We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can't relax here...you're in trouble.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cheeca Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“If you can't relax here...you're in trouble.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 via mobile

We loved this place. It has a huge play pool right on the beach (pretty much), as well as a nearby jacuzzi. A little lagoon is adjacent - which you can slso go in for a dip. And then there's the beach/ocean as well. So many options. Fortunately we had the time.

The resort fee is a bit high,$39, but it includes use kayaks, sail boats, movie rentals, bike rentals, even the golf course (small 9 hole.) My wife and I almost thought we were on our second honeymoon (the only thing stopping us was our three year old!)

I think this is one of those rare places that works for couples with, kids or couples w/o kids. You can walk to great restaurants which are across the street and just a bit up or down the road. (A rarity in these parts.) Again, these are eats that work if you are mit kids or sans the little munchkins. Often they were so friendly, and treated us like locals though we clearly weren't.

Sadly the restaurant on site is very expensive and not the food quality acceptable. Hopefully this will change someday. Meanwhile, just go to outside bars for drinks.

Hotel staff are great, helpful, easy going. There is some formality here in varying degress sepending on the position. We did some "stuff" issues, ie. phone static for the in-room phone, a sticky lock, even the elevator which sometimes didn't open all the way! I just couldn't get myself to care very much about these things because I was having such a great time and was so mellowed out! The place just seems to take all the built up aggravation and stress out of you.

One last thought about the staff - when our walk up call didnt work the day were leaving, some guy knocked on our door at 7:37, 7 minutes after they realized our phone wake-up didn't happen, and with a big smile said 'I'm you're wake up call!' Gotta love that.

In sum...If you can't relax here, you're in trouble. Big trouble!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
We loved your review! We concur; if you can’t relax here, you’re in trouble. We also agree that Cheeca provides the perfect vacation spot for couples and families alike. We are happy you found our staff great, helpful and easy-going.

Cheeca’s resort fee is in line with those of other resorts in our class, and we are glad you took advantage of its offerings. We are also delighted you enjoyed dining in the nearby restaurants. It was disappointing to hear that you only enjoyed our outdoor bar and not our restaurants, but we will use your comments to improve our service.

Come back and “mellow out” again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    452
    238
    117
    69
See reviews for
495
862
20
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at Cheeca Dec 10th for 4 very relaxing nights in a beachfront villa. The room was very spacious and very private located at the end of the property. It was exactly what we wanted, quite, private, and very relaxing. The grounds were fantastic and the resort fees includes the water sports equipment as well. I left after 4 days to go to Hawks Cay and there was NO comparison. I had stayed at Hawks before but The additional cost to stay at Chicca was well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
We are delighted that you found exactly what you wanted here at Cheeca Lodge & Spa: quiet, private and very relaxing. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed some of the many amenities included in the resort fee. Please visit again soon -- we welcome you with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I stopped for one evening on our way to Key West. Gracious staff,nicely appointed room ( a lodge building near the spa) and an inviting outdoor lounge that extends to the water. While the beach is hard packed, it made walking easier and the areas to relax where well appointed. While many resorts charge a "resort fee" the Cheeca Lodge and Spa's fee included tennis, a challenging nine hole golf course, pools for children and adults and the use of some water vessels. The resort was gearing up for the upcoming season so had piles of dirt and sand on the grounds and work was being done at the adult pool. The outdoor eating venue was great for lunch and breakfast. We went off site to eat dinner as there are so many restaurants to try in the area.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room as ours was near the A/C unit, but it also had a view to a man made pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
We are thankful for your kind words. It’s good to hear that you found our staff gracious, and our rooms and grounds nicely appointed. Thank you for your patience as we worked to ready our property for the busy winter season. Please come back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

Fabulous place!
The clerks are very gracious but aside from them, all was fabulous!
And the sushi bar was great! (chat with the sushi chef from Montana(!!!), his story is great!
Oh amd do not leave without trying their 10 thyme smash cocktail!!
A must when in the Keys!
Very romantic...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 via mobile

Been coming here for 6 years. Great place for families, couples, and comfortable room and atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at Cheeca Lodge for the second time recently. Last year had golf view double queen room but this year decided to go with a double queen with the soaking tub with resort view. Even though were were there mid week I was told the lagoon view rooms were all booked but, interestingly, there was only 1 car every day in each of the adjacent buildings which housed the lagoon view rooms! Aside from the tub, which was nice, the room was, probably, in the worst location in the entire resort. We had room 731 so avoid the rooms in that building and the one next to it. Overlooking a building roof of adjacent property and lots of road noise. The golf view room we had last year was much nicer, larger and newer and decidely quieter. I would opt for that room again over the higher priced room with the tub. The resort, however, is lovely with good service. Had a few gliches which were mostly cleared up quickly. The DVD player in the room did not work and the safe did not work. . Could not get any wireless internet even though we could get service in the lobby. Disappointing but not critical. The restaurants are very expensive so we opted to eat elsewhere except for a couple of times. We had desert and capuccino one night and it cost over $40.00 for 2 people. Kind of ridiculous. We ate lunch the day we left and was very good but very expensive. There are several nice restaurants in the area some of which you can walk to easily. For dinner you must try Kaiyo just down the road and also the Green Turtle. Both very good. For breakfast try Mangrove Mike's or Midway Cafe for pastries. I am a big fan of spa treatments but the cost for Cheeca's spa services is totally ridiculous. We live in Connecticut and are no strangers to expensive spa treatments but $140 for a basic facial is out of the question. One last item is the temperature of the pool. Last year was so cold could not even go in. This year was a bit warmer but not warm enough considering the price of the rooms. If you are not a pool fan then no big deal. I do recommend the jacuzzi over by the tennis courts. Says it is only open until dusk but is all lit up and was actually running when we used it after dark one night. Very nice!

Room Tip: Unless you are a big spender and money is no object, obviously, go for the ocean view room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven CT
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We had a lovely visit to Cheeca. The staff were helpful and accommodating. We were upgraded to a lagoon room which was clean and spacious. The bathroom was great with sliding doors looking into the room from the soaking tub. Nice balcony area and lots of light. I certainly have no complaints about our room. One suggestion for management would be to replace the towels with a color instead of the white (we do realize the intent is to reduce chemicals in the water by not bleaching. However, using a greyish towel is never a good feeling and does not scream luxury) The spa was very good. No generic blah treatments here, both the massage and facial were done well with professionalism. The spa desk staff were a little too gossipy for my liking and the waiting room music was broken so the feeling of tranquility was a little marred. Food, basic good (not amazing) but very ok. although I must say the sushi was very good. The grounds are beautiful and I really didnt mind the resort fee as we utilized alot of the things it covered. Service was excellent...late check out was not a problem.....happy smiling staff. Overall a lovely time....

Room Tip: Rooms on the lagoon are very noisy with the sound of the waterfall when the balcony doors are open
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.