We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT AS GOOD AS IT COULD/WILL BE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada to your Saves list
Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   84457 Old Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NOT AS GOOD AS IT COULD/WILL BE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This property looks good from the outside, had an excellent location half way down the keys, and a great beach/marina. We had a large balcony overlooking the ocean. However, the rooms are small, dated, and rather shabby. The carpet was so stained and dirty that we had to put towels down before we walked on it barefooted. Some of the bathroom facilities were rusted, the plug in the tub didn't work, and the water pressure was low. HOWEVER . . . when my husband talked with the manager about these problems, he was told that they are going to do a major renovation, pulling out all the carpet and putting in tile, etc. When? Don't know. But when/if it is done, they'll have a very nice property all around . . . and they took one night off our billing in compensation.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room on an upper floor to have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie_Esterline, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor. The renovation project is scheduled to begin after the Fourth of July Holiday Weekend. We will be starting on the rooms and suites first, then will move on to the outdoor function spaces. Please check our web site through the summer and early fall to see our progress. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    160
    84
    36
    72
See reviews for
92
233
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I'm feeling generous giving 2 stars but it did have a nice view. We asked for ajoining rooms away from the elevator but could not be accomodated. No big deal. We got to the elevator but it was not working. Hoofed it up 3 flights with all our stuff, put the key in the door (yes, metal key) and were greeting by 80s decor including green and brown carpet. Bathroom had rust in the shower, slow draining sink and some hair on the floor. Blinds didn't close fully. Enough with the room, you get the hint. In the morning we asked for pool towels but they were being washed so none were availalble. The pool was small but fine. Chatting with another guest she went on about her room which included a broken toilet seat and shower curtain so dirty she asked for it to be changed. Went to try to hot tub but it was not working. The beach is typical of the keys; rocky. You can't walk into the water from the rock ledge, entrance is from a floating dock. So it is more than dated, it is not well maintained and not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie_Esterline, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for writing your review of our hotel. The property was recently purchased, and we are undergoing a complete renovation of all rooms and the outdoor common areas. We do acknowledge that the property is in need of updating and are awaiting permits to do so. The location of the hotel is fantastic and will be one of the best in Islamorada when completed by late fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I will definitely be returning after our four day stay. Every room has an awesome view of the ocean. The property is very well kept and clean. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Staff was very knowledgeable with directions and advice of what to do. We got a great price on a room with full kitchen. I very much enjoyed the live music by the tiki bar. The beAch, jacuzzi, pool tiki bar were all conveniently located. The food from the tiki bar was delicious I highly recommend their coleslaw side. Overall this a great place with a reasonable price. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie_Esterline, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
I want to say thank you for writing the review on our property. We do have a lovely spot directly on the ocean and have many new updates to the rooms coming soon. Please stop in and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a little dated but had all of the accommodations we were looking for. Not to mention the wonderful view we got from our room. The pool there was also very nice. Overall the hotel was very clean but there were some flies, but it is Florida and I'd be more worried about other bugs. The cleaning service did an excellent job and made the room spotless. The management and customer service was also very nice. Plan to stay again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie_Esterline, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write into Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us. We do appreciate it. Watch for our renovation updates on our web site and Facebook throughout the summer. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent one night here on our way down to key west. The location is good. The swimming pool was small , hardly any amenities. Small but friendly tiki bar by the pool. The rooms are old but very clean and decent size.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie_Esterline, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing Pelican Cove for your brief stay in Islamorada. Please stay with us again the next time you are in the Florida Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great hotel right on the ocean. Fantastic customer service. We had booked a basic room with microwave but on arrival told we had been upgraded to a deluxe room. But it had no microwave and we had but frozen microwave meals with us, so they upgraded us to a magnificent SUITE. Full kitchen including cooker, fridge/freezer and a dishwasher!!
two bathrooms one with shower and one a jaccuzi

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie_Esterline, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our property and most importantly our staff. While all of the suites are oceanfront, the remainder of the Jr. Suites and rooms all have an oceanview as well, and all with private balconies. Thank you again, and please stay with us the next time you are in Islamorada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had an oceanview suite with a kitchen, lots of room. The whole place is old and aged and a Bit costly for the accommodations. The service is good but like the furniture and curtains the staff had been ther too long and were merely going through the motions. They were friendly and helpful but it wasn't a feeling of service but of putting up with you. The TV in the living room was a CRT (old style with tube in the back) and the bedroom had a small flat screen. We did however enjoy the time there and breakfast on the large open balcony was great each morning.
The VIEW is worth the price and the cozy pool and beach area is as relaxing as you want it to be. Bar was by pool and prices were very good. One of the other customers mention a group had an interest in the place and nwould be updating everything, it needs it. But as pricy as it was
I am sure it will be alot more when it is redone. I'll be watching for the change.

Room Tip: If you like old Keys style accomadations. any room with balcony over looking the ocean is fine. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie_Esterline, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. As you noticed, we are undergoing a renovation this summer. Please watch our website and Facebook for the changes that are coming. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada

Address: 84457 Old Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Cove Hotel Marina Islamorada
Pelican Cove Resort Marina Islamorada
Pelican Cove Resort Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.