We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pines and Palms Resort

Save Saved
You added Pines and Palms Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pines and Palms Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   80401 Old Highway, Islamorada, FL   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Rented an oceanfront cottage. Room was very clean and comfortable with a fantastic view. Perfect Keys location; close to everything we needed but still private and relaxing. Staff went out of their way to make sure all our needs were met. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    95
    18
    13
    11
See reviews for
74
186
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We loved our stay at Palms and Pines..quiet, clean and perfect for a much needed long weekend away..The manager Ana was delightful..Can't wait to return!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed here in Jan., just after the holidays. We loved it! I was looking for something a little out of the way, but close enough to everything. This place fit the bill perfectly. The pool was perfect, the staff we very friendly. We went there for our 10 year wedding anniversary and stayed in one of the Oceanview suites. The kitchen was very nice to help cut down on costs, also the room was very clean. We stayed there 3 nights and the room and bed was very comfortable. At night, after everyone went to their rooms, we really did have a only person there feeling which was very nice! I have recommended this resort to neighbors visiting the Keys, and would definitely visit again! Exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Coming to the Florida Keys for the first time in my life, traveling from New York City with 2 teens, I wanted somewhere a little bit shack-on-the-beach, very low-key, and centrally located for visiting the 100+-mile stretch of 500 islands. I also wanted a full kitchen. I love good, healthy food and I don't enjoy eating out (except occasionally). Palms & Pines was just the ticket. Tidy efficiency cottages, cute as a button with little porches looking out on the Gulf side, provided the perfect home away from home. Ana Pena, the manager, was helpful beyond expectations. The property owners are lucky to have her! Criticism: get a new sofa bed for the LR; we put mattress on the floor the frame was so shot. Also, found mouse dropping and food nibblings. Otherwise, this is a wonderful place and I hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voxboston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I'm attempting to be very fair to this place. It's perfectly OK - depending on what you expect and need.

- This is classic Keys motel / hotel. Nice pool, nice dock.
- The rooms spaces / are big. Kitchens in suites are great if you want to cook.

Noisy AC, 'classic' furnishings (i.e. a little dated), not super comfortable.
Bathroom small / motel-y in finishes.

Quite clean. Not perfect, but this class of hotel can really lose it on the details, and they did just fine.

Miniblinds are old / funky. Suggest they update.

Biggest complaint: at time of visit, room price was very high compared to Casa Morada or even Cheeca Resort! Cost: @ $275 for P&P, @ $375 for CM, $279 at Cheeca (or much more depending on room). Felt that the value for experience was not there with Palms compared to other places.

So - if you need to be on the Ocean side, and need some elbow room and a kitchen in a motel-plus environment.

If you want a high-end / chill boutique resort vibe, this is not it. Seek other options.

Room Tip: View room before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We have just returned from a two week stay in Florida and stayed at the Pines & Palms resort for the last four nights of our trip. (We did e-mail to say we were celebrating a big birthday but unfortunately were not offered any kind of upgrade as per the previous guests) When we arrived we received a warm welcome and went straight to our apartment No 19. Our initial thoughts were - oh dear this is very small and quite tired looking but hey ho we can put up with that if everything else is ok. A few negatives first: The bathroom is incredibly small, if you sit on the loo you can just about put your feet out in front of you and the bath is directly next to you - tiny ! The main bedroom was fine - no probs apart from the very noisy air-con unit, just take some earplugs.
Our 10 year old slept on the sofabed which was also fine but once that was up you couldn't move in the lounge area, not sure how more than 3 people could stay comfortably in these rooms. A kettle is not provided either - not sure why?

The resort itself is lovely, all very clean with lots of sunbeds/hammock/chairs by the docks etc. The pool is small but nice and clean and the tiki bar is an added bonus. It was very quiet with lots of space even thought there were quite a few guests, it felt very serene. We met some nice people and the staff were friendly. You couldn't really swim from the beachfront area but could snorkel off the end of the docks.

We went to various restaurants in the area which were recommended by Jim and all were excellent, we loved the local coffee shop within walking distance.

WE went to Key West and also swam with dolphins at the Dolphin Research centre Grassy Key - well worth the money.

So as an overview, its a very relaxing quiet place with great views all I would say is the rooms could do with a little updating but otherwise I would recommend it to those looking for a peaceful location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed last week at Pines and Palms for 4 nights and had extremely relaxing and enjoyable time. The amazing thing about the Keys, is the preponderance of 'Mom and Pop' hotels and resorts. Pines and Palms exemplifies the best of that genre. Keep in mind these are not luxury hotels, but Pines and Palms was one of the nicest we saw.
We checked in after hours and Jim was extended an upgrade to me and my wife and it was greatly appreciate. Seeing that it was dark when we checked in, we were in for a glorious surprise when we awoke. Our ocean view cottage room was so close to the beautiful sea.
We liked having the small kitchen available so that we could keep make our breakfast, lunch and adult beverage. While there were a number of people staying at the hotel, my wife often had pool to herself and the chairs on docks almost always available.
I loved kayaking out on the ocean right in front of hotel. My only wish is that they would be included in room rate and that the hardworking staff did not put away while I was taking a break.
Enjoyed sunsets at Morada Bay and Islamorada Fish Co. Stay after dark and enjoy the musicians and cool vibe of both places. Lunch at Hungry Tarpon was excellent.
We would certainly stay at Pines and Palms again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pines and Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines and Palms Resort

Address: 80401 Old Highway, Islamorada, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pines and Palms Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages and Suites from 1 to 3 bedrooms in a village-like tropical setting on the Atlantic Ocean in Islamorada. All accommodations come with a full kitchen and free dockage if you bring or rent a boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pines and Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines And Palms Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pines and Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.