We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mandatory stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEAT Eatery And Taproom

MEAT Eatery And Taproom
88005 Overseas Highway, #15, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-852-3833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 82 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Fast Food, Ice Cream, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: M.E.A.T. Eatery And Taproom is a Cutting-Edge Quick-Service restaurant in the Upper Florida Keys. It smokes its own meats, makes its own Sausage in-house, has high quality Burgers, Hotdogs, Pulled Pork and even Lobster Rolls as a Gourmet Fast Food establishment. MEAT alo carries Craft Beers, Microwbrewed Sodas, Organic Wines and Homemade Ice Cream. Not to be missed traveling in the Keys!
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mandatory stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We ate here on Christmas Eve night, and the experience was extroardinary. There were three or four other groups of diners, and every single group took time out of their meal to compliment the staff, cook and owner for the meal. The beer selection is thoughtful, and everything in the restaurant, to include condiments is made in house (except mayo). This was among the very best of small-time restaurants I've ever been to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    99
    26
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We're locals and know this place existed until checking TripAdvisor. The place is legit - outstanding food, service, and not too bad on the value when you consider the quality. Try it; you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, Staffs
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Easily missed - a real "find".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We tried this place out on account of its rating on TA and were not disappointed. It has the feel of a classic family diner but with a stand-out menu - our burgers were simply as good as we have found anywhere. When these were put together with a great range of craft beers - including a couple of genuine UK ale imports ( including Wells Banana Bread beer !) - then it really did take some beating. Worth at least one visit on any tour of the local eateries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“More Bar than Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Came here based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and left disappointed. This is more of a Beer Tap Room and less of a Restaurant. If you are not going to sit at the bar, you need to order at the register...so they obviously cater to the beer drinkers. Unfortunately, I don't drink beer and came here for the raving reviews of great food, which we didn't find. I had the black and blue burger. While the meat itself was good, it was blackened way too much in that the taste was overpowering and the blue cheese was overloaded on the burger as well. So all you tasted were spices and blue cheese. Maybe if I just got a plain burger it would of been better. The prices were also very high, $16.00 for my burger. I would recommend this place if you are a beer drinker, if your not, then take a pass.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1GrapeGuy, Owner at MEAT Eatery And Taproom, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
We're sorry you weren't as excited as the majority of our guests who dine with us.
Our restaurant is a "Taproom" and we do request that you order from the bar counter as you would in a bar. It helps us speed up service because once a guest takes a table and decides what they want to eat they can come up and order instead of having a staff members approaching them before they are ready, if they sit at the bar they simply signal a server once they are ready to order and their order is taken.
We do have a fairly good selection of beers as a taproom, but we also have wine and micro-brewed sodas, even draft root beer and make our own ice cream for floats and milkshakes for those who don't drink beer, which sell as well as our beers.
We appologize that you didn't enjoy your food. If you would have mentioned it to your server we would have replaced it with something more to your liking. Our food is all fresh-made and if any customer doesn't enjoy our food it is our policy to substitute or replace with another item of their liking or refund their money if they can't find or don't want a replacement.
We hope you try us again in any of your further visits to the Florida Keys, contact me and I'll be happy to buy your meal on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A unique find where their hamburgers will take you to heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Having bee in the Keys many times, I only discovered this "joint" yesterday. The decor, atmosphere, the crowd, staff but above all the foods are superb. Plus to boot, no pretend, just "come on in and enjoy".

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MEAT Eatery And Taproom also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to MEAT Eatery And Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEAT Eatery And Taproom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.