We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut Cove- Mom & Pop resort in the Keys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Cove Resort and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Cove Resort and Marina to your Saves list
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   84801 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
GreenLeadersSilver level
Machipongo, Va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Coconut Cove- Mom & Pop resort in the Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

I read some of the negative reviews posted on TripAdvisor and almost did not book here, but had limited choices because I was traveling with a cat. I must say I enjoyed my stay and I'm sorry those other folks had a bad experience. I found the staff to be very friendly, the room clean and comfortable, and the location beautiful. However, it you're looking for the Marriott this ain't it!. Coconut Cove is the typical Mom and Pop resort you can find all thru the Keys. Family-oriented, pet-friendly, built in the 50s. I stayed in one of the Captain's Cottages. My cottage had a mini kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, an apartment-sized stove, sink, microwave, dishes, pots and pans and a small dinette set. The window a/c units put out plenty of cold air, the shower had HOT water, there was cable TV. Everything was clean. Property is on the water with lovely sunrises, lots of birds, all sorts of watercraft rentals, a small boat ramp, and a wonderful pool with a waterfall. If you are looking for fancy digs, you probably won't like it here, but for clean, basic accommodation at a reasonable price, you can't beat it.

  • Liked — location, pet friendly, price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    42
    10
    11
    17
See reviews for
56
66
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

My better half and I left Montreal, Canada June 20'08 on the Harley Road King (pulling a trailer), we made it to the Keys on the 23rd. We were flying by the seat of our pants, no reservations etc....we pulled into Coconut Cove Resort on the Harley and inquired about the price etc....and we were very pleased with what was quoted, and even more so that we were able to stay there for the nine nights we had planned in the Keys. Magda (the owner) was extremly nice and accomadating, she did however (before we signed or paid for anything) warned us about the potential ANT problem if we were to LEAVE FOOD OUT and that there was no actual beach front (but hey, it's the Keys) there are beaches all over the place, Founders Beach is only ten minutes away and Coconut Cove issues a Free Pass to all it's guests. We stayed in one of the little cottages which have a kitchenette, mico, coffee machine, two beds, your own little patio and picnic tble. The room was made up every day with clean sheets, towels, soaps and shampoo etc. The staff was always very nice. For Bob and I, we found the cottage cosy and comfortable and the resort to be very family oriented. We had absolutely no problems with anything and are planning to return again in the future.
Bottom line.......we were on vacation.....we wanted a place to lay our heads at night, somewhere that would not cost us an arm and a leg, the price and Atmospher at COCONUT COVE RESORT was perfect.
Again, we would like to Thank Magda, Paul and all the staff for making our first trip to the Florida Keys a memorable one!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Myers Fl.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

They rates are sick I threw money away for crumbs in drawers,candy and nails under the beds. Thing running everywhere lizard and ants and who know what else. Not up -dated since the early sixty. AC. did not work. Thisplace is scary. I was afraid to put my dog down. Bathroom clean? I clean for a living and this place was not clean enough for a dog.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

The wedding could not have been more beautiful. Every detail was an instant memory. Your experience really showed. Your ability to handle every detail allowed us to just relax and enjoy our daughter's special moment. From the vows at sunset to the fireworks over the water to the fabulous banquet, everything exceeded our expectations. Thank you, Paul and Magda!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

Half finished and/or slapped together construction throughout the "Resort." None of the furniture matches in the rooms, I've seen better at the Salvation Army. Dirty old linens, towels and comforter. Ants in the rooms.

No place for your boat at the so called "Marina." Fend for yourself here. All slips are leased out to fishing guides, but they don't tell you that when you inquire about boat space availability at the Marina during your stay.

Shut down the pool without notice because of a wedding without any regard for other guests not attending the wedding.

Too many places in Islamorada that are actually "Resorts" for the same price or cheaper. Check their Better Business Bureau rating, I wish we did!

Don't try to get your money back to go elsewhere, your stuck here for the duration.

Worst vacation of our lives! Save yourself the trouble...........

Avoid At All Costs!

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

We have traveled by car across the country three times and have stayed in a myriad of hotels, motels, and inns. This place rates among the worst especially for the price.

They require that you prepay for your stay which we booked for six nights at nearly $200/night. Unfortunately, the minute you arrive, prior to seeing your room, they have you sign a form stating that you will not receive a refund should you decide to check out early - this should have been an indication of what to expect.

The "new" building was completed several years ago - upon opening the door to the lobby area, you are almost knocked over with the smell of bleach - this smell was a constant each time you enter the building. As you go up the stairs and down the hall, you will notice that despite the bleach smell, the place is not really clean - walls, door pulls, etc are all filthy.

We entered the room and except for the floors and the bathroom, the place was worn and dank. The worst part is the linens. They only change the sheets when they change customers - and the sheets on our bed had what appeared to be blood spots and grime - I wouldn't have believed that they were even clean except that I saw them replacing sheets as other victims, I mean customers checked out, therefore I will give them the benefit of the doubt.

The towels had scuffs and holes from wear. I think i've seen more updated linen at Motel 6. I was truly concerned of scabies!

They should have saved some of the money they spent on the marble/tile and used it for new linens - the tile doesn't match the balance of the hodge podge bedding, picture (hangin by its torn canvas), circa 1965 tv, etc. Also, did I mention the twin bed that was next to the queen? It was a mattress on springs that swallowed you whole when you sat on it - the dog didn't seem to mind which is about the only guest that would sleep on it.

No phone in room or internet hook up on property. No beach access. "Marina" (small area for boats) was overly crowded and at times impossible to pull our 17 foot boat into.

On a positive note, if you are looking for an amazing restaurant in the area, go to Lazy Days (we ate there twice and were extremely pleased on both occasions) over by Bud and Mary's Marina - also tarpin feeding at Robbies is worth the trip. Strongly recommend accommodations elsewhere though. Safe travels.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

We recently had our daughters' wedding at Coconut Cove and want to say that everyone is raving about it being the best wedding they ever have attended. The owners Paul & Magda Bates cater to your every whim. They want to ensure that everyone, especially the bride and groom, are at ease and the entire affair goes off without a hitch. They provide all the services you may need, especially for a destination wedding. All you need to bring is your bathing suit and suntan lotion. It is the way the Fl. Keys are meant to be enjoyed. I can't thank them enough for making this wedding an event nobody will be able to match.
Viv & Jay 5/10/08

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Need larger pool towels
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Cove Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cove Resort and Marina

Address: 84801 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cove Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 7 acres nature preserve, Coconut Cove Resort & Marina exudes a "Caribbean vibe ," offering visitors a quiet, secluded escape at a surprisingly affordable rate. The lowest-priced of the 20 rooms are the Captain's cottages with a full kitchen and picnic table right in front of the room. General's rooms are situated in the more modern building, and are ideal for larger groups and wedding parties (which the resort specializes in). Ceremonies take place on select weekends and come complete with an evening fireworks display.Beautiful sunning beach overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, complimented by a zero-entry outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. Within walking distance there is boat, wave runner, kayak rentals. Situated in the heart of Islamorada with many restaurant and bars, Theater of the Sea, and the Geological Park within walking distance Coconut Cove is the perfect place to have fun. Complimentary coffee and Danishes are offered each morning along free parking and maid service daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Cove Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cove Resort And Marina Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Cove Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.