We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun stop on a boating trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Key State Historic Site

Indian Key State Historic Site
Mile Marker 78.5, Islamorada, FL 33036
(305) 664-4815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 51 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun stop on a boating trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We cruised around the islands on a charter. For fun we stopped here for a quick walk around. It only takes a few minutes to see the entire island. It is interesting to read about the history and see the sites. I wouldn't plan a day just to go there, but a quick 10 minute stop on the way out or back is a fun way to stretch your legs. And, how many times can you say that you've been to a deserted island?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
De Soto, Missouri
Level Contributor
292 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Really fun kayaking destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We kayaked out to Indian Key from Robbies Marina with our 2 young boys. The key is well maintained with informative signs, clear walkways and a informational map and brochure at the dock. The Key is very pleasant to walk around and the coral shores are fun to explore. The waters around the Key are teeming with rays, fish, sharks, jelly fish, lobsters and crabs that you can see as you paddle around. We had a ball!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hjk1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Deserted island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Called in here whilst on a boat trip. Not really all that much to see and we had walked around the island in fifteen minutes. Other people might get more from it but not really my scene.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kayaking Out To Indian Key”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We bought our snorkel gear with and headed East under the bridge out the Indian Key which is a short paddle of about one mile from the launch area. At first we tried beaching our kayaks on the West side of the island but discovered that you will get stuck knee deep in the muck. We then tried going to the East side of the island but that side of the island is covered in sharp eroded lime stone. Finally we used the dock located on the South side of the island which turned out to be very easy to use. While we were on the East side of the island we also did some shallow water snorkeling.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Historic site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

You can still see the foundations from the old county seat. It is a small key and interesting to walk around.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank birgittemelnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Key State Historic Site also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Indian Key State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing