We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserted island” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Key State Historic Site

Indian Key State Historic Site
Mile Marker 78.5, P.O. Box 1052, Islamorada, FL 33036
(305) 664-4815
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 20 attractions in Islamorada
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Deserted island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Called in here whilst on a boat trip. Not really all that much to see and we had walked around the island in fifteen minutes. Other people might get more from it but not really my scene.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kayaking Out To Indian Key”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We bought our snorkel gear with and headed East under the bridge out the Indian Key which is a short paddle of about one mile from the launch area. At first we tried beaching our kayaks on the West side of the island but discovered that you will get stuck knee deep in the muck. We then tried going to the East side of the island but that side of the island is covered in sharp eroded lime stone. Finally we used the dock located on the South side of the island which turned out to be very easy to use. While we were on the East side of the island we also did some shallow water snorkeling.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Historic site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

You can still see the foundations from the old county seat. It is a small key and interesting to walk around.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very fun to hike the ruins of the old town and climb up the tower to see the view of Alligator Reef. Fascinating story of the settlers that lived there and the trials that they faced. Was interesting to learn that this was at one time the county seat for Dade County. Very possible to be the only visitors as it is only accessible by boat.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

we kayaked to the island and then spent hours in the water snorkeling. Coral rocks surrounds the entire rim so you can swim the whole way around. Great variety and colors- hogfish, to sleeping sharks to stingrays, it has it all!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Key State Historic Site also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Indian Key State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Key State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.