We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morada Bay

Morada Bay
81600 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 81.6, Bayside, Islamorada, FL 33036
+1 305-664-0604
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 83 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ct
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We went here for a late lunch with our fishing captain and his wife who live nearby. Great service asking for the table under the palms not a problem. Our waitress was great but the kitchen was slow with our meal and she couldn't apologize more.Burgers are always fantastic as is sitting on the beach, grounds are beautiful. Pricey but most of the restaurants are, at least you are on the BEACH. We go back every year. Love it

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    323
    109
    50
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Meal of our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I had read the reviews and had plans to eat here our first night in Islamorada. We should have eaten here our last night because it made all of our other meals seem a little disappointing. Sitting on the beach with a view of the bay was really nice, but the food and service were excellent. We had eaten our lunch later than we had intended, so we weren't as hungry as normal. I just ordered a salad and my husband ordered the grouper. He got a few bites of my salad and I got a couple bites of his fish, both were really good. Watching the sun set as the band started to play just topped off a perfect meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a great restaurant on the water. Make sure you ask for a table on the sand so you can watch the sunset! Great live music and the food was good as well.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

So my husband and I were staying up in Key Largo the first weekend in March to dive for my birthday. We're big-time foodies from Washington DC and were less than thrilled with the dining options in Key Largo. So we fired up our Zagat app on our iPhones to look for something decent within a 20 mile driving distance to celebrate my birthday. We instantly zero'ed in on Morada Bay Cafe.

We were a bit worried b/c the website said they don't take reservations, and given the ratings and it was a Saturday night, we thought they'd be packed. Fortunately (or unfortunately, depending on how you look at it), Mother Nature had brought a cool spell to Southern FL so I don't think too many people were interested in outdoor dining. This worked out perfectly for us, as we were able to "walk in" and get a table around 8:30pm for 4 people with no issues.

Even though this place is almost entirely on the beach, they'd tented in their porch area to shield from the wind and cooler temps and we hardly noticed b/c everything we ordered and ate was fabulous. Our group basically just ordered everything tapa-style. We got the ceviche and tuna tartare to begin and both were divine! Honestly, the tartare had the largest chunks of high grade tuna I've ever had - excellent! We split a number of other tasty dishes like the sauteed peppers (very unique!) and the calamari (very good but a bit too heavily battered).

Morada Bay Cafe also has a fairly decent wine list, so we ordered a great bottle of Adelsheim pinor noir from Willamette Valley. The servers were all extremely nice and well informed of the menu.

All in all, this place is easily five stars in my book, even though we didn't get to experience the main draw of outdoor dining on the beach under a full moon! The waitstaff was telling us about their full moon parties - one of which was to occur a few days later. We're sorry we weren't still in town to partake, but this restaurant is definitely worth the drive from Key Largo and most definitely gives some of the great places in a city like DC a run for its money. Thank you!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic location-wonderful breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I had breakfast twice on this trip- the views are great! Service was very good, eggs Benedict with either lobster or crab cakes were excellent. The breakfast prices are surprisingly low for the quality of the experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morada Bay also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Morada Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morada Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.