We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“omg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of History of Diving Museum

History of Diving Museum
82990 Overseas Highway, at MM 83, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-664-9737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Attractions in Islamorada
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ohio City, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“omg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

this was so cool. when you walk in you go throu a door that looks like a sumarine it so cool there is so many cool things there

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    75
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little marvel. It is packed with gear from the early days of diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

As diver I felt compeled to visit this unique museum but without much expectation. However, I was impressed by the huge collection of diving related objects, from the very early times of diving to current times going through fishing, wrecks, construction, deep, technical, etc. It deserves to invest a couple of hours to really see all what it has to offer.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stop in the keys.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Wasn't sure how I or my 12 y/o daughter would enjoy this place. We are divers but I was never expecting the incredible depth of this place(pun intended). Worth every penny of the visit. The volume of historical artifacts from diving all over the worl is just incredible. Has the most complete collection of commercial/military diving helmets on display. Definitely worth the stop and a couple hours of your time while in the keys. Staff was friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wow... I had no idea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had no idea how long we have been diving. Do you? It was crude and there had to of been lots of issues but people have been diving for over $&@ years. You have to go to find out and you will be amazed. I had no idea this place existed until I was on a dive trip to Florida and saw the sign as I drove by. I had to stop and I was shocked. It is very, very well done with professional displays representing the timeline of human diving.... And it is amazing what we have done getting to our safe, modern equipment. You have to go here if you are in the keys and love diving.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A really great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As a scuba instructor & my room mate is is a beginner diver, we appreciated seeing an awesome collection of vintage gear giving a complete history of diving up to today's gear.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed History of Diving Museum also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to History of Diving Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage History of Diving Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.