We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely overpriced old resort save your money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate Mom this May
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
BLOOMFIELD HILLS , MICHIGAN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Extremely overpriced old resort save your money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at the Cheeca Lodge for several nights for our anniversary. The cost of an oceanfront room is over $700.00 per night and does not even include breakfast. The oceanfront rooms are spacious,unluxurious, dark, and overpriced. The adult pool had very poor service and we had to walk to the regular pool to get a drink. The workout room was small and needs to be expanded and updated. This property still attracts visitors based on it's old reputation. It would be reasonable if it was 400-450 dollars per night. Also there is no true sandy beach, it is just rocky and there is a cement walk way. Incredibly our pool towels (that we had to get from the pool attendent at the family pool ) were wet and dirty! We would never return nor recommend this overpriced facility. Find a better place for a romantic week and save your money!

Room Tip: Save your money and do not splurge on the oceanfront rooms....not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We were very sad after reading your review. We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations for your anniversary get-away, but we do wish you heart-felt congratulations. We are confident that are room rates are comparably priced with other resorts of our caliber; and regret that you don’t feel the same. We apologize for the service issues you had, but must point out that our fitness center was totally renovated recently, and features state-of-the-art workout equipment.
The type of beach found at Cheeca is typical for any beach in the Florida Keys, which are a string of tiny islands comprised of ancient coral rock. The only living coral reef in the continental U.S. is located just off our shores. The reef is surrounded by crystal clear waters and creates spectacular fishing, snorkeling and diving adventures, but it also prevents surf-like waves from reaching our shores and creates the type of beach found here in the Keys. We are sorry it disappointed you. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    514
    280
    134
    82
See reviews for
554
976
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This resort has everything. Beautiful setting, great food, spa, tennis, golf and more. It is wonderful for families as well as couples looking for a getaway. There is an adult only pool near the spa for those who want a more quiet setting.

The biggest negative we had that is when the weather is bad all the great activities are hard to use. Not a lot of other things going on in the area for inclement weather.

Room Tip: We had a room around the lagoon that was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We greatly appreciate your positive review! We agree, Cheeca does have something for everyone. It’s a shame the weather didn’t cooperate during your stay, but that’s a great excuse to come back again! We hope that happens soon. Thanks for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I read great reviews about the Cheeca Lodge and did extensive research so I was ready for awesome, or awful. I even spoke to a well travelled friend who highly recommended it. Needless to say, here is how it started.
Drove up to valet, got out and entered the check in desk. We were greeted by Donna who was sweet, smiling, professional, and quick; she gets 5 STARS! She popped the bubbly and that was awesome. She did mention that our room wouldn't be ready but we could use the facilities, that she would text us or call as soon as it was ready. That seemed reasonable. So we checked out the grounds which were pretty, but no beach or ocean swimming which I accidentally found out during a bit of research, so that was no surprise, however disappointing.
We stayed at the adult pool and ordered 3 Chardonnay glasses of wine which totaled $65.00!!! (Which I found out the following day that the bartender just started and frequently over charged guests "by accident")
After our wine we got a call that our room was ready so we headed to our humble lodge. No problems there, it was clean and cozy.
I decided to then call the concierge to make dinner reservations: she was snotty and rude, and corrected my pronunciation of the "Sushi place" which if you saw it was a tiny bar.
We dined every night on the premises and the hostess staff was never accommodating to us. We tried all three restaurants, and they were lovely. The wait staff was friendly, professional and accommodating. They made the hostesses look like they needed to take a class in customer service. The management wasn't attentive to the staff and on many occasions we waited and waited to get glasses of water. This only happened during breakfast and lunch, the dinner staff was much more attentive.
All in all the Cheeca Lodge needs better management and needs to follow through with their staff. 1 out of every 10 employees was professional and exceptional, the rest of them should get a job at the local motel.
The staff inside their retail shop were also snooty and not very helpful.
One last thing, we used their parasailing staff to go parasailing, and the excursion lasted 15 minutes, not 30 minutes, rip off!!!
I will not be giving them a second visit.
Sorry Cheeca Lodge, if it wasn't for Donna at concierge, you would have received 1 star!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that Donna made you feel so welcome, that your room was clean and cozy and our wait staff was friendly, professional and accommodating. We apologize for your experiences with some of our staff, and are looking into this. Our entire team, including our managers, takes great pride in providing first-class service to all our guests, and we regret that we did not meet your expectations. We will use your feedback to help improve and enhance the overall guest experience here at Cheeca. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is paradise! The staff the food the activities. The only thing missing is the beach. I didn't realize I would be sitting so close to the water with such poor access. There is a dock with a ladder. Makes me feel like I am back to my summer camp days. Other than that it is a top 10!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We found your review to be simply wonderful! We are thrilled we met your expectations, and feel badly that our beach disappointed you. We hope you will return again soon, and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great food, great place., pool was large, dock was long, keys were fantastic as usual, had a great time, very relaxing, friendly staff.
Price was a little higher than what can be found at a few other places in the keys, but of it's good enough for George Bush, it is good enough for me!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We greatly appreciate your praise of our resort. Thank you! We hope you will plan a return stay in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had not been to the property in over 10 years and had heard so much about the renovations.
The hype did not disappoint....from the relaxing desk check-in to the beautifully appointed Tommy Bahama Suite...everything was perfect! I especially was impressed with the F&B outlets.
Enjoyed dinner at the Atlantic Grille and celebrated a Birthday dinner in Limencello's...both
were fabulous and the service was outstanding...but not stuffy.

Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We were delighted to have you back after 10 years, and we loved your review. We are so happy we met all your expectations, both with our property and our restaurants. Happy Birthday! Please come back for next year’s celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our second family stay at Cheeca following our first visit 3 years ago.
Little has changed, the location is fantastic, our boys love fishing off the dock, the par 3 golf course is great, and the pool and lagoon provide ample entertainment.
Located in large, very attractive, grounds in the Northern half of the keys, Cheeca is easily accessible from Miami.
Our 'Superior Lagoon View' family room was OK. The bathroom is the standard I would expect for this quality and price of resort. The bedroom furniture needs updating (broken cupboard handles etc..). This is a large resort with separate accommodation blocks, cleaning of the outside of the bedrooms and stairs needs to be improved as rubbish and bed sheets were often left outside for too long a period. The resort lagoon is man made, and also is in need of a bit of clean and restoration.
The resort fee is high, but I do feel is better value than many resorts, as you actually get quite a lot for it, including golf, bikes, dvd's, water, wi fi, local transport. Although these resort fees are a common compliant of mine - they are compulsory, just include them in the rate.
There are some excellent nearby restaurants, which to me sets Islamorada apart from most of the keys. Try Kaiyo grill and Sushi next door - fantastic.
There was an extra added to our account after we had left which was an error, however this was corrected after I pointed this out.
Overall a very good resort, with a bit of investment needed in the rooms and cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We were delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your return visit to Cheeca Lodge, and appreciate all your positive comments. We agree that our resort fee is a great value. It includes tennis, golf, fishing rods, sea kayaks, bicycles, shade cabanas, fitness center, DVD movie rentals, in-room coffee, tea and bottled water, wireless internet, guest internet station with DSL and printer, local and 800 calls, guest fax services, daily newspaper delivery, local shuttle service and valet or self-parking.
We apologize for the shortcomings with your room. We constantly strive to improve our property in all areas, and are finishing up a full makeover of a large inventory of our rooms, replacing and refinishing room amenities. We have noted your comments about the outdoor areas and will use them to help us improve our overall ambiance.
Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you don’t wait another three years to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.