We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average accommodation!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, average accommodation!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

The other reviews of Cheeca Lodge are mixed, and that sums up our experience too. On the positive side, it is in a fabulous location, with good communal facilities. The staff made us welcome and were generally friendly and attentive. The location is one of the best on the Keys, in our opinion, as there are plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

On the negative side, our room did not live up to expectations. We had booked a room by the lagoon based on older TA reviews. It seemed that hardly any body else had reserved a room in that area, so we felt a bit out on a limb! We should probably have booked an ocean view room, with a bath on the balcony as others have recommended. The room was spacious enough but very tired. The decor just felt a bit dull. The bathroom in particular needed attention - we had a hole in the bath which had been plugged with some form of plastic! Very off putting, in fact we didn't use the bath at all during our stay.

We did use the hotel's bar and restaurant. The quality was good, but a little pricey. We would recommend trying Chef Micael's, a short stroll away.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    452
    238
    117
    69
See reviews for
495
862
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel about a year ago and fell in love with it. Gorgeous views, good food, and exceptional service is what we experienced a year ago. However, this time we didn't have the same experience. Off the bat we were in a room on the other side of the hotel so we didn't have an ocean view (I think was our mistake when we were making the reservation). We had to wait a couple days to switch to a room with the ocean view and pay a bit more. We were willing to do that and even extended our stay. The lady who helped us made this happen but I don't think she was proficient at making this type of change. We had to call down to see if the new room was ready and they seemed like it was a big hassle to make the change. The rooms overall didn't seem as clean as we would like. But again for the ocean views we are willing to overlook these things.
Last time the food and service was one of the best parts. This time we were hard pressed to find good food. For the prices you expect to have wonderful food. At breakfast (amazing waffles with a vanilla whip cream) this time around we felt bullied into doing the buffet. My husband isn't a huge fan of buffets. I understand when we got there the first day after normal service and buffet was the only option. But the second morning we were in time to be able to order from the regular menu. I opted for the buffet and while I was in line for my omelet, my husband basically had to argue with the waiter to get what he wanted off the menu. We also had lunch one day and the chicken on my salad was like rubber. The burgers we had on a different occasion were less than desirable too. The bread was almost as dry as bread crumbs.
As far as service-we were greeted with Champagne which was great. After that first contact it seemed as if most of the staff was just annoyed with everything. We missed that welcoming feeling.
I hope the hotel is able to fix the food issues and service issues because we really would like to come back.

Room Tip: You have to make sure it says an Ocean View to be able to see water from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have read the reviews with a mix understanding, but hopefully this will help anyone reading this. Once I arrived, we were greeted (by Name) and champagne. The Bell Hop Brantley was excellence; he catered to all of our needs and beyond. Joel, took such good care of us and was a pleasure, even though he is Caine's fan. lol We checked into our hotel, and we catered to our room, (not newer building) to a building ocean front and older. We were less than pleased with our room, mind you it was a nice room. But, we wanted the rooms in the pictures. Yes, both rooms were water front but the newer buildings rooms were - let’s say Spectacular. The George Bush room is something you have to see too, fan or no fan....its huge a friend has that room.

Joel upgraded us to the newer building, and so glad we did. It was so close to everything. The rooms well, let’s say there OMG real nice. The rooms are so spacious and with the dark wood and light paint color the look so rich, the have the total Tommy Bahamas Feel. The rooms and makes you feel so spacious the TV must be 55 inch or so but we never even turned it on ..Not even for the Miami vs Notre Dame game-- that’s for you Joel...lol
The pool, was exceptional a little crowded since the other one is down for maintenance but not over crowded. We rented a sail boat, and instructor I think her name was Madgeline from NC, she was so awesome. This place treats you so special, and makes you feel pampered. I see it time and time again with other Patrons. The landscape is so amazing, exercise facility is so nice, though the spa was down do to some work, though they did offer massages in other places like the beach. This place offers you endless of things, like cabanas beach front, own snorkeling lagoon, but the best thing ever is the rooms in the new building, my bath tub was on my balcony, as seen in the photos, the water falls from the ceiling, the showers were so large with 3 different shower heads, 5 of your friends could join with plenty of room. The beds were turned down every night, maid service exceptional, pillows were down and memory, four on each bed for you’re choosing. The sliding doors opened giving you about 10ft of open space and about 23ft of total open view.
This is a must stay place, but stay ocean front in the new building and all of your dreams, needs will come true……amazing stay.

Room Tip: top floor ocean front in the new building and you cant go wrong ...wow Ask at this place and you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you are looking to chill out in pampered luxury in the Florida Keys, look no further. Without exception, the staff in this five-star resort are friendly, charming and helpful. Great for families and romantic weekends alike.

A lot of construction put the spa and gym out of action during our stay but hopefully all will be available when high season arrives.

Room Tip: Sea views are at a premium but rooms around the gardens and golf course can be much quieter and chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Truth in advertising would go a long way so that visitors' expectations are met. Internet pics are beautiful and descriptives are well-written, but reality is the truer representation.
The positives: very friendly, unobtrusive staff who are courteous and prompt. The landscaping is beautiful and well-kept. The unit, 640, appeared to have been recently painted and it was quiet. The location is great- an easy drive to Key West or points north. The screened porch with very nice furniture and a fan was a nice place to sit in the evening. It was very nice to have cold, bottled water provided in the unit. The availability of kayaks to use and the 9 hole pitch and putt were appreciated.
The negatives: The unit had only ONE chair, a desk chair that was too low. Another chair was requested and one promptly arrived but it was a very low, large, plastic Adirondack for the outdoors. We brought in one of the porch chairs to use instead. Even a Holiday Inn has two chairs! One bar of soap in the bathroom the first day and only two wash clothes per day were allotted. Towels were adequate. The ceiling fan simply stopped on its own a few times. The lighting was much too dim in both the sleep area and the bathroom. The desk lamp was very dusty, as were the undercounter cubicles in the bathroom. The beds were sloppily made, especially the bed skirts, however, they were comfortable. The "deluxe lagoon view" is really just being able to look down on an widened, undulating, cement gully containing dirty water. It was not lit at night.
What was really bothersome was the fact that the adult pool and the spa were CLOSED. Neither was brought to our attention at reservation time or at check-in. (The reservations were made approximately 3 wks prior to our arrival.) These were the two biggest draws for us! Because the adult pool was closed, the other pool was very crowded; no chaise lounges were available on Friday or Saturday. They were available on the beach but ...two boys playing with a football, someone's music from 20 ft away and a family playing on their oceanfront porch all reminded one of being on a public, crowded beach. The adult pool was greatly missed!
If one is not familiar with the area, be aware that there really is not a beach for swimming. Don't expect the soft sand or crashing waves of Atlantic beaches further up the east coast. There is a fitness room which is adequate for a hotel but hardly state of the art! Upon entering I was invited to join a class (of one) in progress. It was then that I learned there was a fee and a schedule. "Didn't they tell you at check-in and didn't they give you a schedule?". NO.
To say the least, expectations were not met, especially given the cost and the web site's representation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have had the pleasure of staying at many luxury resorts, and this resort did NOT disappoint!!
We "teased" ourselves with only one night with a king suite in the main building.. including the tub on the balcony, and I'll simply say it was well worth the price tag! WOW! Upon booking a reservation do not be attracted to any other rooms, facing golf course views or lagoon views. Pay the extra $$ and you won't be sorry!! We were celebrating my birthday, and what a present it was! The room was spacious.. the view was to die for.. the poolside tiki bar was a treat.. and please do order the fish tacos.. yum!!!! I wish they'd deliver those up to our home on the west coast of Fl?! The hotel asked if we were celebrating a special occasion, and for my birthday they delivered a cheese and cracker tray, complete with fresh fruit and a few chocolate covered strawberries.. with champagne?!! They sure don't miss a thing at the Cheeca.. and I promise you won't be disappointed either!

Room Tip: oceanfront king suite in main building.. the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We had high expectations of our Cheeca stay. Booked a beachside bungalow - unit 520. Things started out great, friendly staff in the main lodge.. Bruce the Valet is awesome totally makes you feel special and welcomed, as does the front gate staff. We check-in and are whisked off to our bungalow. First thing in the room, ceiling fan wobbling and making a horrible noise, a definite no-go if you want any sleep at night. Engineer comes says it can't be fixed but after a couple hours gets the noise out at least. More observations of our room, unlike the main lodge looks like the bungalows are in need of a MAJOR refresh. Cracked toilet, missing knobs on plumbing fixtures, missing pulls on the desk drawer, bar top looks like it was in a flood, beachside private sitting area lights had just the bulbs with no glass covering them. We were given a dining credit for the fan issue and a resort credit for the rest of the stuff, but for a resort of this caliber rooms in this shape should never be sold by the resort to the public... Restaurants at Cheeca are OK, but there are much better options for dining locally.. Do try the blueberry mojito - it is awesome... Cheeca could be so much better, if management was engaged and really was interested in meeting/exceeding expectations.. They failed in this with us...

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We appreciate your review and we want you to know that we are working very hard to address all the issues you had with your beachside bungalow. We sincerely apologize for our shortcomings and our failure to meet your expectations. Our management team and our entire staff is fully engaged in the mission to provide the best possible experience for all of our guests – we are so sorry we did not meet yours.
On the positive side, we are very happy to hear you found our staff friendly and that Bruce and the front gate staff made you feel special and welcomed. You are! Please come back and stay with us again. We will have a blueberry mojito waiting for you at the Tiki Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.