We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food/drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEAT Eatery And Taproom

MEAT Eatery And Taproom
88005 Overseas Highway, #15, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-852-3833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 82 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Fast Food, Ice Cream, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: M.E.A.T. Eatery And Taproom is a Cutting-Edge Quick-Service restaurant in the Upper Florida Keys. It smokes its own meats, makes its own Sausage in-house, has high quality Burgers, Hotdogs, Pulled Pork and even Lobster Rolls as a Gourmet Fast Food establishment. MEAT alo carries Craft Beers, Microwbrewed Sodas, Organic Wines and Homemade Ice Cream. Not to be missed traveling in the Keys!
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food/drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Have been here a few times. Prices are reasonable for the food. The drinks, especially their own microbrewed sodas, are great. They have root beer, birch beer, and others. You place your order at the bar and then you can sit at a table. The waiters brought us our food, and it's pretty much like any other restaurant from that point on.

Love the burgers. The "Inside Out" burger is great. Fries are shoestring and good if you like that type. The chicken is only served after 5pm for some odd reason. Small cozy atmosphere and friendly attentive staff. It's kinda small so could be crowded during peak season, we haven't had any trouble being seated though.

We will return next visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    99
    26
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good burger, poor ventilation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited MEAT three times in the last three weeks. We ate there the first two times; the third time we turned around and walked out. Their burgers are worth the trip, but their kitchen ventilation is inadequate / broken and you can cut the air with a knife; that's why we left the third time without eating. I might assume they'll fix the problem someday but for now they're off our list.

The prices are typical for the area, hence the avg value rating.

The food order is taken at the counter, but they'll deliver food and drinks to the table, hence the service rating.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1GrapeGuy, Owner at MEAT Eatery And Taproom, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your food and gave us your feedback about the smoke.
We actually smoke our own pork and bacon out back behind the restaurant and inevitably when the wind is coming from that side of the building we do get smoke inside the dining area. We are currently working with a HVAC specialist to help regulate this situation and we hope you join us again once this is resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best burgers in the Keys.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went based on tripadvisor reviews and we are so glad we did. Located in an unassuming strip mall, the place is truly a gem. The ordering process is very confusing and you order prior to claiming one of 8 or so small tables that fill up quick. This leads to some very rushed ordering if you are in front of the line and don’t have time to review the menu. We ordered the house burger with bacon and the lobster mac and cheese. The wait was minimal and I enjoyed one of the unusual beers that they had on tap. Once we got our food, I was in burger heaven. The fries are cooked in duck fat and the burger was beautifully cooked. My wife’s lobster mac and cheese had sizeable chunks of lobster in it and was creamy with a crunchy topping. Overall, great experience and we wished we could have tried more things on the menu. Just beware that your clothes will smell like you’ve been deep fried when you leave. Our total was $35.00 for two.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“All I can say is WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family and I went to MEAT during our Christmas stay in Islamorada, and let me just say that we were blown away. When you walk in, the appearance is a bit surprising. It is in a strip mall next to a small pet store and the restaurant itself is a long, thin room with a bar and simple tables to seat yourself. You can look at menus by the door or specials (on the board above the register/bar) and then you order your food before taking a seat. Food will be delivered to your table, and the wait was not too bad even on a busy night. Definitely try some of the great microbrews or even the rootbeer on tap!

But don't be fooled by the pseudo dive-bar appearance (I mean that in the best of ways)--the food here is FANTASTIC. We started with the onion strings with cheese/beer sauce and nobody could get enough of it! We were all grabbing at the little fried bits long after anything that vaguely resembled an onion string had been eaten. We also had the Juicy Lucy (fabulous but messy), the grilled cheese + soup (I hate to even mention it, but the grilled cheese could have been cooked just a touch longer), and the Asian turkey burger. However, the real star of the show was the pastrami. My father, who has had more than his fair share of pastrami, declared this hands down the best pastrami he has ever had (New York has nothing on this sandwich). The chefs at MEAT are geniuses when it comes to all things smoked. So glad that this place came to the island--definitely the best around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delishious!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We saw this advertised on Key TV and decided to give it a try. This is the best burger I have ever had!!! Wish we weren't so far away!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MEAT Eatery And Taproom also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to MEAT Eatery And Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEAT Eatery And Taproom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.