We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Siesta Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Siesta Resort & Marina to your Saves list
La Siesta Resort & Marina
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   80241 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 80.5 Oceanside, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for almost a week in one of the two bedroom townhomes. Very clean, comfortable and updated! Lots of space to relax during the rainy times of the day. The pool was beautiful and well maintained. The hotel is on the ocean side and I cannot tell you how peaceful it was rocking in one of the hammocks staring out at the water. All staff was friendly and helpful and quick to give excellent recommendations on local restaurants and activities. VERY family friendly with lots of fun things to do like kayaking, fishing or bike riding. Kinda' wished I had just stayed! lol!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    104
    42
    35
    30
See reviews for
103
87
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolivia North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked and paid for a room for two nights six months in advance only to be hit with a $40 resort fee. The room was stale smelling and dated. The breakfast was late each mourning and the main desk service was not friendly. This is a good place for families on limited budgets but the value doesn't match up with the advertising photos except for their marina and fishing guide services which were excellent. I will use their marina and fishing guide facility but not their rooms

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband, myself and our two young children stayed at La Siesta for just under a week during mini-season this summer and found the resort perfect for a relaxing home base for exploring the keys.

The resort is situated on the ocean instead of the bay, and has a small marina for people who have smaller boats. At low tide, the water was very shallow, so people with larger boats may want to look elsewhere. For us, we just wanted a beautiful view - and we were more than pleased to walk along the jetty and look out at the ocean. The pool was stunning and perfect for young kids. A zero entry shallow end means even the smallest kids can swim, and a volleyball net across the middle means older kids and adults can play as well. A continental breakfast is served on the pool deck each morning. While the food isn't basic (cereal, yogurt and danishes), being able to relax with a cup of coffee while the kids play is worth the trade off.

The room we stayed in was obviously in the oldest building, but it was clean and updated. We had a one-bedroom suite with a small semi-private balcony that overlooked the ocean. The suite contained a bedroom and a living/kitchen area. Since our children are small, sharing a bedroom worked for us. If your kids are older, however, the room might get a little small. Other reviewers have remarked that the furniture was stained and not in good repair. We did have a chair on the balcony with a stain on it, but everything else was fine. It was in much better condition that other resorts I've visited, but at a cheaper price.

Every one we spoke to who worked there was friendly and helpful, including when I called to get information about the resort before we booked. I would definitely book online and play around with the reservation screen as there are a lot of discounts available that aren't offered directly through the hotel. They will charge an $18/day resort fee to whatever price you book at, but it is still a good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms 121-124 have great views of the ocean, but are small and less expensive. The beach front cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We vacationed for a week at this wonderful hotel, and we were so happy with the rooms and the
beautiful, impeccably groomed grounds of this property. The darling cottages and the buildings were just so nicely taken care of. The pool area was so clean and well kept. Down by the seaside, it had great atmosphere, lounges to sunbathe on, kayaks to go rowing, wave runners to ride about on, a marina in which to put your boat in. The staff was so friendly and courteous, always asking if they could be of help. The location of this hotel could not be better - close to great restaurants and attractions. I couldn't have asked for a more wonderful place to spend my vacation, and we were sorry to have to leave when we did. I felt so relaxed and at peace. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that asks without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here with our two grandchildren. They loved the pool and the small beach where they hunted for crabs.

My opinion:

Pros: Great property, great pool, spacious room.

Cons: Family group (about 40) was at the resort during our stay, they totally took over the pool with their volley ball and Frisbee games. Not good for the young kids swimming. They had to stay at the very shallow or deep end of the pool for literally hours each day. WHERE WAS THE RESORT MANAGEMENT????

Very noisy group of young people were having a pool party ALL night until 5:30AM. WHERE WAS THE RESORT MANAGEMENT????

No mattress pads on the beds? What were they thinking?? Ill fitting sheets that came off the mattress whenever you turned over. Lumpy quilts that were inappropriate for the Florida Keys.

Would love to go back if we could be assured SOMEONE IS IN CHARGE!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly and courteous and offered us advice on places to eat and sites to see. We had a beautiful clean room overlooking the ocean. Several nights, we brought our food from local restaurants and dined out on our balcony. This was a truly memorable experience and we are already planning our next stay at La Siesta Resort. General Manager Stephanie Burkhart and her staff really know how to take care of their guests.

Room Tip: Book early because they were sold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at La Siesta last month after having a few busy days in Miami, our stay was so relaxing and enjoyable we stayed another night. Our accommodation was clean and well laid out. They provide a simple continental breakfast out by the pool, a good selection and pool side seating with a great view of the ocean. We took advantage of the kayaks and were able to go snorkeling - our girls had an awesome time. There are plenty of restaurants in the general location to choose from - we enjoyed Lorelei's - casual, good food.
We will definitely return to La Siesta in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Siesta Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Siesta Resort & Marina

Address: 80241 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 80.5 Oceanside, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Siesta Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Siesta Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Resort & Marina Hotel Islamorada
La Siesta Resort And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Siesta Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.