We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuna nachos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Grill

Island Grill
85501 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-664-8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 82 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tuna nachos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Tuna nachos - don't miss them. Fresh, flavorful - a healthy and hearty meal. I never miss a chance to stop in for a quick meal when passing through the Keys. Service is always friendly, food is always fresh. Love the view. Worth a trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGrillGM, General Manager at Island Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Tuna is brought in fresh daily. So glad you had the opportunity to try our signature dish. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    248
    93
    49
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SR
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lived up to the hype!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

On our latest trip to the keys we opted to eat in for most of the trip. One of our exceptions was this highly recommended place by most of the locals. Staff was typical keys. Our hostess seemed a little temperamental, but our waiter did a great job.
Our conch fritter appetizers and our main courses were very good. Many locals spoke about the tuna nachos, but we opted not to get them. Even though the website does not give prices the price ranges from about 15 to 30 dollars a plate.
We will definitely go back in the future if we have a chance. The portions were large and the variations of seafood were nice for a change

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGrillGM, General Manager at Island Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Island Grill. We are so happy we lived up to your expectations. Please let me know who your waiter was so I can pass along your compliment to him. I'm sorry your thought the hostess was tempermental. Honestly she can be. She is a perfectionist. She tries to satisfy every guests request and sometimes you just can't sit everyone where they want especially in our busy establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lunch on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is my second time coming to the Island Grill. It is a great little outdoor place on the water. The food is very tasty. The prices are very reasonable. The waitress was good, I just felt that she didn't go above and beyond for us at any point, and considering there were only about 5 or 6 tables of people at that point, she could have been a little more attentive. My kids had shrimp tacos and really loved them. I had an amazing mahi sandwich! Fresh, tasty! This is somewhere we would definitely come again, but I think mainly for lunch!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGrillGM, General Manager at Island Grill, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are so glad you had the chance to have Mary as your server. She is one in a million. We hope to see you again and join us on the water for another great lunch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!! So fresh!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Has variety for both fish eaters and non - fish eaters!! Has great variety of sandwiches from ribeye, grilled chicken to blackened mahi-mahi. Perfect cool and casual dining. Great for family!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGrillGM, General Manager at Island Grill, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Island Grill. Yes our fish is brought in fresh daily. I'm glad you had the opportunity to dine with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Pitstop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We were driving along desperately looking for somewhere nice to stop and saw this. It was a good decision. We sat outside in the beach area. There's always something going on - boats coming and going etc. as we waited for our order.

We had virgin cocktails - and I got the leftovers too! The food came promptly enough. The calamari portion was very generous; the two other meals were more as to be expected.

The service was generally relaxed and friendly. Overall, a good choice for our stop. P.S. A shout out for Mary and Mary's dad!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGrillGM, General Manager at Island Grill, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Island Grill. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Grill also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.