We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Restaurant. All about the details!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEAT Eatery And Taproom

MEAT Eatery And Taproom
88005 Overseas Highway, #15, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-852-3833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 84 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Fast Food, Sandwiches, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: M.E.A.T. Eatery And Taproom is a Cutting-Edge Quick-Service restaurant in the Upper Florida Keys. It smokes its own meats, makes its own Sausage in-house, has high quality Burgers, Hotdogs, Pulled Pork and even Lobster Rolls as a Gourmet Fast Food establishment. MEAT alo carries Craft Beers, Microwbrewed Sodas, Organic Wines and Homemade Ice Cream. Not to be missed traveling in the Keys!
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding Restaurant. All about the details!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I love a restaurant where the food is great, but the places that are the best in any genre or price point of food are those that truly understand the details. These guys GET IT. I've had many items on their regular menu and each one is outstanding. What makes this place special is that they don't just slap something on a burger just-because. Every element of that burger is thought out. They make their own condiments. They smoke their own meats. They use premium ingredients.

If I'm in town I have to stop in for at least a juicy lucy and those wonderful truffle fries. Their menu is great, and their specials are always interesting. I wish I could eat here every day!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    110
    31
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
deerfield
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Do The Beer Math!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by in late January and had lunch. The food was excellent (burger and pulled pork sandwich) and the staff was very friendly. I would go back for the food except next time I will order the smaller beer (5.75 for 16 oz). It's the first taproom where I've had a draft beer that actually charges more per ounce with the bigger glass. When I was asked by the bartender if I would like 16 or 20 ounces I didn't think I'd be paying more per ounce with the 20 ounce selection. I ordered Clearwater 420 (20 oz-7.95) that works out to .40 per oz. A 16oz at $ 5.75 works out to .36 per ounce. So I paid $2.20 for the extra 4 oz (you could say that brings the additional ounces to .55 per oz). When I pointed out the price differences, the staff was receptive to listening, deducted the up charge, and said they would point this out to the owner. I usually don't pay attention to prices like this but when I was sitting at the bar sipping my beer and looking up at the chalkboard something just didn't look right so I did the math. Pays to stay in school kids.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunica, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We don't like fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Thank you Trip Advisor for this little nugget, went to a prior favorite in Islamorada to find it had closed. Took out the app, and here is the #1 rated....and it's not fish!!! Woo-hoo!!! I realize it's a struggle coming down to the fishing capital and not eating fish. I get it. So this little place is a new gem. On top of that....it's DELISH! Have been coming down to the Key's for over 30 years, best hamburger I have had. Homemade condiments, but I stuck with regular ketchup, I'm a little bland. Worth the stop!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Legit Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Fried Chicken, Molasses Beer BBQ Sauce, SC Pulled Pork, Shrimp Potstickers and Root Beer are all must trys! Great atmosphere and service!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Bought the shirt, been there. The menu is interesting with a unique array of choices and interesting choices. Onion straws were greasy- take French fries instead. The Carolina Barbie was good but not exceptional. I think best part are the choices of beer

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MEAT Eatery And Taproom also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to MEAT Eatery And Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEAT Eatery And Taproom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.