We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of History of Diving Museum

History of Diving Museum
82990 Overseas Highway, at MM 83, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-664-9737
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 20 attractions in Islamorada
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Groton, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stumbled upon this non-profit attraction and were very interested with the exhibits. Would recommend it to others.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    62
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Since I'm pregnant it was hard for my husband and I to find many things to do, but we decided to check this museum out. We are not divers, but it was still really cool to look at and learn. It's something different, but it worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A scuba diver's MUST SEE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

a long time local, some days the wind blows & you can't go diving- this place place has collected A LOT of memorabelia. My 4 year olds liked it & my husband, who retired from scuba instruction loves it as well. Great rainy day activity in the fabulous florida keys!!!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting even for the non diver!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I visited this museum with my parents who are both keen divers. I found the history of diving very interesting and also scary.....shocking to realise how small a part scuba plays in the history of diving....you'll have to visit to find out more!!

Also great gift shop with some really unusual items.

We were also lucky to be able to attend a very interesting evening talk at the dive museum too - keep your eye out for information on their facebook site

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a couple hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

loved seeing the old hard hat dive suites. Very interesting displays, people that worked there seem to be very passionate about the sport of diving. A must see for any diver.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed History of Diving Museum also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to History of Diving Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage History of Diving Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.