We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Islamorada
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary here this past weekend. You're always greeted with friendly staff and a nice little glass of bubbly. The restaurants on site are all delicious. They have 3: Steak and Seafood, Sushi and Italian. If you're doing sushi, be adventurous and let the chef send out some bites, you wont be disappointed.

While the Keys are not the typical wide white sand beach place, Cheeca still offers up some great activities. We went kayaking, fishing, lounging, bike riding and golfing-all included in our room.

Speaking of, the rooms are gorgeous. Spacious, clean and modern.

We have kids, but made this a Mom and Dad thing only. We were pleasantly surprised to find many options for both adults and kiddos if we bring ours next time.

You will have a great get away at this spot!

Room Tip: Main building is great for closeness to restaurants and beach. The other buildings are nice as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    716
    383
    200
    90
    60
See reviews for
438
738
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I spent our anniversary at Cheeca Lodge. What a great choice! From the moment we arrived we were impressed. We arrived long before our room was ready, hoping to spend the morning relaxing at the resort. The helpful and courteous staff -- from the concierge to the waiting staff -- seemed interested in our satisfaction. The information system was prepared to meet us where we were in that before we were even fully checked in, the use of our name was enough to order a meal or schedule a dive.

We have stayed at other "resorts" in the Keys, but Cheeca Lodge delivers. Swimming -- Ocean or pool, fishing, reef snorkeling, kayaking, biking, sailing, golf, tennis the list of activities is beyond what any guest could do in a week.

Even though the Lodge was fully booked, it did not feel that way. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Plenty of space to find your own nook.

The valets were helpful and made us feel welcomed. Room service was quick and accurate. The service staff was there to see that we had an nice visit. They succeeded. We will be back!

Special shout-out to Earl at the gate, the valets, Gabriel at the Atlantic...wow! I could go on, but I think you get the idea.

Room Tip: You will be happy with ANY room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

When we booked our anniversary stay at the Lodge, we didn't know quite what to expect. But from the moment that Earl greeted us at the gate, we knew we were in for a treat. Everyone on property seemed devoted to our comfort and satisfaction. Our King Suite room was furnished with beautiful Tommy Bahama pieces. The food was outstanding, and the staff at poolside even brought us a complementary desert when they learned we were celebrating 18 years of marriage. Biking, snorkeling, sunbathing, a romantic dinner for two, jacuzzi, and a massage at the Cheeca Spa made our weekend complete. Thanks to the management and staff members like Diana and Montavious at the pool, Gabriel & Charlie at the Atlantic Restaurant, and Roma at the Spa for making it a weekend to remember. If you are looking for real luxury in a peaceful part of the Florida Keys...Cheeca Lodge is your destination. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Our King Suite was incredibly spacious and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Cheeca is a beautiful resort and the service is exceptional. My husband and I just returned from a 7 night stay at Cheeca. This was our Honeymoon so we opted for the premium king oceanfront room at the main lodge. It was wonderful...I actually got teary on the day we left.

The room was huge and so clean. You MUST try a midnight bath in the outside tub. Talk about splurging.

The resort is pricey, but I found everything in the Keys to be a bit pricey. However, it was worth every penny.

We can not wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

pros:
the employees: employees were very accommodating and went the extra mile to ensure complete customer satisfaction! Penny who drove the refreshment cart at the beach was quick and helpful in recommending menu items. Heather, the bartender made awesome cocktails and ensured that customers had plenty of water on hand,in between drinks! Paula, the waitress ensured a very pleasant evening/dinner. Bellman were very personable and were able to take us down to the marina which was off property. The spa had great services...the massage therapist were awesome.
Family friendly
Food was very good
amenities at this resort were good: pools, snorkeling, fishing off the pier, kayaks, tennis, bikes
lounge chairs were arranged facing the water--beverage and food service available
property spotless and vegetation lush (love the hidden Jacuzzi)
Cons: no view of water from my room---not that this was guaranteed....but after viewing the property on line thought that this was a given.
pricey
no one was swimming at the beach...not sure if the waters were too cold (November) or if there was another issue.
my bed was very uncomfortable....way too soft
light switches cumbersome and difficult to operatie

Room Tip: try to get a room with view of the ocean! book a massage! stay within the resort--there is plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

On the way down to Key West, we decided to stop and eat and
take an opportunity to look over new renovations.

We were pleasantly surprised by the food quality and service as compared to more than 8 months ago!.

BUT, the spa outside section looks really so not nice.

The pool area is no longer the beautiful place it used to be- the pool deck looks cheaply painted and streaked.

Still, bad music that plays constantly all over the place.

There must be a way for them to connect with their visitors?

Hope no silly corporate non-response response, though - it's the corporate ownership thing that caused the downside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I read all the room reviews and after much thought booked the oceanfront king. We weren't disappointed. The temperature during our stay (November) was so perfect we slept with the sliders open. Imagine the sea breeze blowing in all night, the sound of the waves, and waking to the sunrise over the water. Even though we were right above the beach it was quiet -- and that's with a fishing tournament and a few weddings going on.
Random thoughts:
The food was wonderful.
We took the island cruise offered at the sea activities shack. Well worth it.
The property isn't really that big -- so I wouldn't plan a super long stay. We were there for 5 days and did lots of stuff off the property.
You can borrow bikes, although the ride along the major highway is kind of scary on the bridges.
The toilet water is heated (odd). So the seat is always wet if you leave the lid down (yuck). Leave the lid up and you'll be fine.
Smoking isn't forbidden like at lots of other places. If you are really bothered by smoke, just be aware that folks do smoke on the balconies, beaches and at the outside restaurants & bar. Not enough to be really bothersome -- but again if this is a big deal for you, you should keep it in mind.
Just remember that if you love long walks on the beach, the keys aren't really the place for you.
Seemed kid friendly, and all the kids were really well behaved. Although there were separate adult only areas we didn't really need them.
Wait staff was decent, but don't expect fast service. Hostesses were pretty much universally salty and not helpful. At least they aren't waiting on you!

Room Tip: Ocean front king. If you're going to spend all this money, make it really worthwhile and splurge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.