We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Combined 2 of our favorite things-kayaking and history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Key State Historic Site

Indian Key State Historic Site
Mile Marker 78.5, P.O. Box 1052, Islamorada, FL 33036
(305) 664-4815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 attractions in Islamorada
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Combined 2 of our favorite things-kayaking and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We didn't get to do this on our previous visit to the Keys, so made a point of doing it this time. You need a boat or kayak to get to Indian Key. There is a boat dock on the island, and a little further down from that a kayak landing. We rented kayaks from Robbie's. We wanted to do the guided tour, but 10 and 2 were not convenient, so we opted for the self guided tour. That turned out to be perfect. There were pamphlets at the dock, and each site has a marker. It's a really great place to visit if you like history. You can really picture life on the island. Because it's not easy to get to, didn't feel like it was overrun with people. No bathroom facilities (that we could find).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trip back in time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have a winter home in the area been coming down for about 12 years and we try to find something new everytime we come down. First went here in 2010 and we have been back to show friends who come for a stay. The history is fascinating the views from the deck are lovely the only thing I didn't like was the story of the dogs but then what would we all do in that situation. We love exploring the different keys.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Read up on Keys history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Quite honestly, I don't know too much about Keys history, but after a visit to Indian Key, I am motivated to do research. The history of Indian Key is intriguing as are all the Keys. Who would have thought that "ship wrecking" would be a legitimate business?

Florida should be proud of their State parks; well maintained and historically significant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's worth checking out but not much to see.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Rented a kayak from Robbie's for 60$ at four hours. Took us 25 minutes in moderate conditions. There is a section in the mangroves facing SW with a sign reading, "kayak entrance." Went to the observatory tower and realized just how small this island was. You can walk the island and read the descriptions within 20minutes. The history behind this island is neat, however there is nothing to see. The only obstructions left are cisterns, a dock(new) and an observatory(new). All in all, nice trip but plan your day with this only taking an hour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I love the history and the seclusion but most of all I like the relative absence of bugs. I rented a power boat at Robbie's Marina and did Lignum Vitae Key and Indian Key in one morning. I spent a grand total of 10 minutes on Lignum Vitae as the mosquitos were swarming in ways reminiscent of that scene from "The African Queen." I then headed to Indian Key and guess what? No bugs! Those ghost town pioneers must have known what they were doing because no standing water equals no mosquitos. It's fun trying to imagine what life must have been like here on such a small island, in such seclusion with no electricity or conveniences. Whenever you go you can be pretty sure you'll have to whole island to yourself. Definitely worth the effort to get there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Key State Historic Site also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Indian Key State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Key State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Indian Key State Historic Site to your Saves list