We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta love Florida History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Key State Historic Site

Indian Key State Historic Site
Mile Marker 78.5, P.O. Box 1052, Islamorada, FL 33036
(305) 664-4815
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 20 attractions in Islamorada
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gotta love Florida History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We own our Kayaks so as we put in at Robbies Marina it cost us $5 each to put in and you pay at the Kayak Shak...which of coarse you can also rent single and tandem Kayaks... The trip to the island in about 3/4 mile and going into the wind and current is a tad challenging...great excerise...once we landed on the island we took a leisure walk around reading all the history markers...you will find on the pier a brochure which gives you in short the history of the people who had lived there...personally I tend to find history boring, but this I found interesting because with the story of the island I could imagine what it may have been like to live there 200 years ago. This is a must do....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun stop on a boating trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We cruised around the islands on a charter. For fun we stopped here for a quick walk around. It only takes a few minutes to see the entire island. It is interesting to read about the history and see the sites. I wouldn't plan a day just to go there, but a quick 10 minute stop on the way out or back is a fun way to stretch your legs. And, how many times can you say that you've been to a deserted island?

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Soto, Missouri
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Really fun kayaking destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We kayaked out to Indian Key from Robbies Marina with our 2 young boys. The key is well maintained with informative signs, clear walkways and a informational map and brochure at the dock. The Key is very pleasant to walk around and the coral shores are fun to explore. The waters around the Key are teeming with rays, fish, sharks, jelly fish, lobsters and crabs that you can see as you paddle around. We had a ball!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Deserted island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Called in here whilst on a boat trip. Not really all that much to see and we had walked around the island in fifteen minutes. Other people might get more from it but not really my scene.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kayaking Out To Indian Key”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We bought our snorkel gear with and headed East under the bridge out the Indian Key which is a short paddle of about one mile from the launch area. At first we tried beaching our kayaks on the West side of the island but discovered that you will get stuck knee deep in the muck. We then tried going to the East side of the island but that side of the island is covered in sharp eroded lime stone. Finally we used the dock located on the South side of the island which turned out to be very easy to use. While we were on the East side of the island we also did some shallow water snorkeling.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Key State Historic Site also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Indian Key State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Key State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.