We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable Management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Jolla Resort
Save
You added La Jolla Resort to your Saves list
82216 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lake Worth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable Management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

The La Jolla Resort is like being on your own private key. This is our first time staying at the La Jolla as we normally stay at the Marriott. When we arrived Friday night we were warmly greeted by the Managers of the La Jolla. The management went above and beyond their duties not only with us but the other guests staying at the resort. The grounds of the resort were well kept and the rooms were really nice and clean. I could have spent the entire day sleeping in the hammock near the bay. The resort also offers canoes, fishing, boat docks,a brick grill and cute little tame squirrels. The managers were so kind as they gave my daughters peanuts to feed the squirrels and pointed out the wildlife (large tarpon and iguanas) We had the best time ever and plan on returning to the resort. If you want personalized service , with management who will make your trip memorable, I suggest you visit the La Jolla.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    59
    14
    12
    15
See reviews for
54
76
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We spent the 4th of july week there and had a blast. Jim and Gretchen were fantastic and helped out with any of our needs. This the perfect place if you want a clean room, great people, kitchen, etc. right in the heart of the keys. The support staff kept the grounds immaculate(they even rake the sand daily) and the rooms clean as well. I like all the little touches like fresh hibiscus flowers on the table each day.I travel extensively for work and have been to places like the ritz carlton and JW and personally dont want that for a fishing family vacation. . I like a place that is truly a place for friends, family, and the unspoiled beauty of the keys.....and La Jolla is the fit! They make you feel like you are at home. One example was when my son wanted to take a coconut home for later. They got him 6 and they were great!

The bayside view was incredible and I really like the boat launch/slips right on sight. Our family likes the outdoors, fishing, snorkeling, etc and this is the place. You can see manatees, parrot fish, sharks, etc right off the dock, be in great bay fishing in 10 minutes, tarpon in 20 min, diving/snorkeling the reefs in 30 min, and deep blue waer in less than an hour. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

This is a fabulous little resort with everything a relaxed keys vacation is about. The managers are so nice, welcoming and helpful in every way. The Blue Heron cottage was perfect. Wonderful view, clean with a true keys flavor. The maid cut flowers and even picked some mangoes for us. Our grandkids as well as ourselves loved the swimming, snorkling and fishing right off the dock. We are south floridians and grandkids from up North. We all can't wait to get back to LaJolla.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I have try to get in touch with Tony Nobregas to no avail. In spanish nobregas means don't deal with. Is this your real name or one you choose. We sent 2 faxes to you thinking you don't know what is going on in your so call family place. Do you know your managers treat people that pay to stay there ( very high price) I may add for the service provided, like third class citizens, talking down on you, screaming yelling and forbidden you to move freely watching your every move. The only thing allowed to do for what we gather is the use of alcohol. The whole place smells of it.What a waste of time and money.I ratter spend a weekend lock in a monkeys cage then a day at La Jolla resort
The sunset was beautiful because it wasn’t provided by them, was a gift from up above.
If it was up to the managers I’m sure it would have been blocked. If you want to have a good time stay away from that place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lajollaresv, manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2009
We have a catch & release policy for our dock. This is clearly marked by 2 signs. Other guests came to the office very upset having fought with this individual who was not only keeping all her fish but the illegal undersized fish as well. She left the beach after angry exchanges with other guest with her bucket of illegal fish. The following morning another manager spoke with her about the policy AND the law. She was profane & rude to him at that time. She was monitored, but only for illegal fishing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We were two couples and rented the Blue Dolphin as a 2 bedroom 2 bath cottage (they can be rented separately). The living area and kitchen were airy and spacious, nicely decorated, and right on the little waterfront beach. We had some meals in (including steaks & fresh tuna prepared on their bricked-in grill on the little beach), picnicked nearby, and ate at one of the nearby outdoor restaurants. Fortunately we had a couple of days because the small grounds are lovely, and we enjoyed reading under the palm trees and watching pelicans and sea gulls. Owners and staff pretty much left us alone, and were helpful the few times we had questions. Some of the other rooms and apartments look over the water, but we wouldn't have stayed anywhere else - it was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

Coming down from Miami, we intended to head to Key West to stay for the night. Because the traffic was so bad on I-1, we knew we wouldn't make it to Key West until late at night, so after stopping at several hotels on the way, we decided on La Jolla Resort, and what a pleasant stay it was!

The manager was very nice, enthusiastic and eager to help us. After presenting an original rate of more than $300, she agreed to discount it to $200.

The room was very clean; the bathroom provided all the needed essentials, and the kitchen had everything needed to cook a meal. At night, it was quiet, and we all had a pleasant stay.

The best part about La Jolla Resort is the beach and dock area. There are lounge chairs, hammocks and a shuffleboard on the sand. There is a dock, for fishing, and kayaks, if you wish to go kayaking.

My family and I had a pleasant stay at La Jolla Resort, and we certainly wouldn't mind coming back again. It's a great place to stay if you're heading out to Key West or coming back from a day down there, and don't want to waste money on a pricey hotel.

  • Liked — the beach/dock area
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

Myself and 2 friends rented the little house out near the dock. It was a clean 2 bedroom/2 bath. The property was quiet, however others staying there were very friendly and offered to share beer. We loved the squirrels and iquanas! Wildlife is a plus in my book, whether it's a local cat, dog or....Iquanas. The place is painted in nice pastel colors and has a 'hidden' feel to it. The price was right and I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — all of it. the colors, the iquanas and squirrels, being on the water, the hammock
  • Disliked — only had one night to stay
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Resort

Address: 82216 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.