We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Whale Harbor Inn

Whale Harbor Inn
83413 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-664-4959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 82 restaurants in Islamorada
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We went on recommendation of a young local. It was expensive and awful. Some seafood wasn't even the real deal. Fried fish was dried out, most dishes were way too salty. Pizza tasted store bought. Desserts were unbeatable. Definitely not worth going especially at the price $29.95/pp.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmendelson, Public Relations Manager at Whale Harbor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We're sorry that we weren't able to please you. We can assure you that ALL of our items are made fresh and are the real deal. As for the pizza, you probably should have noticed the gentleman who served you the pizza made it fresh. We do thousands of covers week with many satisfied customers. We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    109
    90
    45
    35
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Average seafood buffet. Only had about 50% of the items the website advertises. Crab legs and oysters were good but for being in the keys you can get way better seafood elsewhere. Service was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmendelson, Public Relations Manager at Whale Harbor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. Most of our competitors in the area charge the same price as we do; and they do not offer the unlimited quantities as we do. At any other establishment, both the crab legs and oysters that you consumed would have added up to more than the $29.99/pp that you paid. We hope that we can do a better job for you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Buffet! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Amazing Buffet! All you can eat crab legs! Yummy! Steamed or cold they are delicious! There are so many other options as well! Jody is a great manager! Very attentive and made sure that we were taking care of! Ray our server was awesome! Definitely will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
“just love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

very nice place, clean, excellent food, friendly ppl, worth it, i'll give 2 thumbs up, will be back for sure

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was a great little place to sit and watch the boats.............................. Beautiful breeze coming through

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Harbor Inn also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Whale Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.