We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Bed & Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
114 Palm Lane, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Friendly Bed & Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Secret garden room. Room was not small, but there was not a lot of place to put our stuff.
The airco worked fine, but was noisy.
Breakfast was good and it was nice to have it at our own terrace. Parking in front of the house.
Running from this place is possible on the bikelane of the highway but boring as you don't get to see much of the water.
We spent two nights here. The first evening we had a nice dinner with sunset in restaurant 88 (MM 88) and the second evening we had great burgers at M.E.A.T. (with very tasty home made sauces).
Info in the room about wifi was not correct, but when we asked and got a different code, wifi worked fine.
Jennifer gave us a lot of information.
The setting of the house was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    39
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
7
179
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Casa Thorn islamorada as a way of breaking up the drive to Key West. It was easy to get to and we founf Thorn, Jennifer,Jj and Beau to all be quite nice. Our 9 lb puppy was welcomed and was quite comfortable staying with us! Mom & Dad stayed in the secret garden roo and we stayed in Bombay so we were able to all enjoy breakfast out in the secret garden at the larger table together. Beau prepared pancakes one day and french toast the next along with a good cup of coffee. Jennifer had good suggestions for dining.

There weren't other areas to relax together and limited seating in the rooms but a pool area was available to sit outside if we had wanted to. The garden areas were nice however some of the decking was a bit loose though it did not cause any issues for us.

There did not seem to be any services to the rooms between nights - might have appreciated a quick sweep to the tile floors to get leaves up or even provide door mats. Also, to change out
towels if needed. We used the wineglasses butthey did not even get rinsed out between (other thanwhat we did) - for the price it would have been good to have a bit of refreshing between nights. We hung up our towels to reuse but there were wet towels on our parents' floor all night due to them needing to help co trol the water flow from the shower the first morning.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay and always appreciate experiencing different tastes, styles and accomodations around the country. At this point, we would not return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bombay which was quite interesting - really enjoyed all of the garden areas around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThornIslamorada, Owner at Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize to you & your family for the lack of service on Thursday, March 21st. During season it's hard to find a good day to allow the staff time off. After an 8 day stretch, JJ had that day off. Due to the lack of communication, regretfully, service was overlooked. Once again, I do sincerely apologize and appreciate the kind things you had to say.
Just so you know, there is a screen door on order for the Bombay room and the decking is being repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked two nights in the morocon room and can't express our disappointment. It was the weirdest, yuckiest bed and breakfast I have ever seen. The decor was not romantic as described, but scary! We expressed our feelings to the owner, she wouldnt refund our money and we had no intentions on sleeping there. We left and will fight the $500 charge. The place is in a nasty looking neighborhood too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were very disappointed with the B&B. We were to stay in The Bombay room for one night and then continue on to Key West for a weeks stay. The room as well as the bathroom had a very musty smell, and it did not live up to the beautiful photos on the website. The exterior sitting areas and the pool are very run down and in need of repair especially the decking. We are both animal lovers, however pups and their business need to be off to the side and off of the wood decking. We were not able to stay there and left hoping to find a nights stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALLACE
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent a very restful two nights at the Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast in the Moroccan Room. Breakfast was served outside at a table near the entrance to your room. Lovely, loved that. Very accomodating for Celiacs (Gluten Free).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend picked out Casa Thorn, and we were nervous that the Moroccan Room wouldn't be as beautiful as the photos online. Once we arrived, we were more than delighted that the room was exactly as it's pictured. We spent 7 glorious nights in the tastefully and inspiring decor of Casa Thorn with their helpful and friendly staff. I highly recommend Casa Thorn to anyone who may be staying in the Florida Keys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Came upon Casa Thorn here at Trip advisor and we are so glad we did. My wife and I spent two wonderful days here in the Bombay room, a clean nicely decorated room with a comfortable Queen bed, fridge, A-C, and best of all our private nook in a beautiful green garden outside our door.

Thorn is an interesting woman, a world traveller who has collected artifacts from her worldly trips. You will see ceramic camels, stone frogs, lanterns, bird houses, adorning the entire B&B. Bo who services the B&B and prepares delicious breakfasts, is very personable without being intrusive and on top of that makes a mean omelette served in your own private garden nook.

For those who complained about the bathroom being a couple steps outside the room...all I can say is "get a life". It's a B&B for goodness sake! It's clean, well maintained and yes in B&Bs you share such facilities.

We met some great folks on either side of us, one couple from Germany the other a retired couple from Mass. That's one of the great things about staying in a B&B meeting folks from all over.

For those who enjoy a quaint, lovely and quiet garden like atmosphere with character to spare try this little piece of paradise. You will love it.

Room Tip: Rooms vary by price. The larger better appointed rooms are a bit more . We stayed in the Bombay rom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Palm Lane, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This treasure is hidden away in a secluded, quiet, tropical atmosphere in the Florida Keys. Each of the 5 rooms is decorated in their own unique style: Moroccan Room, Secret Garden Room, Malaysian,Bombay and Tiki Hut. All of the rooms include: breakfast. Television/VCR/DVD, wireless internet, and terry cloth bathrobes. Pets allowed for a small fee. No children under 8, please. After breakfast, relax by the pool or use the pass to go to a really nice beach. We are not handicap accessible, however, 3 of our rooms are on the ground floor with sliding glass doors that make them wheelchair/scooter accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Thorn Bed And Breakfast
Casa Thorn Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.