We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the 900+ mile trip just to eat here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Michael's

Chef Michael's
81671 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
+1 305-664-0640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A warm, inviting dining room with colorful local art adorning the walls. Small, sleek bar serving fine wine and beer. Tropical veranda seating for a lovely alfreso dinner or Sunday brunch. Fresh Local fish and seafood, Prime steak, attentive, friendly service.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the 900+ mile trip just to eat here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Wow!! I've eaten at A LOT of fine restaurants, and they pale in comparison to this place. It's laid back, but very nice.
Ordered wedge salad, and could've bathed in the vinaigrette! The rock shrimp bisque was amazing. Rich, deep, and flavorful with those succulent shrimp. Seafood pasta was huge and very very good! I can't imagine what could be bad here....that's why we go for dessert, right?? :)
I would make this 900+ mile trip just to eat here! Staying at Cheeca Lodge and opted out of their "fine dining" because of the negative reviews lately.
GO TO CHEF MICHAEL'S, couldn't ask for better!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    114
    40
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Many places in the Keys for great food. Been dining for 20+ years in the upper keys. My wife has declared this to be her new favorite restaurant and I can't disagree. Only down side is there is no scenic view. But for an evening meal......you won't find any better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome local dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

When we arrived at Chef Michaels we asked to be seated outside, on the deck. We enjoyed a nice breeze and friendly service. We were told the specials for the night, including the fresh fish. We enjoyed the Lobster Ceviche which was amazing! We also order the Hog Snapper which tasted like it was just caught before dinner. This is the 2nd time I dined at Chef Michael. Both time the service and food were outstanding. This is not located on the beach. This is for great fish and great service...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The food was incredible. The cevice appetizer was unique and outstanding. The Chef cooked our catch to perfection suggesting two different sauces. The waitperson paired this with an outstanding wine. Needless to say, we took dessert home and enjoyed it the next night. The service and food were both impeccable. Great value for a higher end casual Keys dining experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We went here for a birthday dinner. The waiter was so helpful - we wanted to try so many things, and he suggested different options, including that we try a platter with three different fish prepared three different ways, with sides separately (which we did). He even suggested the best ways to prepare the different fish according to their individual textures/firmness. Amazing. Hogfish with basil olive oil, tilefish Juliette (scallops, shrimp, white cream sauce, almonds), spicy swordfish. The entree wasn't quite enough for the five of us to share, but with the great rolls (with basil olive oil), wedge salad, and rock shrimp bisque appetizers and amazing key lime pie and chocolate cake for dessert, we were stuffed. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone, and would love to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Michael's also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Chef Michael's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Michael's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.