We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French food in the Florida Keys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bitton Bistro Cafe

Bitton Bistro Cafe
82245 Overseas Hwy, MM82 Ocean Side, Islamorada, FL 33036
+1 305-396-7481
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 83 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French, Creperie, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Charming French cafe in the heart of Islamorada! EVERY DAY FROM 7AM to 5PM Crepes, homemade Italian gelato, salads, sandwiches. French bakery and the best espresso! Kids corner, Free WI-FI and latest magazines for your review... Take out - Boat lunch boxes - light catering.
Bradenton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great French food in the Florida Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Tried this place based on the reviews and was not disappointed. I had the Lyon. French salami, gruyere Swiss and Dijon on a baguette. Sound good but it was great. Who would have know the French could do salami better than the Italians. It was busy and service was slow. The waitress was non existent after we got our food. There was a help wanted sign in the window so I'm sure are aware of the problem. The food was so good, the service would not keep us away. You are in the keys. Relax and don't be in a hurry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    55
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida Keys
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous French Cuisine in the Upper Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten here a number of times and have always had a spectacular meal. Chef Michel is friendly, talented and creative. There are quiches and crepes for every taste but even the sandwiches and soups are unique with their fresh or imported ingredients. The prices are a bit high but not unreasonable considering the preparation and content...we just wish we could afford to have lunch here more often!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for a change from other places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We happened to be passing through the keys and fell on the cafe as I had a discount voucher. Not knowing what we were going to we were thoroughly impressed. We stopped for a breakfast so it wasn't busy. We had our little boy with us and so the guy told us if we sat at the back there was a play area which was fantastic! A small table and little plastic and fabric foods so he could pretend to cook too whilst waiting for our food! The food and drinks were delicious. We are from England and travel to France fairly often so we enjoy the lighter foods of croissants and crepes rather than the huge and generally unhealthy options from other cafes. Service was great and we loved the atmosphere of the place. Many thanks!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

There were only a couple of negative people in all the reviews. They must have come on a bad day. My wife and I stopped for lunch (tired of burgers, etc.) and thoroughly enjoyed our visit and food. The server was extremely pleasant and Micheal (pronouced Michelle) was the owner, advisor, order taker and chef. Food and service were great and the prices reasonable for a restuarant in the Keys. Would I. One back again? I am here for 4 days and you can bet we will be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Special Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a beautiful, extremely fresh & clean new restaurant in Islamorada that you will be very pleased to find when you really want something beyond all of the fish places and greasy spoon places. This is truly a real French creperie/bakery/food spot that you would not expect to find in this area. The crepes were fantastic and truly French traditional, no compromise to appease ones that are not willing to experience something really great. We had sweet, Nutella & banana and a savory one with ham, mushrooms & Swiss cheese -both excellent. We also had great sweet pastries and one of the greatest latte's you will ever find. Do not let this get past you for breakfast, lunch or between. Great food, service & place are not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bitton Bistro Cafe also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Bitton Bistro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bitton Bistro Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.