We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something great, something different.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEAT Eatery And Taproom

MEAT Eatery And Taproom
88005 Overseas Highway, #15, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-852-3833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 82 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Fast Food, Ice Cream, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: M.E.A.T. Eatery And Taproom is a Cutting-Edge Quick-Service restaurant in the Upper Florida Keys. It smokes its own meats, makes its own Sausage in-house, has high quality Burgers, Hotdogs, Pulled Pork and even Lobster Rolls as a Gourmet Fast Food establishment. MEAT alo carries Craft Beers, Microwbrewed Sodas, Organic Wines and Homemade Ice Cream. Not to be missed traveling in the Keys!
New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Something great, something different.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We ate at Meat for lunch. Great food! Really well done BBQ. They make everything there from the pulled pork to the bratwurst. Pulled pork was delicious. And a big portion for the cost. My wife had the lobster roll and they used Canadian lobster. So much tastier than local lobster. All fries are cooked in duck fat. Get the upgrade to black truffle and Parmesan coated. Mmmm. Great variety of beers. Many on tap. They also had root beer and pear cider on tap. Talked with the Chef, a nice man from our home town - NYC. Finally something great in the keys that doesn't involve fried fish. In strip mall across from MM88. Stop by for a great meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    98
    26
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Missing Something”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

First things first! I was actually blown away that when I ordered a water they gave it to me in paper to go cup! What is this fast food? Step it up.


Now for being know or recommended as a burger place, I thought they would of had a larger selection of Burgers. There were 3 chocies on the menu, two of which are the same, only the portion size changed. Then its seems they have the Juciy Lucy on special all the time since I've read about on several post. Which is fine, but get creative! M.E.A.T get a little more edge and give us some choices.

I ordered the Inside out Juicy Lucy, thinking that the bacon and chz would be inside the burger but it wasn't. To be honest I didn't even see any bacon.

We asked for onion rings on the burger and the server said they didn't have any. However, on the brisket sandwhich just so happened to be topped with onion rings??? So I'm a little confused.

I's say the place is average and you have some cool ideas but up the game a little and put a little more finese into it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1GrapeGuy, Guest Relations Manager at MEAT Eatery And Taproom, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We wanted to thank you for your feedback and clarify a few things for you.
M.E.A.T. is a Gourmet Fast Food concept, we do serve our microbrewed soft drinks, iced teas and water in paper cups, we have counter service and a large amount of carry-out. As a new restaurant we are still finalizing our menu and expanding & changing our selections. Some of the specials that we've been running like the "Juicy Lucy" stuffed Burger and the Turkey Burger will be added permanently to our menu as we expand the Burger selections.
But MEAT is not only burgers, our creativity is also focused on the house ground and cased Sausages, homemade Brisket and Porchetta, as well as the other items that we actually make in house like the Mango Chipotle Ketchup, Beer Caraway Mustard, Molasses Beer BBQ sauce, our ice creams and many others.
We wanted to thank you for your suggestion about the onion rings. We did not have them on the menu and had made up a small batch to use on the Brisket (not enough to serve as a side). But since you mentioned it we've begun to make extra and sell them and they are quite popular.
We hope you stop back to join us again and try some of our new items coming out at the end of this month and in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barr, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This review is worth 2 reviews....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

2nd time this week we have eaten here.... Party of 6 tonight, no problems with being served EIGHT different tasters of beer before we made our choices....Everyone very happy with their food orders (which we all got to taste). Between MEAT Eatery and their sister restaurant "Tasters" (Tavernier Towne), these guys are providing some of the best food you can find in the Upper Keys, no hesitation in recommending them.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went to M.E.A.T today after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and we're really pleased that we did. I had the lobster roll which was delicious and my husband really enjoyed his "Juicy Lucy" burger. There were a good range of beers on draft and some interesting looking sodas. I'd highly recommend - the staff were really great too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best burger ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A friend from Florida said we had to stop at this place on route to Key West. He said it would be the best burger we would ever eat and he wasn't wrong! In fact, the food, beers and hospitality were all fantastic. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and George the Chef talked us through the mouth-watering menu, explaining how each dish was made, how the meat was cured and how all the sauces etc were home made. He also encouraged us to sample a few of the great beers on offer. We had two burgers (one from the main menu and one from the specials) with parmesan and truffle fries. The burgers were so tasty and perfectly cooked and the fries were gorgeous. The food here is really phenomenal and great value. We loved it so much that we returned on our way back to Miami from Key West. We only wish it was on our doorstep so we could go back every week! Thanks George and team, and best of luck!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MEAT Eatery And Taproom also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to MEAT Eatery And Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEAT Eatery And Taproom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.