We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer & Save - 25%!
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Islamorada
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My family and I had an amazing experience here. We were booked into the larger suites some facing Atlantic and others with Island view. They were luxurious rooms with a wow factor! We had great experiences at the restaurants and really enjoyed the large outside tiki bar. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The grounds are lush and tropical and the pools, beach and pier add to the ambience. I felt the fitness center was too small for the size of the complex. Look for online specials during off season.

Room Tip: The newer larger suites are a nice splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We truly appreciate your praises of our accommodations, restaurants, staff and amenities. Thank you for your wonderful review! It sounds like you had an amazing time here at Cheeca, and that makes us very happy. Please come back again soon, and we will do it all over again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    654
    358
    189
    81
    59
See reviews for
409
675
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newman, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were very disappointed in this "resort". The buildings badly need renovating as the whole complex has a run down look. Although the beds were comfortable, our room was dark and frankly quite uninviting. The door to the refrigerator was broken and although we reported ithis, nothing was done. The "beach" was non existent and did not tempt us to linger. For the price we paid, we would have been wiser to pick another place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We were very disappointed to hear that our resort did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the issue with your refrigerator door. Cheeca’s beach is typical of any beach in the Florida Keys, which are a string of tiny islands comprised of ancient coral rock. The only living coral reef in the continental U.S. is located just off our shores. The reef is surrounded by crystal clear waters and creates spectacular fishing, snorkeling and diving adventures, but it also prevents surf-like waves from reaching our shores. We are so sorry you were disappointed, and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by my friend's parents and it did not disappoint! Driving up to the resort, it looks as though you're entering a tropical rainforest. It's as beautiful as the all inclusives we've stayed at in the Caribbean and Mexico. We arrived early, so they valet parked our car and the desk clerk took our number to let us know when our room would be ready. We changed into swimsuits and went out to sit on the beach. As soon as we walked over to the chairs, one of the staff was right there with clean towels for us offering us drinks. The room took a bit longer to be ready than expected, so the hotel offered us a free dinner for that evening. The rooms were clean, elegant and BEAUTIFUL. They really do cover every detail, from the solid wood furniture so the rattan ceiling fan. Beds were very comfortable as well. When we left our room, it had just started to rain--one of the staff happened to be working near our buliding and offered to drive us to the restaurant on his golf cart so we would stay dry! We ate at the steakhouse and the food was amazing and service was excellent. The next day we played tennis and then sat by the adult pool for a while, which was very nice and peaceful. We received the same excellent service by the pool that we did at the beach the day before and when we told the staff that we had planned to head over to the beach, they let us know that our chairs from the day before would be ready with towels and they were. We had planned to eat outside of the resort that night, but since it was a Monday and not the peak season, pretty much all of the restaurants were closed, so we decided to stay and eat at the Italian restaurant and it was just as delicious as the steakhouse. We had the tomato and burata appetizer and short rib ravioli and tortellini entrees. Everything was so flavorful! Who would have thought you could get some excellent Italian food in the Keys ;) We didn't want to leave and would definitely stay again if we return to the keys. Just from driving around the area and seeing the outside of the other hotels, you can tell that none of the others compare to the Cheeca--so glad we stayed there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It is truly rewarding to hear so many nice comments about our resort, our grounds, our restaurants and especially, our service. It sounds like you had a terrific time, here, that is fantastic. We are delighted that you stayed here, and we wish you didn’t have to leave, either! Please make plans to come back again soon; we will have your beach chairs and towels ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I visited the Cheeca Lodge and Spa for the first time on September 12, 2013. We spent four nights in room 216 in the main lodge. We did our research and chose Cheeca comparing it to other local and regional luxury resorts for it's proximity to the ocean, recent renovations, comparable affordability and amenities. The view from our room was amazing. To be treated to the blue waters of the Caribbean in the U.S. was a real treat, it exceeded our expectations. You pay for the view. We found the prices to be reasonable for the level of accommodations. The staff did an outstanding job and were very attentive. We enjoyed the family pool, use of the spa, pitch and putt golf and excellent dining. Our favorite menu it was the fish tacos. You can get on the bar and pool menu until 5:00 p.m.. They are delicious. Thanks Cheeca for a great vacation. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 216 was amazing. Everything in the main lodge is very close to the pool and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
You are most welcome, and thank you for this amazing review! It’s so nice to hear that we exceeded your expectations, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your room, pool, spa, golf course and excellent dining. It sounds like you had a truly memorable vacation, and we cannot wait for you to return. Thanks again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Have been here 2 previous times and very much enjoyed it! Rooms are luxurious as is the view! This visit we chose not to eat at the resort, but seek out the "hidden gems". Tons of delicious food to be had off premises, and much less costly. Location is wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We are thrilled that you were back for a third visit, and greatly appreciate your compliments about our rooms and location. Thank you so much for writing, and please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmont, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you want a serene and comforting place to stay for vacation in the Florida Keys, stay at Cheeca Lodge in Islamorada Key. Our room was a premiere oceanfront suite - and very much satisfied with it. After a long day of activities from sunbathing, snorkeling, paddle boarding, sailing, or just a swim in the pool, there is nothing like soaking in an open-air tub with a breath taking oceanfront view. The staff was very helpful and courteous. If you are looking good food, there are three resturants in the facility that will satisfy your taste buds. During bad weather, i didn't mind staying in our comfortable room, getting room service, and just relaxing for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Wow! What a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your room, and that you took full advantage of the plethora of exhilarating and relaxing things to do here at Cheeca. That’s just wonderful. Your comments were serene and comforting to us, and we thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A deal from Groupon is why my friend and I decided to drive down to the Keys, we live in Boca Raton/Delray Beach. The price was a real bargain at $301 total for a 2 night stay (plus $20 resort fee each day). The room was their least expensive room of course and we were a bit skeptical of how it would be. And we were delightfully pleased. The resort itself is huge, beautifully landscaped with tropical foliage and palms, our room is called a resort view room and is situated by the tennis courts in a 3 story building with 8 units on each of two floors, you park underneath the units and there is a elevator to the 2nd and 3rd floor. We requested 2 queen beds, and our room had a gorgeous bathroom and great balcony with comfy chairs and a view of a lagoon and more palms, like being in the middle of a rainforest. Much to my relief I could call the bell desk and within minutes a golf cart would drive to our building and take us to the beach and pool area as it's a long walk if you have mobility problems as I do. There are 3 pools, one by the beach, an adult pool situated in a secluded tropical area and a lap pool in the spa. The downside is a "resort fee" of $40 a day (we paid $20 with the Groupon rate) but this includes "free" valet or self parking, tennis court and pitch & putt golf course equipment, bicycles, DVD movies, kayaks, fishing rods, wifi in rooms, bottled water in rooms, newspaper and transportation to any restaurant within 2 miles! So for a family who loves sports, this seems like a steal deal. Everyone from the front desk at check-in (glass of champagne offered) to the bellmen who shuttled us to/from the beach could not have been more helpful and informative, aiming to please. I suggest calling the resort to get a site plan sent to you so you can see where all the rooms and other amenities are located as well as the many activities covered by the resort fee. A delicious club sandwich and draft at the tiki bar cost me $25 with tip, dining in their restaurants is quite expensive but there are dozens of restaurants in the area, several in walking distance, that have great food and drinks at much lower prices. It's definitely a high end resort and you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Room 707 was our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review! It’s nice to hear you had such a wonderful time here, and enjoyed your lagoon-view room and all the other amenities and activities we have to offer. We also appreciate you compliments about our tropical gardens and our friendly, helpful staff. Cheeca does offer a variety of promotions and deals during the summer, and we are glad you were able to take advantage of one. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Also Known As:
Cheeca Lodge
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Islamorada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Amex, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.