We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of History of Diving Museum

History of Diving Museum
82990 Overseas Highway, at MM 83, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-664-9737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Attractions in Islamorada
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a great stop for the diver or even someone thats never dunked their head under water. A massive collection of dive gear and artifacts. Well worth a look.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    74
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very cool from a divers POV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Small lil museum but packed with diving information and a cute little gift shop. We had a blast walking around and learning about the history of diving plus some of the newer marvels that have come out in the last few years. Definitely recommend it for any divers!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“omg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

this was so cool. when you walk in you go throu a door that looks like a sumarine it so cool there is so many cool things there

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little marvel. It is packed with gear from the early days of diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

As diver I felt compeled to visit this unique museum but without much expectation. However, I was impressed by the huge collection of diving related objects, from the very early times of diving to current times going through fishing, wrecks, construction, deep, technical, etc. It deserves to invest a couple of hours to really see all what it has to offer.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stop in the keys.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Wasn't sure how I or my 12 y/o daughter would enjoy this place. We are divers but I was never expecting the incredible depth of this place(pun intended). Worth every penny of the visit. The volume of historical artifacts from diving all over the worl is just incredible. Has the most complete collection of commercial/military diving helmets on display. Definitely worth the stop and a couple hours of your time while in the keys. Staff was friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed History of Diving Museum also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to History of Diving Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage History of Diving Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.