We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Resort!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To 25% Off Suites
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Resort!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Cheeca Lodge is an incredible, ultra private enclave in the Keys.

It is 5 stars across the board, and the personnel is warm and professional.

This is the only resort I will ever stay at when vacationing in the Keys!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We greatly appreciate your fantastic review, and we hope you return to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    430
    227
    109
    68
See reviews for
481
816
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Me and my three kids were looking to get away to a nice spring break vacation in Florida. Based on reviews and ratings, Cheeca sounded like a great choice. When we arrived at 2, we were told our room was not ready but would be expedited. We toured the property, came back to the desk at 3 and were again told room not ready. We grabbed some drinks, sat outside and waited. At 4 we went back to the registration desk, waited in line with three or four other families, and finally got the keys to our room at 4:15 p.m. Annoying but ok. The room itself was fine, but the screened in porch was not really impressive. Restaurants were overpriced and mediocre food, only average service (waitress at breakfast was great). We waited for 30 minutes one night and then were seated at a table that was open when we arrived. Beach almost doesn't exist, and not conducive for kids to swim in ocean. Every activity costs money except riding bikes ($10 for bait, $55 for a sailboat, $10 for snorkel and mask). Pool is small. Overall, waaay overpriced for what you get. Feels like they are riding on a reputation but have not kept up with services or quality. Not really worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stunning setting in the keys - overall this was a great stay. We had an ocean front room with a private patio - it was the perfect place to relax. There are many options like kayaking, paddle boarding right there. The "adults only pool" was wonderful - great place to chill and have lunch. There is also a spa and fitness center there. Spa facilities were lovely - we had average massages... Some of the rooms are more updated then others. We started out in a room that was a little dated but moved to one that had a more recent Reno and was very nice.
We ate one dinner at the property and were very disappointed by the quality of food for the price. We had a shellfish tower and everything was ok but seemed like it had been sitting out for a while (oysters were dry and pre shucked...shrimp weren't fresh) and we shared an entree and our bill was over $300. We eat out a lot and don't mind spending money on good food but we definitely found better meals off site. It was a little strange that every time we ordered drinks (the exact same thing) we were charged different prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

In the pictures the resort was beautiul, in person it left much to be desired. The rooms were a bit dated (we didn't stay in the main lodge), the facilities were somewhat lacking (pool small, small beach was strewn with seagrass and the tractors were removing the debris for 2 days, right in the middle of prime beach time!) Restaurants were good, though a bit pricey and service was sub par. Local amenities were very good, solid local restaurants, boating near-by. I would recommend but set expectations accordingly and you will be pleased.

Room Tip: Stick to the main lodge, recently redone, nicely appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Beautiful room, gorgeous property, lots to do (or not do!). We did not have an oceanfront room, but still had a nice view of the tropical landscape from the screened in porch. It was very high-end, but still had a very laid back and friendly vibe. What's not to love about a beer cart on the beach?!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

While visiting Key Largo, we decided to dine at Limoncello in the Cheeca Lodge. We had made reservations on-line via Open Table.com. Someone from the restaurant called the day of the reservation to confirm. We arrived and were shown immediately to our table. Our waitress, Sheri, was very nice, attentive,(making sure our water was constantly filled), and quite helpful. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the idea of a make your own antipasti menu. One could choose from meats, fish, vegetables, cheese, salads, etc. They cost around $3.00 each or 3 for $10.00. What a great idea. I put together a few that I wanted and my husband got one of their salads. He had linguine with clams for his dinner and I had pizza. Personally, I could have gotten by with just the antipasti, but the pizza was delicious as well. We shared some of their homemade gelato. Also, very good!
My only reason for giving this a 4 and not 5 is that the on-line menu shows a few different items on the antipasti that I was excited to try and when we got to the restaurant, they weren't on the menu. The on-line menu needs to be updated. Other than that, a great experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent three days at Cheeca with our teen son and it was a great place to have an active vacation. With tennis, Par 3 golf, parasailing, kayaks and fishing on site. He was never bored. (And that's saying a lot!) We had a one bedroom suite with a sofa bed and large enclosed deck overlooking the lagoon with a waterfall. The decor....very Tommy Bahama. We purchased the package on Luxury Link at a great savings and it came with extras like a bottle of wine, basket of fruit and no resort fees. The grounds are lush and pretty and there is a small man made beach but its really not conducive for swimming. We ate breakfast most mornings outside but only ate dinner on site one night at Limoncello. It was good but we really enjoyed watching the sunset and eating at two other local restaurants the Lorelie and Morada Bay. The Lorelie has bar food, rock bands and a Key West hippie vibe. Morada Bay has really good food, pretty setting and acoustic music. Both are fun! If you have little kids, do Morada. They can run around on the white sand beach while you enjoy a cocktail. Don't worry about the reviews that talk about bad service at Cheeca. We didn't experience that at all. Although some of the wait staff was slow just sit back and enjoy the view. Before you know it, you'll be back home in your hectic lifestyle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Amex, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.