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are pricey, especially in season. The property is easily walkable and if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much that you took the time to send your praises. We agree, we have it all here at Cheeca. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at Cheeca lodge totally by chance, having driven from Miami beach all the way to key west to find not a single room/bed free in the whole of Key west! It was a holiday weekend and everywhere was packed.
So we ended up driving back up towards Miami stopping everywhere to try and find a room, without any joy. We got to the Cheeca at about 10 pm after being on the road for 11 hours.
They had one room left, a suite, so we took it, The room wasnt anything special,especially as it cost $800, it had a nice bathroom and view out to the golf course.
The resort was a really nice place,with lots to do, we managed to play golf on the par 3 course, but the weather wasnt great so couldnt do much else really.
We would go back, but at a quieter, less expensive time, think it would be a good place to stay if the weather is nice.
All the staff we encounter were great, sparkling wine at reception, the waitress at the bar at night managed to feed us even though the kitchen was shut, breakfast was top notch too.
All in all a nice place we would like to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are so glad you finally found a room here at Cheeca during your whirlwind visit to the Keys! We are glad you enjoyed our par 3 executive golf course, and that you found our staff great. It was a pleasure to hear you would like to visit us again, and we will welcome you back with open arms. Thanks for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We often visit Cheeca for special occasions, but the holidays are just spectacular at the hotel. Thousands of Poinsettias surrounding palm trees covered in twinkling lights. There's no better place than Cheeca Lodge to escape the winter blues! They have a great staff & the amenities for daily activities are endless!!!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We loved your review! We are thrilled that you found our staff friendly, our views amazing and your room beautiful. It was wonderful to hear you had a couple great meals at our restaurants. We apologize for the lack of pool towels – we are remedying this right now. We are so happy you found Cheeca to be a lovely place to stay, and we certainly hope you return again soon. Thank you for your kind recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Friendly staff, amazing views, beautiful room. We loved it here. We had a double queen room with an ocean view. The room was well appointed with a great shower that overlooked the ocean as well as a soaking tub on the balcony. We had two great meals at the restaurant. The only problem we had was a lack of pool towels our first day there but it being a holiday weekend, that wasn't necessarily a surprise. The resort certainly makes it convenient to access numerous activities straight from the property, so you don't have to wander unless you wish to. Overall it was a lovely place to stay with much to do.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.