We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - Great Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiyo Grill

Kaiyo Grill
81701 Old Highway (MM81.7), Islamorada, FL 33036
+1 305-664-5556
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 83 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a nouveau fusion restaurant, representing eclectic styles of cuisines. We source local and seasonal ingredients to compliment our ever changing menu. We have a wine list that represents 5 continents and over 120 offerings.
East Hampton, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it - Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved it. The food is excellent and the service was very good. The décor is pleasant. We had the Caribbean Ceviche Tacos for starters with the honey Siracha Sauce (packs some residual heat) and they were super tastey. We had sushi Rolls for dinner and were very happy. My favorites were, Mount Fuji, Tuna Squared, Best Crunchy and Sunrise Sunset. Ate here a bunch of times.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    100
    42
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
islamorada, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No fresh catch non local fresh Sushi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

was my favorite for many years, new manegement new menu nothing was right can say how sad
it feels after so many years of good food and awsome memories

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi, and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Excellent sashimi, (toro, salmon, albacore and more)
Great "Grill" (steaks, fish, and appetizers)
Great deserts
One of my favorite restaurants in islamorada.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Took my girlfriend to the keys and while planing a nice dinner found this place. The atmosphere was great. Stained glass tiles bordered the ceiling inside and accented the marine motif. The hostess was very polite and inviting. She even visited our table afterwards to ask if she could give any suggestions on the menu. We had the lobster chowder (delightful! With chunks of lobster and veggies!) to start. Next we had the Kobe beef sliders. They were cooked perfectly (medium rare +) very juicy, and excellently seasoned. I even opened one slider and noticed that the cook put diamond shaped grill marks on each tiny burger! We both love beef carpaccio so we HAD to order the beef on weck. Absolutely delicious! We had the drunken scallops for our entree. Again, amazing! Perfectly cooked and seasoned. Lobster mashed pots were to die for!
I give this place two thumbs up! Can't wait to return!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“awkward”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Last time i went here was also my first time and it was about 8 months ago. When we arrived a couple of old friends of ours also arrived, they were on their own little date just like we were. The hostess or waitress whatever she was said oh you guys are friends you sit together. Before we could say no she put our tables together and we all sat there. It was soo awkward, none of us really wanted to say um were kind of doing our own thing. It was awkward eating like 2 inches from them because were weren't technically at the same table just sitting "near" each other. I don't know she completely ruined my evening i felt it was very unprofessional. She knew we werent there together we asked for a table for 2! On top of that the sushi really wasn't that good, it was room temp. Drinks were watered down. I live down the street and still have never returned.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiyo Grill also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Kaiyo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiyo Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.