We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot in the Keys!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Jolla Resort
Save
You added La Jolla Resort to your Saves list
82216 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Lincoln, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best spot in the Keys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is such a great place to stay. It's in the middle of everything, yet it's still quiet. This was our 5th time staying at La Jolla and we can't wait to go back next year!! Our room had a queen bed and small kitchen which was perfect for the 3 of us. The pool was just big enough for us to enjoy. They provided us with a pack and play for our 17 month old which was already setup when we checked it. (We've had to put it together anywhere else we've stayed.) Scott and the staff made us feel like family during our 10 day vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    55
    14
    12
    15
See reviews for
48
69
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

La Jolla Resort in Islamorada, Florida is a hidden jewel. Buildings and rooms are old but extremely clean and very comfortable. Ours had 2 queen sized beds and a small kitchen with large fridge, 4 burner electric stove, microwave, toaster, coffee pot, dishes, and pots and pans. The A.C. worked great, as the weather was hot and steamy. The grounds are meticulously cared for but difficult to navigate pulling a boat and trailer due to tight quarters. There is a small boat landing and slips for up to 5 boats. Our boat is a 16 foot Back Country flats boat which launched quite easily and the trailer was stored in a secure area. Resort staff were very friendly and extremely accommodating. The complex manager actually offered, without our asking, to launch our boat for us. Located on the gulf side of the Overseas Highway, the sunsets were beautiful and even at low tide there was plenty of water to get to our fishing spots.

For guests not wanting to cook, there are plenty of places to eat and party less than a mile both north and south of the resort. A great bait store was actually within walking distance of our room. Room prices were very reasonable, adding value to our stay. Don't hesitate to give the place a try. We're sure to be return guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlm Beach Gardens
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and two of her friends had a short trip to the Keys. LA Jolla was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. This is Old Florida at I know it growing up. The room was clean and well cared for. Nothing spectacular but comfortable and safe. We were given a room with double beds and a small kitchenette. The bathroom was decent size and the shower was big enough. The only caveat is if you plan to do a lot of cooking it might be wise to bring along a few more pots/pans and dishes. The kitchen was stocked but limited to a few pans and one or two pots. It is very well located to fishing, food and shops. I highly recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a good value in the middle Keys.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lajollaresort, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the nice review, happy to hear you were pleased with the resort. In response to your comment about pots and pans we just wanted to let you know that we just put the basics in the kitchens however we do have a plethora of pots and pans at our office so on your next stay please feel free to come get whatever pots, pans, dishes, glasses or small appliances you may need from our front desk attendant. We also have irons, ironing boards, hairdryers, toothbrushes and most anything else you might need during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A great place to relax and enjoy the Keys! Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet! The view was incredible and I loved the small family feel, we sat outside in the evening watching the sunset chatting with other guests. We used the kayaks and loved the pool! Great location, I can't wait to go back again!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel while we were in Islamorada for our friends wedding. The hotel is very plain, but the very staff was very friendly, it sits directly on the ocean, the cost was reasonable, and you can check out kayaks, paddle boards, and bicycles at no cost.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 days here on our annual Key's vacation and it was a great find. I have drove by this place a number of times on way south but had never stayed here. The location is perfect. We walked to breakfast and dinner everyday. We went out on their kayaks everyday as well.We say everything from manatees, rays, snook, redfish etc.. The setting makes for a very relaxing stay. You are also close to Bud N Mary's and Robbie's and many other Marina's for fishing diving etc... as well as theater of the sea. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the grounds and rooms are well kept and nice as well. Looking forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: With only staying with 2 people we stayed in a smaller room and it was plenty big enough. Small frid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you don't need a typical hotel experience and want a rustic room with a view, go to La Jolla in Islomarada,Florida which is located in the Florida Keys. Although I used the word "rustic" Conch Villa A Bayfront was clean, cozy, and had a full kitchen. We loved the kitchen because we could just stay in our bathing suits, make dinner and jump back in the water where we could snorkel, kayak, or lounge in one of the hammocks. Furthermore, one could bring a boat and dock!
So Floridians or anyone else who likes sun & fun without the superfluous glitz, go to La Jolla

Room Tip: take a room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Resort

Address: 82216 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.