We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheeca Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cheeca Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Cheeca Lodge was an excellent experience. Beautiful location, easy drive from Miami and plenty of activities for everyone. The hotel room is nice, but let's be honest your not there for the hotel room, your there for the beach and pool. The food is great regardless of restaurant chosen and the waiters, waitresses and attendants are as friendly as they come. My only complaint would be the pool beverage service, there could be more waiters to expedite orders and they have to do something with their cruiser bikes. Ours broke down twice and at one point we were 3 or so miles out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your praise of our location, activities, food and staff. We apologize that our pool beverage service was lacking and we researching ways to improve it. We are also looking into our beach cruiser bike inventory and will improve on that as well. Thanks for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    452
    238
    117
    69
See reviews for
494
862
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is Old Florida feel but clean and upscale. We stayed here for my husband's corporate event and we will be back again soon. First, there isn't anyone pickier than me about cleanliness and service. That said, absolutely every employee we encountered from valet, bell, front desk, housekeeping and restaurant was professional, friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. Of particular note, valet Brenton, when asked to point us in the direction of the famous tiki torch path, instead offered to drive us there in the golf cart. He disappeared and in a moment returned with two glasses of champagne and a big smile. He proceeded to tour us all over the property and point out the best places, such as the hidden jacuzzi and tiki island It is a beautifully landscaped and impeccably clean resort. The views are beautiful from the main building, but not from every spot in the property. There are tons of water activities: kayaks, fishing, boating, snorkeling.... Good spa and lovely adults only pools. Neat black and white photos of the old days of the lodge. Great employees who are anxious to share the history of Cheeca with the guests. My room had mini fridge and outdoor tub My room was tremendous!

Room Tip: Stay in the main building and upgrade to ocean view. It is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Don't get fooled into thinking this place is upscale. The beach bungalows look like army barracks from the outside. They are a concrete triplex with no place to lounge out of the sun, no porch or veranda and no landscaping. They have zero ambiance, no outside amenities to enjoy the expensive ocean view and they make no accommodations for guests. We have been waiting to check in for three hours and our misrepresented "bungalow" is still not ready. Management has done nothing to make our accommodations or experience more pleasant. Go to Little Palm Island or The Moorings for a luxury retreat with great amenities and gorgeous views.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel with genuine private beach bungalows and first class amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I’ve read mixed reviews on Cheeca Lodge and I don’t understand. I don’t think these people stayed at the same Cheeca Lodge we stayed at. My husband and I had a wonderful time with no complaints what so ever. Maybe its due to we know the trivial things shouldn’t bother you when your wanting a quiet romantic place to enjoy the sun. who cares if there’s chocolate on the pillow as long as the pillows there when your head needs it and its clean. The grounds are incredible. The food is good. The staff is polite, friendly and helpful. From front desk Bret to Bruce at the bar. Will highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesburg, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here with some friends for a week! The place was so clean and amazing! It seams to be the best place to stay with the kids, they loved the snorkel spot! One of the funest things that I did during my stay is a DON'T MISS!!!! At MM88 beach, we went to Fl Keys Sup for A Sunset Paddle Board...TRULY AMAZING! Dolphins were jumping and the sky was beautiful! I can't wait to go back and stay at the Cheeca Lodge...And go Paddle Boarding!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We upgraded to a massive suite with large balcony and waterfall bath outside - complete luxury!
Lovely sea but such a shame that signs are up advising guests to avoid entering the water. At every other stop in the keys we enjoyed the sea, why is this stretch so different?
We didn't fancy the pool as it was overcrowded and the pool towels looked really grotty and stained.
The mandatory resort fee included use of sea kayaks but for some reason excluded use of snorkels ($10 a day) which seemed odd.
Loungers by the sea were nice, just so tantalising not being able to jump into the ocean...
The service was a little slack - we were told that our bags would be brought to our room and an hour later went and got them ourselves - even then the valet didn't get the hint and try to help us. When we phoned down to have the car brought round that was also ignored, so for the rest of the stay we just self served everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at cheeca - My wife really loved the lush landscaping and I loved the the ocean view from our room. We stayed in the main lodge and we very pleased with our room. Frankie at check in was hilarious and made us feel right at home from the moment we checked in.
The pool was nice, tennis courts were great and we loved renting the bikes for a day and exploring the island. And we quickly found out that cheeca is the nicest property around.

I had a blueberry mojito at the tiki bar - YUUMMMMM. I had to have another. The bar staff seemed friendly and we loved being able to watch the game on the TV. The bartender even changed the channel to accomodate the game we wanted but there were some other people next to us being loud and brash - so we decided to take our drinks down to the dock and watch the sunset - only that we were on the wrong side and couldnt really see it!

We chose to eat at the main restaurant the first night and we were surprised how friendly and accomodating the staff was. We were greeted warmly and felt welcomed and couldnt wait to try the food. Our server was great, she explained the menu and specials and suggested we talk with Nicky to help us with our wine for the evening. Nicky asked a variety of questions and suggested we try something new. We had this spanish red wine and my wife and I absolutley loved it. In fact we loved it so much we had our waitress peel the label off the bottle so we could take it home. When we got home we ordered a case of it!

The food was great - especially the mussels, which our waitress highly recommended. I never liked mussels before I came here. My wife really loved the scallops she had and we wish we would have eaten here again the next night. But instead we went to the italian restaurant, thinnking it would be as good as the first one. However, it was pretty dissapointing. The food was bland, almost watery. I had the veal meatballs and they had no flavor and the sauce was runny almost like a soup broth. My wife had the seafood ravioli which sounded delicious but the flavor was flat and too creamy. We loved our waitress Sherry, though her recommendations we did not like, we did really enjoy the gelato we had after dinner.

We also tried Kaiyo Grill, down the street, it was OK. Nothing special.
Do go to Morada Bay across the street and watch the sunet! It is beautiful.

Overall, we had a wonderful vacation and cannot wait till we can come to the keys again!

Room Tip: Stay in the main lodge! Ask Nicky to help you select wine for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.