We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Islamorada
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Have been here 2 previous times and very much enjoyed it! Rooms are luxurious as is the view! This visit we chose not to eat at the resort, but seek out the "hidden gems". Tons of delicious food to be had off premises, and much less costly. Location is wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We are thrilled that you were back for a third visit, and greatly appreciate your compliments about our rooms and location. Thank you so much for writing, and please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    736
    400
    214
    100
    65
See reviews for
461
764
16
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmont, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you want a serene and comforting place to stay for vacation in the Florida Keys, stay at Cheeca Lodge in Islamorada Key. Our room was a premiere oceanfront suite - and very much satisfied with it. After a long day of activities from sunbathing, snorkeling, paddle boarding, sailing, or just a swim in the pool, there is nothing like soaking in an open-air tub with a breath taking oceanfront view. The staff was very helpful and courteous. If you are looking good food, there are three resturants in the facility that will satisfy your taste buds. During bad weather, i didn't mind staying in our comfortable room, getting room service, and just relaxing for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Wow! What a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your room, and that you took full advantage of the plethora of exhilarating and relaxing things to do here at Cheeca. That’s just wonderful. Your comments were serene and comforting to us, and we thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A deal from Groupon is why my friend and I decided to drive down to the Keys, we live in Boca Raton/Delray Beach. The price was a real bargain at $301 total for a 2 night stay (plus $20 resort fee each day). The room was their least expensive room of course and we were a bit skeptical of how it would be. And we were delightfully pleased. The resort itself is huge, beautifully landscaped with tropical foliage and palms, our room is called a resort view room and is situated by the tennis courts in a 3 story building with 8 units on each of two floors, you park underneath the units and there is a elevator to the 2nd and 3rd floor. We requested 2 queen beds, and our room had a gorgeous bathroom and great balcony with comfy chairs and a view of a lagoon and more palms, like being in the middle of a rainforest. Much to my relief I could call the bell desk and within minutes a golf cart would drive to our building and take us to the beach and pool area as it's a long walk if you have mobility problems as I do. There are 3 pools, one by the beach, an adult pool situated in a secluded tropical area and a lap pool in the spa. The downside is a "resort fee" of $40 a day (we paid $20 with the Groupon rate) but this includes "free" valet or self parking, tennis court and pitch & putt golf course equipment, bicycles, DVD movies, kayaks, fishing rods, wifi in rooms, bottled water in rooms, newspaper and transportation to any restaurant within 2 miles! So for a family who loves sports, this seems like a steal deal. Everyone from the front desk at check-in (glass of champagne offered) to the bellmen who shuttled us to/from the beach could not have been more helpful and informative, aiming to please. I suggest calling the resort to get a site plan sent to you so you can see where all the rooms and other amenities are located as well as the many activities covered by the resort fee. A delicious club sandwich and draft at the tiki bar cost me $25 with tip, dining in their restaurants is quite expensive but there are dozens of restaurants in the area, several in walking distance, that have great food and drinks at much lower prices. It's definitely a high end resort and you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Room 707 was our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review! It’s nice to hear you had such a wonderful time here, and enjoyed your lagoon-view room and all the other amenities and activities we have to offer. We also appreciate you compliments about our tropical gardens and our friendly, helpful staff. Cheeca does offer a variety of promotions and deals during the summer, and we are glad you were able to take advantage of one. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Cheeca Lodge & Spa is simply beautiful. The entire main lodge was re-built following a devastating fire in 2009. Our room was an ocean front room in the main lodge and it was absolutely beautiful. The room was quite large, the bathroom was spectacular - tub is outside on the balcony making for some beautiful a.m. and p.m. soaking. The amenities were great and the service was stellar. Only complaints were that there were no in-room movies - but if that's all there is to complain about ...

Room Tip: I recommend the ocean front rooms in the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We thank you for your beautiful review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here. The next time you visit, please check out our wide selection of complimentary DVD movie rentals that are available in the Activities Center. DVD rentals are included in our resort fee. Thanks for writing, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLOOMFIELD HILLS , MICHIGAN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at the Cheeca Lodge for several nights for our anniversary. The cost of an oceanfront room is over $700.00 per night and does not even include breakfast. The oceanfront rooms are spacious,unluxurious, dark, and overpriced. The adult pool had very poor service and we had to walk to the regular pool to get a drink. The workout room was small and needs to be expanded and updated. This property still attracts visitors based on it's old reputation. It would be reasonable if it was 400-450 dollars per night. Also there is no true sandy beach, it is just rocky and there is a cement walk way. Incredibly our pool towels (that we had to get from the pool attendent at the family pool ) were wet and dirty! We would never return nor recommend this overpriced facility. Find a better place for a romantic week and save your money!

Room Tip: Save your money and do not splurge on the oceanfront rooms....not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We were very sad after reading your review. We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations for your anniversary get-away, but we do wish you heart-felt congratulations. We are confident that are room rates are comparably priced with other resorts of our caliber; and regret that you don’t feel the same. We apologize for the service issues you had, but must point out that our fitness center was totally renovated recently, and features state-of-the-art workout equipment.
The type of beach found at Cheeca is typical for any beach in the Florida Keys, which are a string of tiny islands comprised of ancient coral rock. The only living coral reef in the continental U.S. is located just off our shores. The reef is surrounded by crystal clear waters and creates spectacular fishing, snorkeling and diving adventures, but it also prevents surf-like waves from reaching our shores and creates the type of beach found here in the Keys. We are sorry it disappointed you. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This resort has everything. Beautiful setting, great food, spa, tennis, golf and more. It is wonderful for families as well as couples looking for a getaway. There is an adult only pool near the spa for those who want a more quiet setting.

The biggest negative we had that is when the weather is bad all the great activities are hard to use. Not a lot of other things going on in the area for inclement weather.

Room Tip: We had a room around the lagoon that was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We greatly appreciate your positive review! We agree, Cheeca does have something for everyone. It’s a shame the weather didn’t cooperate during your stay, but that’s a great excuse to come back again! We hope that happens soon. Thanks for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I read great reviews about the Cheeca Lodge and did extensive research so I was ready for awesome, or awful. I even spoke to a well travelled friend who highly recommended it. Needless to say, here is how it started.
Drove up to valet, got out and entered the check in desk. We were greeted by Donna who was sweet, smiling, professional, and quick; she gets 5 STARS! She popped the bubbly and that was awesome. She did mention that our room wouldn't be ready but we could use the facilities, that she would text us or call as soon as it was ready. That seemed reasonable. So we checked out the grounds which were pretty, but no beach or ocean swimming which I accidentally found out during a bit of research, so that was no surprise, however disappointing.
We stayed at the adult pool and ordered 3 Chardonnay glasses of wine which totaled $65.00!!! (Which I found out the following day that the bartender just started and frequently over charged guests "by accident")
After our wine we got a call that our room was ready so we headed to our humble lodge. No problems there, it was clean and cozy.
I decided to then call the concierge to make dinner reservations: she was snotty and rude, and corrected my pronunciation of the "Sushi place" which if you saw it was a tiny bar.
We dined every night on the premises and the hostess staff was never accommodating to us. We tried all three restaurants, and they were lovely. The wait staff was friendly, professional and accommodating. They made the hostesses look like they needed to take a class in customer service. The management wasn't attentive to the staff and on many occasions we waited and waited to get glasses of water. This only happened during breakfast and lunch, the dinner staff was much more attentive.
All in all the Cheeca Lodge needs better management and needs to follow through with their staff. 1 out of every 10 employees was professional and exceptional, the rest of them should get a job at the local motel.
The staff inside their retail shop were also snooty and not very helpful.
One last thing, we used their parasailing staff to go parasailing, and the excursion lasted 15 minutes, not 30 minutes, rip off!!!
I will not be giving them a second visit.
Sorry Cheeca Lodge, if it wasn't for Donna at concierge, you would have received 1 star!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that Donna made you feel so welcome, that your room was clean and cozy and our wait staff was friendly, professional and accommodating. We apologize for your experiences with some of our staff, and are looking into this. Our entire team, including our managers, takes great pride in providing first-class service to all our guests, and we regret that we did not meet your expectations. We will use your feedback to help improve and enhance the overall guest experience here at Cheeca. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.