We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer & Save - 25%!
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Islamorada
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Fantastic resort with beautiful ocean views. We had a fantastic room with two double beds and a sofa bed which was just perfect for three girlfriends on holiday. The shower was amazing and we had a bath on the balcony.

Free coffee and tea is served till late morning. As a very early riser I loved to sit on the beautiful terrace looking out to sea with a coffee in hand. The food was lovely if a little expensive.

The hotel was a 90 min drive from Miami airport and 2 hours from Key West which is worth a visit.

I'd love to come back some day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    653
    358
    189
    81
    59
See reviews for
409
674
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I went at the Florida keys because of a wedding. I had two beautiful days at Cheeca lodge and spa. A really posh place. But too expensive. Unless you love spending money on good food and excellent service. All prices includes nothing, no breakfast, no swimming, no golf. Beautiful, beautiful - but expensive, expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I were looking for quiet time away to relax and Cheeca Lodge turned out to be the perfect location. It's set right on the water with seaside lounge chairs and restaurant service on the beach.There was plenty to do within the complex so we did not need to drive to find entertainment. There are several pools, several restaurants, tennis courts, kayaks, and boating. We had two massages at the spa and they were some of the best we've ever had. Our room was very luxurious and spacious. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and maintained. The staff members were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We had an excellent stay for 3nights everyone was very helpful. The best part was dinner there we had at able overlooking the beach .the service that we received from Gabriel and Jade was impeccable . It was the best meal in Islamorada, can't wait to go back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived early asking to leave our luggage whilst we went snorkelling. We told them we would not be back until 6pm at the earliest. We were told the "room is not ready" we said we were not expecting it to be ready but would like to leave our luggage so it is not left in our car. The lady said fine the luggage will be taken to your room when it is ready.

They called at 3.56 to say the room was ready. We checked in at 6.30pm. The luggage didn't make it to the room. Two other couples checked in a the same time and were offered a glass of champagne, we were not. That really makes you feel like a second class citizen. Maybe because we booked through an internet site. We were charged 2 times the $39 resort fee for 2 days when we checked in at 6.30pm and checked out at 10.45 the following morning. We were told the fee was to use the facilities, so we went to the golf pitch and putt but despite there being people on the course we were told we could not play as the course was closed for annual maintenance. We should have been told that when we booked.
The room was nice, the bed comfy and the shower very good. The food prices in the restaurants were very high. We were really looking forward to this part of our trip because of the price we had paid for a one night stay. Totally disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I spent five days at this property to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We loved it! I cannot say one bad thing about this place. The location is perfect. The staff were all welcoming and pleasant - each and every one we met. The food was delicious. Our room was amazing - we stayed in the Owners Suite. We had a couples massage at the Spa and it was wonderful. Overall, I would definitely recommend Cheeca to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I booked 2 nights at Cheeca Lodge while traveling through the Keys. Check in was @ 4, we got there at 3 and they asked us to wait for about a half hour before our room would be ready. I gave them my cell number and they said they would call me as soon as it was ready. I never received a call so at 415 I went back to the check in desk. They had no record that we were even there. At 445 we finally got our room. Upon entering the room I noticed it was far from clean.... Used coffee in the coffee pot, hair in the shower, hair on the counter, hair on the floor, dirty mirrors, etc. The cleaning crew came back and "re-cleaned" the room while we were out for dinner. I asked to switch rooms but they said there were no other rooms available. The room was still not as clean as I would have liked when we got back. Then, as we were attempting to sleep, a man in the next room was clearly sick, and due to the SUPER THIN walls we got to listen to him throw up and moan all night long. I complained to the manager and asked to be refunded for the night and told him we would not be staying for the 2nd night. Unfortunately, due to paying for this hotel through American Express points, this was not possible. So we paid over $800 for a one night stay that was horrible. I will never go back again.... So disappointing!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Also Known As:
Cheeca Lodge
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Islamorada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Amex, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.