We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm, Mmmm, good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islamorada Shrimp Shack

Islamorada Shrimp Shack
81901 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
305-664-8433
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 82 Restaurants in Islamorada
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mmmm, Mmmm, good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We are always looking for new places to have dinner in Islamorada, Florida. We now have a new one to add to our list. My husband and I along with our three kids (2 teens and an 8 year old) all had great dinners. The teens had the cajun shrimp basket, our little one had a fried shrimp basket and my hubby and I had the shrimp and grits. The menu offers lots shrimp options as well other dishes. The atmosphere is clean, upbeat, fun and offers a full bar. In addition to the great shrimp dishes we had, the dessert we shared was called something like banana donut bombs - unforgettable. They were served warm and with a yummy glaze. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    60
    25
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were excited to try Shrimp Shack based on the positive reviews we had read on here and were expecting great, fresh shrimp given the area..! But sadly it was not to be.

The shrimp were ok but didn't seem to be fresh - we tried coconut shrimp appetiser and shrimp 3 ways - and the service was so bad it was almost funny. The server reported that the wine we selected was unavailable but didn't bring back the wine list, took our appetiser order and then walked off before she took our entree order, or the menus, gave us no knives and forks to eat with, left us with dirty plates and empty glasses for so long we had to find her and ask.

I have never written a poor review before but felt compelled to give an honest view of our experience. It wasn't busy, so for one, the service could have been better and with a name like Shrimp Shack, it sets your expectations for at the very least, fresh seafood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great soups, salads and Sammys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stopped at this eatery on out way back to Hollywood beach that was recommended by local fishing guide. Waitress was very on top of her game and friendly. I had She Crab soup and shrimp salad and my buddy had shrimp po boy/soup and the key lime pie was crazy good. Give this one a shot and you won't be sorry.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

If you like shrimp, the Shrimp Shack is the place to go in Islamarada. There were four of us and three out of four ordered shrimp cooked differently. It was all excellent and the portions were huge. My husband ordered Mahi but the cook misread the order and made shrimp instead of Mahi. The waitress was so apologetic and his order was changed promptly with a complimentary piece of key lime pie. Go there hungry because at the beginning of the meal, you get a basket of yeast rolls AND a large piece of banana bread. Then you are served your meal including hush puppies, cole slaw AND potatoes. We couldn't finish all the food. Very relaxed atmosphere and our waitress was excellent. Very good food for a good price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Wonderful food - highly recommend the Key Lime Shrimp and vegetable of the day (broccoli) was fresh and prepared nicely. The service saws prompt and pleasant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islamorada Shrimp Shack also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Islamorada Shrimp Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islamorada Shrimp Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.