We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU MUST GO HERE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiyo Grill

Kaiyo Grill
81701 Old Highway (MM81.7), Islamorada, FL 33036
+1 305-664-5556
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 82 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We are a nouveau fusion restaurant, representing eclectic styles of cuisines. We source local and seasonal ingredients to compliment our ever changing menu. We have a wine list that represents 5 continents and over 120 offerings.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“YOU MUST GO HERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is the best place in all of the keys. The sushi is to die for, and I am a sushi snob. All of the food was great. If you are unable to get reservations, just show up and eat at the bar like the locals. The best food in the keys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    86
    38
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“kaiyo grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

good for families. food was fine. not a romantic or quiet place.....very noisy...but mostly due to large families. easy walk from cheeca.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not a real restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We tried for a month to order take out from the place. But they were either closed (Sundays and all public holidays), not doing take out (Friday and Saturday), or just didn't seem to turn up at all! For a restaurant that is only (allegedly) open between 5pm and 10pm I'm amazed that they can cover their overheads. We've now come to the conclusion that it's actually a front for some other purpose. So I recommend that you don't waste your time with this place, and go to one of the many other establishments that actually want to serve you food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Have the sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fresh and delicious sushi dinner. We ate at the bar which was perfect. A great choice if you enjoy fresh food!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King Salmon, Alaska
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb! Wish I lived near it to revisit often!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Florida Keys is a tourist trap, so I expect ho hum food since restaurants aren't trying to capture repeat visitors. This restaurant is a REMARKABLE EXCEPTION! Everyone at my table loved their meal. I could hear everyone at the surrounding tables raving. There were locals and visitors. The place was packed.

There were plenty of wonderful sushi rolls and cooked seafood options. If that wasn't to your liking, there was a range of other land based offerings. Portion size was generous, presentation very nice, prices were fair, and food was delicious!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiyo Grill also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Kaiyo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiyo Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.