We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great pool, rooms need attention.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Cove Resort and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Cove Resort and Marina to your Saves list
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   84801 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, great pool, rooms need attention.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly. The pool was delightful but the pool area needed to be swept. The rooms need attention, which I did speak to the manager about and they were receptive to our problems, did not take it personally. There were ants in our room, we requested another room, there were ants in the next room too. The rooms have great jacuzzi tubs ! The outside area is lovely , very relaxing! Unfortunately there was no restaurant at the resort but there were places to eat not far from resort. Overall we were comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    53
    18
    15
    20
See reviews for
71
88
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a wondering time staying at the Coconut Cove during the weekdays in October. The grounds were beautiful, and we felt as if we were on a deserted island. You can sip on your drink while laying out in the sun, or enjoy the "byob" tiki bar. Although the cottage we stayed in was a bit older, it was clean. Our experience here was more memorable due to the warm hospitality extended by the staff. Thank you, Patty, for making everything so pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Harbor Islands, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Coconut Cove was the answer to having a beautiful Keys wedding and a place for our local and international guests and families to spend a few days together. I would encourage readers to contact me regarding many of the difficulties with Coconut Cove leading up to the wedding. That being said, the wedding was beautiful and the food and decor were great. Paul and Magda, your hosts and wedding planners have a very "cookie cutter" approach to wedding planning, so be prepared to be VERY specific if you choose to "break the mold"! The 20 rooms are half (10) acceptable and half (10) deplorable! The ten quirky motel rooms are the newer rooms and are housed in a building of their own. The bridal "suite" is only a "suite" if you purchase 2 rooms. One has a king size bed and jacuzzi tub and no shower and the adjoining room has a shower and smaller sleeping accommodations. The other ten rooms are small cottages (with kitchens)spread around the property. They are old and in horrible shape. The paint was peeling, the showers were moldy and dirty, there were actually holes in the walls aroung the shower and ants in the bathroom and kitchen area. The linens and towels were old, ragged and mismatched. I was the hostess for our 4 day stay, so I occupied cottage #10, figuring it would be the most central for entertaining during the non wedding times. The location was optimal, but the old stove in my cabin proved useless! Three of the four burners did not work at all, and after about an hour, I gave up on trying to bring some water to a boil on those tepid, barely warm coils. The days and evenings..... once outside your rooms... are lovely at Coconut Cove. There is a wonderful pool area and our hosts allowed us to serve refreshments, lunch and BBQ on their grill (with our supplies). A word of caution there, though.... you might want to bring your own grill as the grill is built into a space that appears large, but the actual grill space is very small, and I think we were the only ones to have cleaned it in awhile. We were permitted to use the "tiki bar" area to serve our guests drinks, snacks and brunch (that we supplied) during non-wedding times as well. Again, I welcome contact to personalize your individual concerns, but at the end of the day, Coconut Cove puts on a great wedding!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had my wedding there on Saturday, September 1, 2012. In all the reviews you read how fabulous this place is, and I agree 100%. Coconut Cove made my wedding weekend fabulous and memorable! My friends & family who have traveled all over the world have said this was one of the best weddings EVER!!
Thank you so much Paul, Magda, Patty & crew!! :D

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Came to Coconut cove to attend a wedding although i didnt stay we had the rehersal dinner and wedding and reception on the grounds Food was amazing and i dont think the bride and groom could have had a more perfect wedding from the set up of the tables and alter to the release of butterflies and dancing under the moonlight with tiki torches and FIREWORKS!!! AHHMAZZZING!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Found this place by accident. Patti showed us around prior to our making the reservation. She was extremely helpful. Our room was clean, updated with a wonderful view. Will definitely stay there again!!! Beautiful grounds!

Sheryl

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was on August 10 in the room 10 and this deplorable, dirty,the kitchen was inside the sleeping area,shower curtain is full of mold, it was raining and it is filled with water in front of the door,and the roof began to wet about de fan ,the only good thing is the swimming pool

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconutcove85, Front Office Manager at Coconut Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We sincerely regret to note such disappointment, especially considering that we promptly arranged for a different room so you and your family could be relocate immediately.

Despite concerns you have shared, we are pleased to note that you liked our zero entrance swimming pool. We are proud to welcome back so many guests from year to year who come to enjoy our breathtaking surroundings, and indeed so much more.

Unfortunately we learned that most of the issues you mention on your review came only after our staff have asked you about the many unregistered guests that were on your room. The type of room that was rented could comfortably accommodate 4 adults instead it had more that twice the number of people permitted for such a room.

Training and development of procedures for our staff are an integral part of our property’s ongoing commitment to offer the highest levels of hospitality possible to each of our valued clients. Once again, I am terribly sorry that you left the resort with a negative impression.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#3 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada
3.2 mi away
The Moorings Village and Spa
The Moorings Village and Spa
#1 of 20 in Islamorada
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
3.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cove Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cove Resort and Marina

Address: 84801 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Islamorada
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cove Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 7 acres nature preserve, Coconut Cove Resort & Marina exudes a "Caribbean vibe ," offering visitors a quiet, secluded escape at a surprisingly affordable rate. The lowest-priced of the 20 rooms are the Captain's cottages with a full kitchen and picnic table right in front of the room. General's rooms are situated in the more modern building, and are ideal for larger groups and wedding parties (which the resort specializes in). Ceremonies take place on select weekends and come complete with an evening fireworks display.Beautiful sunning beach overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, complimented by a zero-entry outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. Within walking distance there is boat, wave runner, kayak rentals. Situated in the heart of Islamorada with many restaurant and bars, Theater of the Sea, and the Geological Park within walking distance Coconut Cove is the perfect place to have fun. Complimentary coffee and Danishes are offered each morning along free parking and maid service daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Coconut Cove Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cove Resort And Marina Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Cove Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.