We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop in the keys.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of History of Diving Museum

History of Diving Museum
82990 Overseas Highway, at MM 83, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-664-9737
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 20 attractions in Islamorada
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stop in the keys.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Wasn't sure how I or my 12 y/o daughter would enjoy this place. We are divers but I was never expecting the incredible depth of this place(pun intended). Worth every penny of the visit. The volume of historical artifacts from diving all over the worl is just incredible. Has the most complete collection of commercial/military diving helmets on display. Definitely worth the stop and a couple hours of your time while in the keys. Staff was friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    62
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wow... I had no idea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had no idea how long we have been diving. Do you? It was crude and there had to of been lots of issues but people have been diving for over $&@ years. You have to go to find out and you will be amazed. I had no idea this place existed until I was on a dive trip to Florida and saw the sign as I drove by. I had to stop and I was shocked. It is very, very well done with professional displays representing the timeline of human diving.... And it is amazing what we have done getting to our safe, modern equipment. You have to go here if you are in the keys and love diving.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A really great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As a scuba instructor & my room mate is is a beginner diver, we appreciated seeing an awesome collection of vintage gear giving a complete history of diving up to today's gear.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time Above Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Some friendsrecommended checking this museum out while my wife and I were in the Keys on vacation. We are both divers but she originally had no interest in going. After bad weather cancelled our dive I talked her into going, and she loved it. If you have any interest in man's exploration of the oceans this is a must do.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nicely done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I did not think i would enjoy this but it proved to be quite nice. I enjoyed the exhibits tremendously. it is well worth the time and inexpensive admission. we were fortunate enough to happen upon it on a night that there was a guest lecture being done and this was wonderful! it ended up being a highlight of the trip. though i feel i am knowledgeable I was blessed to learn a great deal more info. what a rare place!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed History of Diving Museum also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to History of Diving Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage History of Diving Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.