We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Wonderful Place in the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Killington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Most Wonderful Place in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

From start to finish this was the loveliest, nicest, place I have ever stayed in. The King Suite Lagoon room was exquisite, the service from the concierge to the bar tenders, to the servers in the restaurants from start to finish was impeccable. The food at each of the restaurants was delightful and delicious.The staff was courteous, friendly and accommodating. Everyone was falling over backwards to ensure a warm and welcoming stay. I daresay, they made me and my husband feel like a prince and princess if not a king and queen. What a wonderful surprise, the entire experience at The Cheeca Lodge has spoiled me for anywhere else! We will surely be back for an annual visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
On behalf of the entire Cheeca team, we thank you for your excellent review. Our mission is to make each and every guest feel like royalty, and we accomplished that with you! We are looking forward to your annual visit, and will welcome you with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    455
    240
    117
    70
See reviews for
497
869
20
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I had a daughter 6 months ago and my parents offered to watch her for a weekend while we went to Cheeca to recharge. We are super active people who are not into lounging on the beach. Cheeca was the perfect fit for us (although if you do want to lounge it would be great as well).

The hotel setup a half-day fishing trip for us with Captain Rich Burson. I highly recommend requesting him if you are interested in a half-day backwater trip. A great guy. We caught a 40 pound spinner shark, mackerel and at least 13 other species of fish. Lots of fun and beautiful scenery.

Earl at the front gate is awesome. The hotel couldn't have hired a more welcoming person to greet guests.

Dinner at Atlantic's edge was delicious. And the tiki bar is a blast. I highly recommend ordering two cocktails that were out of this world -- the Key Line Pie cocktail and the Painkiller (cool tin souvenir mug).

The adult pool is gorgeous and the waitress out there was very friendly and attentive.

Also, kayaking is lots of fun and included. We saw a 4 foot swim right under our two person kayak which was a real thrill.

The hotel generously upgraded us from a resort view to a lagoon view which was very nice and unexpected. We were not offered champagne when we arrived (as all the other reviews reported) but it was around noon so maybe it was too early. But we shrugged it off as we were in paradise. My one critical comment would be that I've never been so confused on how to find and turn off the room's light switches in my life. A very bizarre problem to have, but the interior of the room was gorgeous.

I highly recommend the hotel restaurants, but if you are looking to grab lunch off the property go to Ma's Fish house and order the fish tacos (no atmosphere but amazing food). And for dinner go to Chef Michael's (Hogfish, Hogfish Hogfish!).

We had such a great time, we are planning to go back next year with our daughter, my parents and brothers. We didn't even check out the 9 hole golf coarse and tennis courts which we will next time. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Lagoon room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Reviews like yours make all of us smile here at Cheeca, and we thank you for your kind words. Cheeca is indeed the perfect spot to recharge, by lounging on the beach or taking advantage of all the exciting activities included in our resort fee. It’s great you reveled in some terrific fishing here in the “Sport Fishing Capital of the World, enjoyed dining in the Atlantic’s Edge, frosty libations at the Tiki Bar, and were thrilled with a close encounter kayaking. Sounds like you had an awesome stay! We can’t wait until you return with your family and your new baby. We will have lots of friendly smiles waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I are in our late 30s, pretty active, and accustomed to staying at nice places. I write this only to give you some background as the type of travelers and age we are may impact our review of this resort. We travel well but usually keep to boutique hotels and B&Bs. This time around we opted to stay one luxurious day at Cheeca to celebrate our second anniversary. It was a pleasant stay to be sure, but not the height of luxury. I'll give you a flavor for the good and the bad.

The good:
- The adult's only pool next to the spa is quiet, with lovely music playing along the background.
- The spa itself is great, but does not rank amongst the best.
- The outdoor tubs in the main lodge are fun, as are the amazingly large double-person showers.
- The bedding was quite comfortable.
- Our dinner at the Atlantic's Edge was just okay for the spectacular price, but the waiter was so nice and responsive and the mussels were amazing.
- The view of the ocean from the oceanfront rooms is fabulous. The pier is great. The grounds are well kept with nice lighted paths at night for walking.

The bad:
- Service was questionable from the very beginning. We checked in early at 1PM and they took our bags, letting us know that they'd call us as soon as a King was available and have our luggage waiting in our room. By 3:30 we still had not received a call (check-in is at 4PM). We called the front desk from our lounge chairs and were told the room had been available. When we arrived at the desk, we had to wait behind a bunch of folks just checking in. Now annoyed at the lack of a courtesy call and the lack of staff at check-in time, we arrived to our room to see that the bags had not arrived there before us. We had to take care of that as well. We would expect a resort of this nature to have the staff available to handle guests well, respond to them graciously, and make the extra effort of contact when promised. By way of another example, when we ordered lunch poolside, a staff person came by and dropped off the food, but did not say one other word to us and failed to also drop off plates, napkins, water, drinks, or silverware.
- The outdoor tub in the main units is a plus and touted repeatedly in literature for Cheeca, but it's really only a fairly small tub. There are no jets or other "hot tub" or jetted features, no comfortable seating options. It's round, you sit it, you try to curl around your partner comfortably. I would have liked to see some additional features here.
- There is a TV and a DVD, and the resort fee affords you the ability to get DVD movies from the staff for free. But there are no other high-end features to the TV like I see in other hotels and resorts. I.e., you cannot rent movies from your TV, check out resort features, play games, etc. It's just a TV.
- The man-made beachfront area is easy to walk along and looks lovely in pictures, but this is not sand. Instead it feels well-crushed gravel. You need shoes.
- The main pool is a disaster of children. We have a one-year-old and love kids, don't get me wrong, but at a resort it was a bummer to have the main pool, and the only one with views to the ocean, jam packed with kids the whole time. Not relaxing, but I'm sure it is nice for families.
- The hotel has an outdoor hot tub but it is at the same location as the family-friendly pool. This makes it a less than great spot to hang out quietly during the day. More frustrating, the pools and hot tubs are off-limits after "dusk."
- The rooms with "Island View" really look out the road along the front of the hotel, and the garden palms, etc., along the road. Unhappily, I had misunderstood all of the various names for the rooms. I saw "Lagoon," "Oceanfront," and "Island." I mistakenly thought that the Lagoon view rooms must be those that look out at the grounds, the Oceanfront were those that were along the first floor facing the ocean, and the Island were those on the second/third floor facing the ocean. I was wrong. Island View and Lagoon View are basically the same thing -- it means you don't look at the ocean. Ah well. I should have been more careful. But a warning that you need to read the descriptions well and understand if you have an Island view that your room isn't particular private as there is a road that abuts that side and it is traveled by staff, etc.
- The main breakfast offered is a buffet style. You can also order food from a menu.

On the whole, this is a fine location if you are looking for a pretty view and grounds with your family. I'd say it's less ideal for couples, and lacks some of the style and service of a true resort spa locale.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend "Island View" rooms. The rooms with "Island View" real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
First of all, Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing Cheeca for this special occasion. We value your thoughtful and thorough feedback. We appreciate all the good elements you identified in your review, and are very happy that you enjoyed those aspects of your stay. We deeply apologize for the issues you had at check-in. You are correct, we strive to have enough staff to handle every guest’s needs with courtesy and efficiency. We will use your comments to help us improve our service in those areas. We are sorry you felt our soaking tub on your balcony should have had more features. Cheeca does offer two spacious hot tubs, one next to the free-form pool and one in the gardens behind the spa.

The type of beach found at Cheeca is typical for any beach in the Florida Keys, which are a string of tiny islands comprised of coral rock. The only living coral reef in the continental U.S. is located just off our shores. The reef is surrounded by crystal clear waters and creates spectacular fishing, snorkeling and diving adventures, but it also prevents surf-like waves from bringing in the sand like you were expecting from beaches in other areas.
The free-form pool at Cheeca is family-friendly, as is the oceanfront saltwater snorkeling lagoon and they are both very popular with children as you discovered. Cheeca does offer a very serene, relaxing adults-only pool at the Spa.
Cheeca does indeed offer an expansive selection of room types, from luxurious oceanfront rooms and suites, to beach bungalows, to rooms and suites situated around our tennis courts, golf course, spa and gardens. Those in search of a room with a view of the Atlantic should make sure the word “oceanfront” is in the room description.
We are delighted you found Cheeca to be a fine location with pretty grounds; ideal for families. We feel that Cheeca is the perfect respite for couples as well. We thank you once again for your comprehensive comments, and will use them to improve the overall quality of the Cheeca experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at Cheeca's Lodge for a week (in fact we got engaged during the trip :-). The grounds were spectacular and the food and service absolutely great. If you want to be active (golfing, kayaking, biking, swimming, tennis etc.), want to have a romantic holiday, or just want to relax, Cheeca's is definitely the right place. The staff were amazing, especially Shari in Limoncello and Jean Joseph in the Atlatic's Edge restaurant. The only problem we encountered during our trip was the poor Wifi connection on the property and in the room, but otherwise Cheeca's deserves an A++!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Congratulations on your engagement! We are very honored you chose Cheeca to mark this very special occasion. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It’s true, when you come to Cheeca you can do everything – or nothing at all. Our apologies for the issues with the Wi-Fi service, we are investigating how to solve this issue. Your review gets an A++ from us, and we welcome you back anytime – Cheeca is a stunning location for a wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed 2/16/13-2/21/13. There are pros and cons to the Cheeca. First lets look at the pro's.

The grounds at the Cheeca are amazing! Very well kept. The staff from the valet, check in, resort staff, tiki hut, the servers on the beach are very kind and courteous. We stayed in the main lodge in a ocean front king on the second floor and the room was fabulous. The view, spectacular! Nice large balcony to sit and watch the sun rise, the beach or people fishing on the pier. Or you can do the same thing from the large out side soaking tub. Don't worry, there are curtains you can close if you want to.

The cons, The Atlantic's Edge leaves little to be desired. Plan on spending $$$$ for a $$ meal. Cheeca promotes a family atmosphere witch they do great. But this restaurant is a little upscale for a family dinner. We actually ended up ordering room service witch was much better food. At least until we found a better place to eat off grounds.

Turn down service comes every day around 8pm. You get a knock on the door, your relaxing, get up to answer the door, "turn down service" Really? One day we were sitting on the balcony waiting to watch the sunset at 6:30pm when all of a sudden, there is a lady in our room asking if we wanted turn down service. Really? If I want turn down service, I will arrange that myself. Don't try to force it on me.

Finally, your bill ticket. Either its from one of the restaurants, bar, room service, etc... It suggest a tip amount depending on how much your bill is. Well, I tip according on the service and quality, not how much the bill is. That's just plain and simple. For a hotel to promote an up scale style, that part needs to go.

Room Tip: Ocean front king is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary praises about our amazing property, our spectacular accommodations and kind and courteous staff. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We were sorry to hear that our flagship upscale Atlantic’s Edge restaurant did not meet your family’s expectations. Our Italian restaurant, Limoncello, is more family friendly, offering a delightful choice of pizzas and pastas for all ages and budgets, and a very reasonable children’s menu.

Nightly turndown service is offered as an added amenity, and most guests expect it at a resort of our caliber. We apologize if you found it intrusive – that is certainly not our goal! A quick call to the front desk and our housekeepers would have been notified of your wishes.

We do indeed provide tip calculations for, 15%, 18% and 20% on our restaurant bills, not as a suggestion but simply to make it easier for our guests to calculate their tip. We apologize that you found this information offensive – again, that was not our intention.

Thank you for your helpful feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another fabulous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

There is no question that Cheeca is a beautiful property, practically a tropical oasis mixed with jungle theme and a beach with a long pier jutting out into the water. However service is average at best. Driving in, you may quickly be informed that you're expected to drive to your room (with no luggage assistance) and the desk person points you at a small screen for hotel information, rather than explaining anything. Highly commercialized huge property totally lacks any sort of personal touch and while the staff is professional at all times, the feeling of getting any sort of "value" here is therefore compromised. Considering that they've had a major fire in their history, I was a bit surprised to see so manh tiki torches flaming alongside the trees and branches. THe room was average/nice, the funiture badly in need of replacement (loose doors, poorly fitting banged up drawers). The bathroom and shower were probably cutting edge in their time, but badly outdated today. The fake beach is very well groomed and a great place for lounging, but it doesn't quite meet the water's edge (stone edging) and the pool is far more attractive for swimming. If you're travelling down to Key West or back up to the mainland it's a nice place to spend a night. Personally not my idea of a destination although seeing so many positive reviews I'm sure it's working for some people. The outdoor cafe was very nice for breakfast, but along with the upstairs balcony restaurant, the service is really lacking. There simply are no bargains, here and by the time you add your resort fee, service charges and taxes to the room rate, you're easily $100 a night over the base rate. For $400 (garden) $500, $600 or more per night, with nothing included, it's really hard to give this beautiful property in an exceptional location anything more than an average rating.

Room Tip: If you're only staying a night or two, and don't need the water view, save hundreds by going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We agree with you – Cheeca Lodge is a tropical oasis, a beautiful property in an exceptional location. Thank you! We do apologize that you had to drive to your room. In addition to the main lodge, our accommodations are situated in various locations throughout the 27-acre property, including the golf course, tennis courts and lagoon areas. These rooms have convenient parking directly underneath them; and a member of our bell staff would have been happy to assist you!

We were disappointed to hear your observations about the check-in process and are using your comments to improve our service there. One of our main goals at Cheeca is to make each and every guest feel at home, and that they are each getting personalized service. We are so sorry we did not convey this with you.

You might find it fascinating to know that our tiki torches are all placed next to traveler’s palms and birds of paradise, two plants that are not flammable. (Interesting facts: The traveler palm’s leaves are shaped to collect water in the trunk and branches. Historically, travelers would cut a branch close to the trunk to collect drinking water. They would also make a small hole in the trunk and collect a significant amount of water for their travels. This plant tend to grow in a east- west direction and were often used as a compass for travelers after quenching their thirst.)

We regret the shortcomings with your room and are working hard to repair the issues. We are glad you found our beach well-groomed -- the type of beach found at Cheeca is typical for any beach in the Florida Keys, which are a string of tiny islands comprised of coral rock. The only living coral reef in the continental U.S. is located just off our shores. The reef is surrounded by crystal clear waters and creates spectacular fishing, snorkeling and diving adventures, but it also prevents surf-like waves from reaching our shores and creates the type of beach found here.

We truly believe that Cheeca’s rates are commensurate with the quality and level of service we provide, and that they are competitively priced with other resorts of our caliber. Our resort fee does include tennis, golf, fishing rods, sea kayaks, bicycles, shade cabanas, fitness center, DVD movie rentals, in-room coffee, tea and bottled water, wireless internet, guest internet station with DSL and printer, local and 800 calls, guest fax services, daily newspaper delivery, local shuttle service and valet or self-parking.

Again, we greatly appreciate your feedback, and hope you will consider a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

THINGS YOU WANT TO KNOW UP FRONT

*This applies to Lagoon View Rooms-


1. Bathroom has Conair 1600 Watt hair dryer (good dryer) - It is located behind door in the middle bathroom vanity

2. Rooms have full length mirror

3. In-room digital safe - Secure anything of value in the safe. We took a Kindle Fire device which fit nicely in the safe along with our wallets, jewelry and a regular kindle reader.

4. Room has digital clock

5. Iron and Ironing board in closet

6. Robes (are hanging in bathroom) NO slippers

7. Coffee/tea maker - stored in middle of dresser behind a door on pullout shelf

8. Refrigerator filled with 4 bottles of water and creamers for coffee

9. Body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, bath cap, and nail file

10. Free Wi-Fi available - but not very strong reception - we had very poor cell reception on most parts of the complex so we connected to the Wi-Fi for phone calls

11. Screened porch with small table 2 chairs and 1 chair with ottoman, ceiling fan and outside light fixture.

12. Shower with 2 shower heads - regular head and rain head

13. Large soaking Tub

14. Bathroom has 2 sliding doors next to the tub that can be opened to the bedroom - has frosted glass so when closed there is privacy. However the light from the bathroom does shine through the frosted glass slightly and this might disturb some people who need complete darkness when sleeping if their partner gets up during the night.

15. Complimentary paper delivered to room door

16. Large flat screen TV

17. Resort fee includes: bikes, 9 hole, par-3 golf course, balls with 3 clubs (Pitching and Sand Wedge and putter); tennis - rackets and balls; valet parking - Other activities are offered for minimal fee such as yoga for $7.

18. Workout room - several treadmills, several elliptical machines, 2 bicycles - 1 recumbent; full set of weights, large mirror, water cooler, and towels.

19. Spa - connected to workout area - fee for service (massages)

20. Several pools - 1 adult pool - Whirlpool somewhere on property but we never saw it - we were told it was on the other side of the tennis courts.

21. Champagne offered at check-in

22. Check-in - There is no check-in counter. The staff sits at desks and to check-in you walk up to a desk and sit down.

23. Make-up mirror with magnification - Not lighted - Bathroom lighting is not very good for use of magnification mirror or any mirror for putting on makeup (at least for eyes of the slightly older set) - so bring your own with a good light on it if you have one.

24. We did the breakfast inclusive package - They offer a very nice buffet breakfast served until 11 daily. It included waffles, French toast, nova, bagels, grits, yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, omelets or eggs cooked to order, fruit and more. Coffee was delicious (Starbucks). If you want just a cup of coffee they offer it for free just outside the doors of the main lodge on the ocean side (same area where they serve breakfast)

25. They have several restaurants on the property, Atlantics Edge (pricey); Limoncello (Italian) and
Nikai Sushi as well as the Tiki Bar. If you want to eat at a reasonable time oh let’s say 7:30ish, then make a reservation as soon as possible and as far in advance as possible (especially for Atlantics Edge).

26. Parking for the Lagoon View rooms is right below the rooms - there is an elevator in the center of each unit block and stairs on both ends of the buildings.

27. The property is very easy to walk around - It is an easy walk to the main lodge, pool, golf course, or tennis courts.

28. Lagoon View rooms are very quiet and an easy walk to anywhere

29. Ceiling fans in the room as well as the screened porch. Fan in the room also had light fixture attached. This fan light seemed to have a ghost that operated it from time to time as in the middle of the night it would go on all by itself. I kept forgetting to mention this to the front desk.

30. Four pillows on every bed

31. Late Checkout is available upon request and only if they are not sold out.

32. Lights in the bathroom are on a dimmer switch so you can dim them and use them as a night light

GENERAL DISCUSSION
Arrival and Check-in - See #22 above. Check-in is really a breeze and very personalized. However, after we provided a credit card for incidentals, received our champagne we were told that we could drive to our room and here is where it is located and good luck to us (my words not theirs). No one offered to show us to our room or assist with our luggage although I did see bellmen assisting other guests, hmmmm. It seems to me that everyone should be offered to be escorted to their room and at least asked if they would like assistance with their luggage. Just my 2 cents worth.
Making Reservations for Dinner - The reservation desk for the restaurants is located in the main lodge right behind the check-in area. Their computer system seems to be confusing to the staff as they have 2 computers at the stand and they tend to peer intently at them hopping from one to the other for quite some time before booking the reservation. One time I stood at the counter with 2 people behind it and the manager had to come over to them and ask them if they had greeted me. In addition, one of the staff had their cell phone sitting on the podium and it was going off with text messages.

Restaurants -

Atlantics Edge - Service is excellent. The passion fruit vinaigrette salad dressing is to die for. We were offered many types of bread - olive bread, multigrain, French baguette etc. The lobster bisque had huge chunks of lobster in it. The main courses were as described with ample portions and were tasty. Waitress was very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive.

Limoncello - Caesar dressing did not have much flavor. I had to order more dressing as the salad came a bit dry. Local Seafood Agnolotti lacked any flavor but the ravioli seemed to be made fresh and was stuffed with chunks of seafood. My husband had the seafood with risotto. It was very tasty and he enjoyed it. The waiter appeared to be new, was not too attentive but was very friendly.

Breakfast - See #24. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast outside every morning. We did have one incident however. We arrived for breakfast and were told by the hostess that we could not be seated for 20 minutes as that was how long it would take to clear a dirty table of dishes. Well I walked right over to a dirty table and started clearing dishes on my own to the amazement of the hostess. And would you believe it, one of the staff started helping me and we were able to sits right down. The morning waiters were attentive with pouring delicious coffee and bringing juices and the chef at the omelet station was always friendly and smiling.

ROOMS - Our room had 2 queen beds which were very comfortable. However, the room felt dark with not enough lighting. Housekeeping always cleaned our room while we were at breakfast. The room was extremely clean. Towels are a little lacking though. One would think that at this level of resort that there would be towels that one could wrap entirely around oneself and call plush. But alas that is not the case. Housekeeping left an adequate number of towels every day but one day forgot the bath mat. I mentioned this to one of the check-in staff on our way to dinner and when we arrived back to the room one had already been delivered. That’s service! Turn down service was accomplished every night during dinner and chocolate mints were left on the night table. Rooms were impeccably clean (and I’m very picky) thanks to a very efficient housekeeping staff that were virtually invisible.

EXTRA SHOUTOUT TO A STAFF PERSON
During the course of our stay I needed a makeup pencil sharpener. There was not a pencil sharpener to be found on the property. The front desk referred me to the bellman, the bellman referred me to the sports office and finally I met staff person Misia there. She did not have a sharpener in the sports office but told me that she had a personal makeup sharpener in her handbag. She cheerfully produced the sharpener, disinfected it and allowed me to use it. Misia is a credit to Cheeca Lodge. She was not only helpful and friendly but had the best smile on her face the entire time. Kudos to MISIA!!


LATE CHECKOUT
You can request a later checkout time than the standard 11:00. However, you can only do so the morning of the day you are checking out. They allowed us an extra hour. Our flight wasn’t until evening so we wanted to hang out at the pool. There are showers at the adult pool area so I enquired about the use of a hair dryer and was told by the person working in the Spa that there are none available except for the ones in the rooms. She didn’t really seem like she cared that much as well. I explained that we had to check out and she stated that there isn’t a dryer I could borrow or use. I am sure that there are extra dryers around that they use to replace broken ones and one could have been found. Having one dryer available for guests who have checked out is certainly not too much to ask, in my never to be humble opinion. It’s what I call customer service.

SAFETY CONCERNS
Door to rooms open toward the outside of the room and to the outside of the building. They also do not have any additional security chain or latch. They do have a lever that you turn that I suppose disables the keyless device (I’m not sure that this works but to be honest we did not test it). I personally would have felt safer with a latch or chain on the door. I also do not like room doors that open outward especially when it’s to the outside of the building and I didn’t notice any security cameras outside the rooms.
One day my keyless key stop opening our door and I went to the front lobby and requested a new one. A new one was handed to me immediately without my having to provide proper identification. This is a real safety concern!!!

LOST ITEMS
I left a sweater accidentally on the bed in my room when we checked out in the afternoon. Once I got home the same day and realized I had left it, I called the resort immediately. I contacted the resort and the Director of Leisure Sales, Susan Ashmore, had my sweater found and brought to her. She mailed it out to me at no charge even though I offered to pay for the shipping. Kudos to all the staff involved in finding, and turning in my sweater. Thank you. That’s customer service at its best!!

SUGGESTIONS FOR GUESTS
1. Do bring an umbrella - one is not provided - our little travel one came in very handy
2. If you can, bring a lighted makeup mirror if you use one at home
3. Make dinner reservations at least a day or 2 in advance especially for Atlantics Edge

SUGGESTIONS FOR THE RESORT
1. Require proper ID for key replacement.
2. Install extra safety lock on room doors for added security
3. Provide umbrellas in the rooms or have them available for checkout at the main lodge
4. Provide lighted makeup mirrors
5. Cushions at the adult pool need to be sealed from wetness (after it rained they stayed soaking wet for 2 days). Even with towels on top of them my bottom was dripping wet. - One of the staff at the pool told me that the cushions were going to be re-scotch guarded because of this problem.
6. All guests should be offered to be escorted to their rooms at check-in
7. WiFi strength should be made stronger - It worked best on the screened porch and in the main lodge.
8. Have an extra hair dryer available for guests who need to stay a few hours after they check out.

OVERALL
We had a wonderful stay and I would recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.