We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly More Than What We Needed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Cove Resort and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Cove Resort and Marina to your Saves list
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   84801 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exactly More Than What We Needed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was peace, this was relaxation, this was getting away...while being perfectly located in the middle of all of the best action in Islamorada. Patty went above and beyond in helping us, and she made it feel more like home than like a resort. She was extremely friendly and great to talk to. As for the resort itself, the grounds always kept you in a keys state of mind, and I loved it at night- the giant tiki huts and festive lighting set the perfect keys vibe. And walking out two the farthest jetty and sitting at night- perfect sky gazing. We were within a few miles of everything we needed off the resort, including great food and water sports. My 5-year-old son still can't stop talking about it- the pool is ideal for kids, like a Disney pool. The fish pond was a hit, the dwarf attack chickens were a hit and the big iguanas were a hit. Thanks, Patty!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    43
    10
    11
    17
See reviews for
57
68
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southern california
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Three weeks ago my daughter got married at Coconut Cove Resort. Family and friends are still talking about what a great wedding it was. The bride's family is from Southern California so we are used to beautiful beach settings but we were blown away at the beauty of the wedding location. Everything was perfect from the moment we checked in on Friday until we left on Monday after Sunday wedding. We had the whole resort to ourselves. We had our rehearsal dinner at the resort where we also had a BBQ pit to roast marshmallows. We had full use of their bar to store and serve drinks. Patty, the manager was GREAT! She made sure we had everything we needed. She was always there when I needed her. Now the wedding. Paul and Magda know how to throw a wedding. Everything was beautiful from tables to flowers to the benches with pillows. The food was excellent and plentiful. We primarily dealt with Magda in wedding planning and she's an absolute delight to work with. My daughter wanted the fireworks and I thought we didn't need them, but I was wrong. They blew everyone away especially since they were unexpected. The whole wedding weekend couldn't have been any better. Thank you Magda, Paul and Patty for a wonderful wedding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconutcove85, Owner at Coconut Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
We were truly delighted to read your great review. Thank you for taking the time and share your exceptional wedding experience with us. Your daughter, family and friends were delightful to work with and we look forward to see them back celebration fun times in the Florida Keys. I am sure we all agree that our staff are our “best attribute” and we are extremely proud of them. I do want to express my sincere appreciation for you for noticing our team and their efforts in making your guests experience the best . Your kind observations are very much appreciated. Looking forward to see you back!
Warmest Regards,
Paul & Magda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

There are a lot of resort options in the Keys but throughout the years we have come to realize that ambiance and staff make the difference.We used to run a small motel in Key Largo and know that there is a fine art to making a place feel warm and inviting. This place is amazing! Patty goes out of her way to make you feel like you are on a 'once in a lifetime' vacation! Honestly, would not recommend any place else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconutcove85, General Manager at Coconut Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
I just finished reading your review and cannot wait to forward it on to our staff. We all get so much pleasure and inspiration from reviews like yours that let us know that we made your stay wonderful and we gained you as a loyal guest to Coconut Cove Resort. We are humbled by your great comments and your views of the resort . Thank you for these wonderful comments and for taking the time to share this valuable feedback with TripAdvisor. We look so forward to your return!
Sincererely, Paul & Magda Bates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I travel to the Florida Keys once in a while, and never stayed at the same place. This time I choose the Coconut Cove Resort. Maybe what stands out first is the great Swimming Pool area with that huge waterfall, and the little private beach right next to it. Since I have a small boat and a Waverunner, the on-site boat ramp comes very handy. Another reason I choose this resort over others in the area was the competitive rate. Yet best, I was positively surprised with the great and friendly service I got from all employees during my stay. Usually I like to try new places, but I may choose this resort again, all was just great. THANK YOU ALL

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Park, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I were married at Coconut Cove Oct.16, 2012 and we can not rave enough about the dedication, attention to detail, and amazing customer service the owners Paul & Magda Bates and their staff displayed to our 90 plus guests. The resort was booked by our family for our wedding and were greeted every morning with coffee and a smile from Patty. Patty would gather us every morning for the fish feeding at 10. I highly recommend Coconut Cove to anyone thinking of getting married in Islamorada, it is an amazing setting that offers fireworks, and the best of the best vendors. The Bates go above and beyond and make you trully feel special. We celebrated from 530 to 1215 and were free to continue as long as we wanted to. All of our guests rave about the atttention to detail that was provided, it was TRULLY AMAZING:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This property was chosen for a small beach wedding we attended. Location was perfect and the staff were as accommodating as they could be. The manager, Patty did everything she could do to please all of the family and friends that stayed at the resort. Rooms were clean and typical for a island destination. Some of the extra bedding in the rooms needs to be updated like the single beds.They should upgrade more rooms to accessible for older clientele or for those who may be truly handicapped. I think they have one which is typically used for the bride when there is one on property.

I would return to this resort and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The staff was very friendly. The pool was delightful but the pool area needed to be swept. The rooms need attention, which I did speak to the manager about and they were receptive to our problems, did not take it personally. There were ants in our room, we requested another room, there were ants in the next room too. The rooms have great jacuzzi tubs ! The outside area is lovely , very relaxing! Unfortunately there was no restaurant at the resort but there were places to eat not far from resort. Overall we were comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Cove Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cove Resort and Marina

Address: 84801 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cove Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 7 acres nature preserve, Coconut Cove Resort & Marina exudes a "Caribbean vibe ," offering visitors a quiet, secluded escape at a surprisingly affordable rate. The lowest-priced of the 20 rooms are the Captain's cottages with a full kitchen and picnic table right in front of the room. General's rooms are situated in the more modern building, and are ideal for larger groups and wedding parties (which the resort specializes in). Ceremonies take place on select weekends and come complete with an evening fireworks display.Beautiful sunning beach overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, complimented by a zero-entry outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. Within walking distance there is boat, wave runner, kayak rentals. Situated in the heart of Islamorada with many restaurant and bars, Theater of the Sea, and the Geological Park within walking distance Coconut Cove is the perfect place to have fun. Complimentary coffee and Danishes are offered each morning along free parking and maid service daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Cove Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cove Resort And Marina Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Cove Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.