We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to watch the sun set” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lor-e-lei

Lor-e-lei
81924 Overseas Highway, Mile-Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
+1 305-664-2692
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 82 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun place to watch the sun set”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went two evenings while we were in Islamorada. The first night we had fish tacos which were really good. The second night we just had a few beers and watched the sun set. That atmosphere was very relaxed and it seemed like it was the place that locals hang out. We had fun and enjoyed it. The view of the setting sun can't be beat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    429
    171
    62
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great little spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good live music, average food but the location for the sunset is superb!!
Very busy early evening but music over by 9pm and after that it was quite deserted.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great location but AWFUL (and I do mean AWFUL) service...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Without exaggeration, this was THE WORST service that I have ever had in my life. Our server was rude and acted like we were a HUGE imposition for her. She seemed annoyed and stressed and frustrated from the moment we walked in. We were a fairly large group (about 18, I think) but we are ALL very friendly and easy going and most definitely patient and even tried to be understanding but the fact that she was sooo dramatic got old really fast. The food was decent...nothing really outstanding but the atmosphere was fun. There was a band that everyone seemed to enjoy ... lots of guest were up dancing (and even one guest sang!) and having a good time. But all good times must come to an end and that happened quickly once dinner was over and we asked for our checks. Our server had charged 2 shots of Crown Royal (at $15/shot!) to our tab and when we asked her to please remove them, she acted like it was our fault that they were on our tab! She was clutching her face with her hands and dragging her hands through her hair...it would have actually been comical if we weren't so fed up with her attitude. Maybe she was having a bad day or something but as someone who waited tables for many years in my younger days, I feel like you leave all negativity behind once you step on that floor and treat your guests with kindness and friendliness and NOT with contempt.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped here on the way to Key West and found it to be relaxing and friendly. We hope to make it back in the daylight as the view must be fabulous. A nice big bar and huge sandy area along the water. The conch chowder was delicious too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

and it was just ok. it was very windy and we had tpo wait and ask if we could have breakfast. its a shame as i use to go there once a month

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lor-e-lei also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Lor-e-lei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lor-e-lei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.